Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Dear Abby's Famous Pecan Pie Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Dear Abby's Famous Pecan Pie

    Average Rating:

    23 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 23

    Sort by:

    • on October 17, 2011

      Pecan pie is my husband's favorite desert. I had been using a different recipe, only it didnt have brown sugar in it only corn syrup. He thought it was good but I felt it was just missing something. I found this recipe and tried it because it called for brown sugar. I made this for him for the first time on his bday and I was a little nervous since I had not tried this recipe out yet. This by far, was so much better than I could have expected!! This is IT! Just what I had been looking for!! I increased the cook time by about 12 minutes, the pecans tasted candied and the consistency was "sticky" just the way it is in New Orleans. I hadn't told my husband that I tried a different recipe, "did you do something different, this is so freakin' good" was his response...Enough said :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2008

      Great pecan pie that isnt overly sweet like some pecan pies can be. Set up well while baking and so easy to put together. My DD requested pecan pie for our 4th of July get together and I am so happy she did. I used refrigerated pie crust and light brown sugar instead of dark. Also, used butter as I think that adds a nicer flavor than margarine would. Thank you for posting, a wonderful recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2011

      I have used this pecan pie recipe for years. I've tried others and always come back to this one. It is a sure winner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2012

      This has been my go to recipe for over 20 years at Thanksgiving. It is packed away in a moving box somewhere. I am glad you have it online. It is sure to please everyone of our new friends and family. Thanks. I like to use the dark corn syrup for a more intense flavor. If you want to make it a deep dish pie then use 3-4 cups of pecans. Yum!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2011

      My husband's been using this recipe for years and it is the BEST!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2009

      This is the ONLY pecan pie I make, it is that good!! My 9 yr son just made it this past week for a pie contest at our church...He won 1st place!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2008

      Thanksgiving morning, 2008. It was so much easier to look up this recipe on Recipezaar than to dig out that tiny, old, yellowed Dear Abby newspaper clipping I have. This is The Pecan Pie - the one I've been baking for 30-some years. The additional baking time is good advice, and it doesn't hurt to boost the pecan measurement to something closer to 1-1/2 cups. But all in all, the perfect pecan pie recipe. Happy Thanksgiving, everyone.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2008

      I've been baking this recipe for years and everyone loves it. I have had many compliments on it. One thing that I've noted... it does best if you use "Karo" brand corn syrup. Last year I used another brand and it didn't taste as good. Also, it takes the longer baking time even in my gas oven. Enjoy!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2007

      I tried this recipe about 6 years ago. I clipped out of the newspaper in CA, went home for Thanksgiving and made it in TX. Someone TOOK my clip out!! I never thought to google it and make it again. This was one of the best pecan pie's I've ever made and tasted! A keeper for the recipe book. I did follow directions closely. Prep all measurements ahead of time would help.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2007

      Like cindycat, I stopped looking for another pecan pie recipe after trying Abby's recipe years ago. People I've served it to say it's the best, and I agree!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2006

      Great recipe - I think I may have misunderstood the directions and thought it was supposed to cook until it was set up - this was my first pecan pie so I didn't know. It may be a bit too dark but I did finally stop it after about an hour and 25 minutes. I also wasn't sure after reading the different times listed by everyone on here ranging from 45 minutes to TWO hours??? I realized that it would probably set up as it cooled - which it did - GOOD tip for anyone who is making a pecan pie for the first time. Look at the back of the Karo bottle for baking tips. ;) Tap the top and if it springs back it is done - and will set up as it cools. I also had covered mine part way through or it probably would have been black. ;)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2006

      i make this pie annually for thanksgiving. it is outstanding. my only precaution is that the timing for baking is incorrect. i have had to bake one for almost two hours before the center was set. thats my only complaint, as everyone asks me to make this dish every year

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2006

      This was absolutley fantastic! I made this for Thanksgiving and it got rave reviews, and there was not one piece left! I made it exactly as written and would not change a thing. It took about 50 minutes in my oven for a clean toothpick. Thanks for a winner Dojemi!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2005

      I've made this many times and it is a delicious pie. Although I occasionally venture and try a new recipe, this is the basic pecan pie I always come back to. I add quite a few more pecans than called for, and I do have to go for the longer baking time mentioned in the intro. Thanks for posting the recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2004

      I still use the clipping I cut from Dear Abby many years ago. I've not needed to try another recipe since I found this one; every time I eat someone else's pecan pie, I'm disappointed.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2014

      Panic! I cannot find my tattered newspaper cutting of this very recipe! Thanksgiving is three days away! Food.com to the rescue. I have made this almost annually for over 20 years. This is the best; not too sweet, firm consistency and easy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2014

      I have made many pecan pies, but for some reason with this recipe the filling always separates and is runny. It has much more butter than other recipes and maybe this is the reason but after making it numerous times with the same results I use a much better one now.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2014

      I've been making this pie since the 70's and is the only pie my husband has ever requested; it's that good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2013

      I've been making this recipe for years, I'm glad to see it here because my original newspaper clipping is rather dog-eared :) This is,bar none, the best pecan pie recipe there is!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2012

      The classic pecan pie recipe. Make sure to use large eggs, possibly cook 10-15 minutes longer (testing the top and using your sense of smell) and MY SUREFIRE ADDITION, add 1 teaspoon of cinnamon or pumpkin pie spice. It does not overpower, just gives the pie depth. No one will know what you did, just that it's the best Pecan Pie ever.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Dear Abby's Famous Pecan Pie

    Serving Size: 1 (892 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 3253.7
     
    Calories from Fat 1327
    40%
    Total Fat 147.5 g
    226%
    Saturated Fat 49.6 g
    248%
    Cholesterol 720.5 mg
    240%
    Sodium 1800.5 mg
    75%
    Total Carbohydrate 493.0 g
    164%
    Dietary Fiber 9.5 g
    38%
    Sugars 309.7 g
    1239%
    Protein 28.8 g
    57%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes