Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Dave's Chili Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Dave's Chili

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on October 21, 2009

      The only thing I did different was halve this. OUTSTADING soup that we enjoyed for lunch. Wouldn't change again . Great flavors, taste, and simple to prepare and make. Might add extra chili powder next time, personnal preference. Made for PRMR tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2008

      Excellent chili and well worth the time it takes to make! I used 3 1/2 lbs of ground turkey, 2 T of onion flakes, 2 cans of Rotel and added an additional can of kidney beans. I let it sit overnight (which I do with all chili) and had it for breakfast this morning. Absolutely fantastic! Thanks for sharing another great recipe, Nimz! P.S. I will be using this as my entry for our chili cook off this year. It's a winner! **Made for I Recommend**

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2008

      What a great tasting chili. I cut it in half and prepared it the day before serving. I let it sit in the refrigerator overnight with the chili pods in the mixture. What a great heat this has. I think I will make all future chili recipes using the dried chili pod technique. Thanks Nimz for posting this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2007

      This is fabulous. Instead of adding the full 8 cups of water I added four then let the water dry out before toasting the spices. I ended up cooking all afternoon adding more water when needed and didn't use the cornflour mix to thicken, the simmering did a nice job of thickening. I didn't have any mexican chilli pods on hand so used some dried chillies that I found in my asian supermarket and added 1/2 teaspoon of liquid smoke for the smokey flavour. Served with rice, cheese, sour cream and green onions. Great recipe with great flavour.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2007

      We really enjoyed this wonderful chili Nimz. It has a very nice deep, rich, smokey heat with a great after taste. It tastes as good as it smells and certainly does not disappoint. I can't wait to try this on top of poached eggs and hash browns for breakfast, thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2007

      Using the dried chilies really sets this apart from most recipes and made this one of the best bowls I've ever had. It created a real depth of flavor and a smokiness that one doesn't get with the powdered stuff. My half batch included 4 New Mexico dried chilis along with one other smaller hotter chili. At the end of the first hour of simmering I removed the chilies, scraped the soft insides and mashed them up and returned the mash to the pot. Also added a full tablespoon of onion flakes (effectively doubling the amount). Double yummy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2006

      This chili is truly what chili should be! I used the full amount of chilies, chili powder and also used the Rotel tomatoes, which produced ample amount of heat. I didn't have any onion flakes on hand, so used about 3/4 cup chopped onions in its place and I doubled the beans. Thanks for sharing this wonderful Chili with us, NimrodCook!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2006

      Very nice chili. I made this with soya meat substitute, so I left out the first phase (meat substitute is added only in the last minutes). Nice bit of heat, and very flavourful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Dave's Chili

    Serving Size: 1 (799 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1247.3
     
    Calories from Fat 603
    48%
    Total Fat 67.0 g
    103%
    Saturated Fat 22.2 g
    111%
    Cholesterol 231.3 mg
    77%
    Sodium 2061.7 mg
    85%
    Total Carbohydrate 75.1 g
    25%
    Dietary Fiber 21.8 g
    87%
    Sugars 7.5 g
    30%
    Protein 86.0 g
    172%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    dried chili pods

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites