31 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

very moist and rich...being on a tight budget i skipped the peanut butter morsels and pecans but still very good. everyone in my house gives this 5 stars. i don't think that we will have to worry about it lasting very long.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kleigh83 August 25, 2003

I whipped this up this evening for a coworker's b-day tomorrow. It looks smells Yummy! I uploaded a pic, hope it looks good! BTW, I skipped the pecans and peanut butter chips and used 2 cups of semi-sweet choc chips (1 in the mix, 1 on top). thanks!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
supadupamikey November 19, 2003

Very yummy cake. I cooked mine in a 9x13 cake pan. I did not use the peanut butter chips (though I think they would be yummy) because DS does not care for peanut butter. I topped it with milk chocolate M&M's which the teenagers loved. Half of it disappeared the first day!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Trisha W November 17, 2004

Hubby's birthday couldn't have been better thanks to you and this recipe. I did leave out the pecans and the peanut butter chips, as he wanted a choc. cake with choc. icing, and choc. sprinkles. This cake was incredibly moist and only lasted 2 days in our house. MMM!MMM!MMM!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CJ White November 11, 2003

This made a very good cake, I used a marscapone coffee filling for 2 9in. pans and put a chocolate and coffe glaze on top 4 my mom's b-day, i normally don't like cake, but this was to-die-for!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Katrina October 06, 2003

This cake was delicious and very easy to make. Definitely a keeper recipe for my family. However, it is VERY rich so just a small piece is plenty. The cake looks very nice with the chips sprinkled on top and I added a special touch to it by adding a decorative border with a cake decorating tip.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Evans89 September 08, 2003

My daughters helped make this cake for my birthday. We left out the pecans because the kids don't like nuts. The girls have already had requests that they make this again. Very rich and wonderful. Thanks for a great cake recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shari2 June 01, 2003

I served this as a finishing touch for our Easter dinner! It was well received! No one died but we thought we had and gone to heaven!!!lol Thanks for a wonderful dessert!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharon123 April 20, 2003

Yum! This cake is perfect by all means! I made this for my friend's birthday & she adores chocolate, so I was VERY nervous to make her a chocolate cake. But this tasted supreme, looked brilliant and EVERYONE loved it! I omitted the pecans, and used chocolate chips instead of PB morsels. I could have used more of the frosting in the middle layer, but I was worried about running out. I also put chocolate chips in between the layers AND on top of the cake. I LOVE this cake!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs.R September 15, 2009

Delicious! Super easy but tastes like you REALLY made it from scratch. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kerriedoll April 04, 2008
Death by Chocolate Cake Aka Chocolate Heaven Cake