10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I had a gang for dinner and made this green bean dish and everyone loved it! Thanks — Jul 2, 2001, I have made this so many times it is souper easy and very tasty. This time I added pictures-I hope you like them Traci & Jeff

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bergy February 04, 2005

This is really good.The only thing i did not like was the water chestnuts.I will make this again but i wiil not use the water chestnuts.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Robin Wehunt November 27, 2001

This was very good. Much like the classic recipe, but tasted slightly lighter because of the celery soup vs. mushroom. I chopped the water chestnuts up and also mixed ingredients versus layering (except some onions on top).

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TwinMom1108 December 05, 2002

I made this for Thanksgiving yesterday, and my guests all thought it was very good. The frozen beans stay firm and a nice bright green (as opposed to the gray/green color of canned beans) and the water chestnuts, which I julienned, added a nice crispiness to each mouthful. Will definitely make again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LorrieK November 28, 2008

I am so sorry to give this a poor rating. I love all the ingredients in this dish, but it just did not jive with me, or anyone else. I served this at a potluck of 10 people and no one liked it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Margo59 January 26, 2007

This is so different from the usual green bean casserole and I think the water chestnuts adds a special touch to it. Very good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Margaret Button December 09, 2006

Hey! This is super! Not really original, but the water chestnuts DO add a new dimension. I can hardly wait for the holidays so I can use this new variation on an old favorite.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Countrywife August 21, 2006

A great twist to an old 'classic'. I julienned the waterchestnuts as mentioned by another member. I also couldn't find any frozen french style greenbeans besides ones that had slivered almonds in them - so I used that and the almonds were a great addition as well!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Evan's Mommy December 30, 2005

This is delicious! I can't stand cream of mushroom soup, or traditional GBC so gave this a try for Thanksgiving. Everyone loved it, the chestnuts give a great texture.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
EpicureAngela December 05, 2005

This looked very much like a recipe I'd had when I was little, so I tried it out - and yep, it tasted like the "different" green bean casserole I remembered and liked! :) I added a couple cloves of minced garlic and a bit of rosemary, and I julienned the water chestnuts (which worked very well). I prefer this one over the "classic" recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Julesong October 14, 2002
Dawn Hornsby's Unusual Green Bean Casserole