12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Very quick and easy to put together, makes a lot. You probably have everything you need to make them at home right now. Slightly oily consistency that bothered me more than other people.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kasha May 11, 2011

I would say this recipe is a good cookie, and give it four stars. But, for sheer ease and speed, this recipe gets 5+ stars in my book! 1 bowl, 1 spoon, 1 measuring cup, 1 measuring spoon, a pan, and 20 minutes and you have over two dozen cookies that will last (at my house) only slightly longer than it took to make them. Love it! Thanks Marg. P. S. You've inspired Davy Crockett's Cousin Bars. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ctrmom November 25, 2008

What a great and simple after-school snack! I have 5 teenagers at a group home that my husband and I are houseparents at and they just devoured this. I'm always on the lookout for easy snacks for these guys and boy this hit the spot! Thanks so much for sharing this recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
daynacourtney September 03, 2008

These were easy to make and a bar cookie always takes less time than other types of cookies. It was a little on the oily side, even though I subbed half the oil with applesauce. Really can't imagine using the full 1 cup of oil! Unlike another reviewer, I didn't find the batter difficult to mix by hand. They took around 20+ minutes to bake even though I used the jelly pan. Flavor and texture was similar to heavy oatmeal chocolate chip cookies. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
4Susan December 08, 2006

An excellent recipe! I love how easy this is to make .. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
najwa February 12, 2006

Oh so quick and simple!. I did as Debbb rec. and baked it in a 13x9 for 30 min. Be aware this is a heavy batter to mix, takes a bit of wrist strength! Thanks Marg!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lets.eat October 15, 2005

These were just okay for me but my husband really likes them. I did overbake them so they are a little drier than I'd prefer but that is my fault and not the recipe. Will keep these on hand to try again and cut down on the baking time a bit. Otherwise, I followed the recipe exactly with no changes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RSL September 25, 2005

Excellent bars. These aren't fancy or super-sweet. The recipe makes a ton and they are going to be in my permanent cookbook from now on.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
momofallboys August 29, 2005

These were so good and easy! We had a bonfire and I made these. I loved them warm out of the oven! They looked a bit weird before baking but turned out great! DD who is off to college this week wants the recipe and since it makes a LARGE pan I suggested to her that she cut the pan into quarters and freeze three quarters of them. Will definately make them again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cheesehead August 22, 2005

Very good!! I used a 13 X 9 pan & baked for about 30 minutes - the squares came out really crunchy yet chewy - similar to oatmeal cookies but BETTER! These were very quick & easy to make.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debbb August 03, 2005
Davy Crockett Bars