Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Dazzling Winter Slaw - Red Cabbage, Apple and Pecan Salad Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Dazzling Winter Slaw - Red Cabbage, Apple and Pecan Salad

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on July 07, 2011

      Delish our family loved this. I didnt have walnut oil, white wine vinegar or pecans. So I subbed olive oil, white vinegar and toasted walnuts. I also added a tsp honey and some crumbles blue cheese for extra zing! Thanks so much! Was trying to find a new and fun way to eat red cabbage!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2010

      I loved this, and so did my whole family! I grew red cabbage in my garden for the first time this year, and was anxious to make something delicious. I agree about increasing the amount of dressing (I did, and actually doubled it). I also added a splash of orange juice and lemon juice to sweeten it up. I used regular sugar too. Thank you for this wonderful recipe! Very fresh--not just for the winter.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2013

      Love this recipe!!! It's absolutely delicious. Great mix of flavors and so colorful. One of my friends I invited over for dinner even asked for the recipe before leaving. I didn't have walnut oil, so I just used olive oil which worked out just fine.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2012

      Wow! Wow! WOW! This is a delicious recipe! I think this will be our family's default slaw recipe from now on. I made it as directed, and added the optional beet root. I also, as other reviewers suggested, doubled the dressing recipe. My red onion was large, so I only used a quarter. Wonderful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2011

      Dazzling, for certain! My family loved this slaw! I made as directed; the next time I prepare I think I'll add dried cranberries! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2010

      This beautiful salad was also very tasty! I took it to a potluck luncheon, and it was enjoyed by all. The dressing was particularly delicious and may work well on other salads too. Thanks, French Tart.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2009

      This is a delicious salad - thank you. I used regular mustard and vinegar for the dressing and it still turned out delicious. Thank you so much for posting a healthy and nutritious recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2009

      What a delicious and beautiful salad ! I made it exactly as posted except for the onion (raw onion and I do not get along.) I did add the nuts and cranberries, and found the combination with the mustard vinaigrette to be delightfully complex and refreshing. I am sure I will be making this often - thanks for sharing the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2009

      This salad was delightful. The toasted pecans really made it. I did find the apple (which I grated) to be a little TOO tart, so I added thinly sliced celery. After that it was perfect. Thank you! Will be making this again (I've got a lot of red cabbage and carrots at the moment).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2009

      I brought this salad to a family dinner, and it was a huge hit. I shredded everything up in the food processor and then mixed it all in a 2 gallon zip lock bag - this made it super easy to travel, just took along the bowl and dumped it all in when I got there. I made an extra batch of the dressing to serve on the side in case anyone wanted more than was on it. The dressing itself is very good - I might make it just for other salads. I think it would be good with spinach and apples maybe. All in all a great fall recipe full of healthy veggies. Thanks for posting -I will be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2009

      Thanks for a great recipe - definitely a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2009

      WOW and my I add OMG this was great. I did omit the onion (I doing like raw onions) but the rest was just as described. I HATE mustard and generally will not cook with it but I an very glad I kept it in this recipe. Without it I am sure it would have been very bland. And I used all the optional parts also. It was the hit of my Anniversary dinner. Thanks you so much for the posting. OH I did double there dressing recipe. I will be having this again

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2008

      I got 5 star reviews from the folks at the table and I made a very Plain Jane version of this salad. It had no onion, no nuts or extras (all so that DH would eat it). We all loved it even in this simple form. The dressing is outstanding and it was the right amount for us. I'm not a fan of lots of dressing and this just the right compliment for for the cabbage, carrots and apple. It was much enjoyed for Christmas dinner. :D

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2008

      I used cranberries and walnuts along with the other ingredients. Who says it has to be winter to make this? It's so refreshing in the summer too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2008

      I agree that onion overpower whole salad. I used only 1/4 of onion and it was to much. I served the salad with grilled chicken breast and garlic bread.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2007

      What a spectacular salad from one of my favorite Zaar chefs! Pursuant to French Tart's recipe note about the dressing I made a little more of it than called for in the basic recipe and I was delighted. I also added the optional cranberries and walnuts. I served the salad on chilled salad plates with ice-cold salad forks. My guests raved about the taste as well as the appearance. Thanks for another winner, Chef!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2007

      This didn't live up to our expectations. It was very dry, almost as if it weren't dressed at all, and the onion was overpowering even though I cut it down by about a third because I knew my onion was rather strong. I'm rating it more on potential than actual execution -- if you doubled the dressing and left out the onion the cabbage/apple/pecan flavor ought to be absolutely delicious. Not having a food processor, I used a chef's knife to shred the cabbage to resemble kraut and still came in under 15 minutes prep time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Dazzling Winter Slaw - Red Cabbage, Apple and Pecan Salad

    Serving Size: 1 (137 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 234.6
     
    Calories from Fat 166
    71%
    Total Fat 18.5 g
    28%
    Saturated Fat 1.9 g
    9%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 83.6 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 17.6 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 4.8 g
    19%
    Sugars 10.1 g
    40%
    Protein 3.2 g
    6%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    white wine vinegar

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites