Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Death by Chocolate Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Death by Chocolate Cake

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on October 17, 2002

      took this to work today for a going away party and it was gone so fast... everyone loved it.. will make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2002

      You've got my vote!! This is by all means a 5-Star Winner!!! What an elegant and neat looking cake. And, the taste is just divine. I used a german chocolate cake mix, both caramel and chocolate topping, and grated Hershey bar to sprinkle on top. Tis WUNNERFUL, Mirjam. Thanks so much for posting. Laudee C.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2002

      This is a sinful cake!! I used a devils food cake mix and hot fudge ice cream topping and OMG!! to die for GOOD! It was a good thing I took this to work....HaHa! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2009

      Ohhh so yummy. I also made it in a 9x13 pan and drizzled it with both caramel and chocolate topping. For the top I used a 1/2 a package of the skor toffee bits and chocolate chips. There wasnt a drop left. Someone who said they didnt really like chocolate had 2nds! Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2009

      Very good! My friends and I enjoyed it. Very messy, but that mess was definitely worth it! Thanks for sharing this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2008

      Oh wow!!!!! This disappeared so fast at my house! I drizzled it with both caramel topping and hot fudge topping and sprinkled it with chocolate chips instead of Heath bars. To avoid the "messy" factor, I made it in a 9x13 pan and just left it in the pan. Was a little worried when I poured the whole can of sweetened condensed milk on the cake and it seemed to just sit there, pooled on top, but it eventually soaked into the cake, and wow--did it ever make it extra-moist! Definitely a keeper here!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2007

      Yumm!!! Easy to make!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2006

      This was really good. Very gooey cake. It really hit the spot!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2006

      Yummy cake! Even people who don't get excited about dessert were raving! Will definately make again. Thanks for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2006

      Oh My GOSH!!! WOW that was good!! Our teeny tiny town didnt have a heath bar anywhere so i chopped up some snickers and it was yummy. I used a 14oz can of condensed milk and a 16 oz tub of cool whip. Make sure you let the cake cool completely before adding the cool whip or it will melt and slide right off the cake. I know this because i am impatient and just couldnt wait for it to cool. It ended up messy but YUMMY!! just the same. This is the first time i have made a cake and my family ate it in one sitting. THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR THIS RECIPE

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2005

      My mother and I make a cake similar to this only in a regular 9" x 12" sheet pan and with German chocolate cake mix. It's delicious. I'm going to tell her about using the bundt pan. That would be quite attractive.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2005

      I use hot fudge ice cream topping on top of the condensed milk.I heat it in a pan until thin enough to pour.I let cake cool in fridge,then add cool whip and heath or skor bars.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2005

      This is a chocolate lover's heaven! I used a bag of Heath milk chocolate toffee pieces and spread them on top of the cake. This was gone in no time!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2005

      A double threat...this cake is beautiful and delicious. I had to improvise slightly and ended up only using a few tablespoons of sweetened condensed milk. Six people devoured this in less than 30 minutes, so take the sixteen servings suggestion with a grain of salt.Thanks, Mirj!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2005

      This cake hit the spot! I made this for my boyfriend and my two roommates and they all loved it! I used devil food chocolate cake and bought the small can of condensed milk. I thought it would have been too much if I used the whole can but not a lot of the milk soaked into the cake. So next time I will probably use a toothpick to poke deep holes and use the entire can. I also served mine individuallly. So each plate had caramel spread on the bottom, cake served on top and a dallop of cool whip with sprinkles of the heath bar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2005

      This went over great at a fellowship dinner at church! I used half caramel syrup and half chocolate syrup. I used an 8 oz. container of whipped topping, and left out the Heath bars. Thanks Mirj, for a treat that everybody loved!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2004

      This is an easy dessert to make. I used a Chocolate Fudge Cake Mix. The recipe doesn't state what size can of condensed milk to use. I think I used a can larger than necessary as I had alot left that was not absored by my cake. But it was no problem as it tasted absolutely wonderful! I prepared each piece individually and drizzled the plate with chocolate syrup, put a slice of cake on top, poured caramel sauce on the cake, topped that with cool whip and sprinkled heavily with tofee bits. Mmmm, Mmmm, Good! Thanks for sharing your recipe Mirj!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Death by Chocolate Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (118 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 16

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 350.7
     
    Calories from Fat 145
    41%
    Total Fat 16.1 g
    24%
    Saturated Fat 6.3 g
    31%
    Cholesterol 43.4 mg
    14%
    Sodium 362.0 mg
    15%
    Total Carbohydrate 49.5 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 0.8 g
    3%
    Sugars 29.0 g
    116%
    Protein 5.4 g
    10%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes