10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

These cookies are great! I added about 2 tablespoons of orange peel and some orange extract to make Death By Chocolate Orange cookies. They were a little chewier than I thought they'd be, but they were good. They weren't overly sweet.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Claire #3 March 26, 2002

This is a rich, chocolate-y, not too sweet cookie. Wonderful! Just be careful reading the recipe--I thought it called for 2 16-oz packages of chocolate and not 2 8-oz packages. Thanks for a great recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rn May 07, 2008

Oooh, Reelani, these are really GREAT! I made them for a departmental function and WOW, they disappeared really fast. I had to cook them a bit longer--more like 20 minutes--but that's probably my oven's fault. Thanks for a well-written, loveable recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
spatchcock September 18, 2003

What an amazing recipe! This was really easy to pull together and was impressive to boot. The kids aren't very fond of nuts, so I substituted dried tart cherries...it was an excellent combination for us, but someday I want to try this with pecans. The recipe didn't say, but I just used the butter softened enough to blend into the melted chocolate easily. I made smaller cookies because I'm sure I'd have to peel my children off the ceiling if I'd made only 18 cookies from the batch. (I made each cookie teaspoon-scoop size and got 80 cookies. I know it sounds sort of stingy, but the cookies were about the size of a half-dollar, which was about right for us.) Thanks for posting this recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Akikobay July 29, 2003

Double wow! I was impressed by the richness of these cookies! So chocolaty and very little flour. I used 1 seimi chocolate bar adn 1 bag of chocolate chips. So decadent and so yummy.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharon123 June 08, 2003

If I could give you 10 stars I would!Made these for my birthday, I am a chocoholic. I have been known for my chocolate chip cookies far and wide. I think I just came up with a new signature cookie.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shelbyville Cook October 12, 2009

One Word... "Delicious" I added Peanut Butter Chips and they went fast!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Donna Luckadoo May 30, 2004

Whoa! Loved these!! They are fantastic! So rich they taste like little brownies. I made mine much smaller (used a medium cookie scoop) and got about 30 cookies. They baked for exactly 13 minutes and stayed nice and puffy with a really glossy top.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sherri35 May 04, 2004

I register just to tell you this recipe is fantastic. Everyone at the office love these cookies. I have made only one recipe and someone told me that it was not enough. They wanted to eat more than one.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dia123 July 17, 2003

I made these cookies as is. I have to admit I was a little worried when they came out and were really hard to get off the tray. If I had waited the full though instead of rushing, they probably would have come off fine. :) Nice and chocolatey with a great texture, and even the nuts were good, though I admit I only put in about 1/2 to 2/3 the amount said. Still, coming from a no-nut cookie fan, that's a real compliment. Realatively easy to make, I'll probably keep this recipe around. Espeically since a friend told me she wanted the recipe. Always a good sign. Two thumbs up.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Denise Nachtigal December 26, 2002
Death by Chocolate Cookies