19 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Delish our family loved this. I didnt have walnut oil, white wine vinegar or pecans. So I subbed olive oil, white vinegar and toasted walnuts. I also added a tsp honey and some crumbles blue cheese for extra zing! Thanks so much! Was trying to find a new and fun way to eat red cabbage!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nomadic_heart July 07, 2011

I loved this, and so did my whole family! I grew red cabbage in my garden for the first time this year, and was anxious to make something delicious. I agree about increasing the amount of dressing (I did, and actually doubled it). I also added a splash of orange juice and lemon juice to sweeten it up. I used regular sugar too. Thank you for this wonderful recipe! Very fresh--not just for the winter.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
aggiesgirl June 16, 2010

What a delicious and beautiful salad ! I made it exactly as posted except for the onion (raw onion and I do not get along.) I did add the nuts and cranberries, and found the combination with the mustard vinaigrette to be delightfully complex and refreshing. I am sure I will be making this often - thanks for sharing the recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pheasant farmer October 17, 2009

I brought this salad to a family dinner, and it was a huge hit. I shredded everything up in the food processor and then mixed it all in a 2 gallon zip lock bag - this made it super easy to travel, just took along the bowl and dumped it all in when I got there. I made an extra batch of the dressing to serve on the side in case anyone wanted more than was on it. The dressing itself is very good - I might make it just for other salads. I think it would be good with spinach and apples maybe. All in all a great fall recipe full of healthy veggies. Thanks for posting -I will be making this again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kalija October 11, 2009

This didn't live up to our expectations. It was very dry, almost as if it weren't dressed at all, and the onion was overpowering even though I cut it down by about a third because I knew my onion was rather strong. I'm rating it more on potential than actual execution -- if you doubled the dressing and left out the onion the cabbage/apple/pecan flavor ought to be absolutely delicious. Not having a food processor, I used a chef's knife to shred the cabbage to resemble kraut and still came in under 15 minutes prep time.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
3KillerBs December 09, 2007

Made half a recipe but forgot the apple. Loved the dressing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
adopt a greyhound February 27, 2015

Added cranberries. Everyone thought the onion overpowered the salad. If made again, only 1/4 cup of onion will be used.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SonnyHavens February 26, 2015

Love this recipe!!! It's absolutely delicious. Great mix of flavors and so colorful. One of my friends I invited over for dinner even asked for the recipe before leaving. I didn't have walnut oil, so I just used olive oil which worked out just fine.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Whimsyloo March 29, 2013

Wow! Wow! WOW! This is a delicious recipe! I think this will be our family's default slaw recipe from now on. I made it as directed, and added the optional beet root. I also, as other reviewers suggested, doubled the dressing recipe. My red onion was large, so I only used a quarter. Wonderful!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Loves2Cook! February 06, 2012

Dazzling, for certain! My family loved this slaw! I made as directed; the next time I prepare I think I'll add dried cranberries! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
llangrove November 07, 2011
Dazzling Winter Slaw - Red Cabbage, Apple and Pecan Salad