15 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Wonderful stuff! This is the birthday cake I made for myself this year, and it was fantastic. I used a Pilsbury Devil's Food mix, and lite Cool Whip, and it couldn't have been easier. My aunt and mom agreed on the 5 star rating. This one's a keeper. Thanks bunches Denise!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ReeLani March 27, 2003

Awesome results! I had to make this cake over the weekend because I just couldn't get the recipe out of my head. I made it expecting to eat a piece or two and then I would take the rest to work because my husband isn't too much of a chocolate fan and I didn't want to eat the whole thing by myself. Well, needless to say...I can't take the cake to work because my husband and I have been eating the cake all weekend and there is only about half of it left. I figure I'll just pass out the recipe to my co-workers and tell everyone about it :) Great recipe, thanks for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jeanette G August 11, 2003

We LOVED this recipe. Has made it to the "keepers". I was a little concerned about how sweet the dessert might be however, to my surprise the ingredients all worked together very well. This cake is nothing but addictive.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kaledsmom May 06, 2013

Havent tasted it! But I made it for my boyfriends work potluck! Thanks for sharing

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
halfrican808 April 10, 2013

Amazing recipe! so easy to make and you can be as creative as you want. My family LOVES it and that says alot coming from a picky german and irish family.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LawMonkey22 March 10, 2008

Very tasty!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Michelle Dominic October 17, 2006

The cake was good, but a bit TOO sweet. The sweetness over powered the taste of the cherries and chocolate cake.. I would use half the amount of condensed milk and cream of coconut, or just use coconut milk instead of the cream of coconut next time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Usako Yamakawa September 17, 2004

Made this for my boss' birthday. They all raved today saaing it was the best cake ever. Found out through the grapevine that Jewish people do not eat whipped cream????Who knew? They loved it any way. Thanks Denise for making me look good!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
riffraff May 03, 2004

I made this for Easter, and my whole family loved it. The supermarket was out of cream of coconut, so I used an entire 14 oz can of condensed milk, to which I added about a teaspoon of almond extract, to give it a bit of flavor 'oomph'. Very tasty, and SO easy! Thanks Denise!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jane*in*RI April 12, 2004

OMG, how easy is this? And yummy too! I thought it might be on the sweet side, with the condensed milk and cream of coconut, but you know--the tart cherries offset it perfectly! Served on Superbowl Sunday (yay Patriots!) and everyone loved it! Thanks Denise for a great cake recipe! Editing to add: my cake hating husband asked me to make this cake again, right after he finished off the last piece of the first one. He said he would crawl through the snow for a piece of this cake, lol.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ciao February 05, 2004
Dave's "Special" Black Forest Cake