Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Dates Wrapped in Bacon Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Dates Wrapped in Bacon

    Average Rating:

    34 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 34

    Sort by:

    • on October 02, 2009

      I love this recipe. Added about 1/4 teaspoon of cayenne to the brown sugar and coat the bacon wrapped date in it before baking. I also pre-cook the bacon for a few minutes in the microwave to remove a lot of the fat because I like my bacon crispy. I use a pan with a rack so the bacon grease falls off. Yummy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2003

      These are incredible, I've emade these for some time and add cheddar cheese slivers to the center of the dates before wrapping and baking! Everyone loves these!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2010

      I have to admit that I was skeptical to try these because I'm not much of a bacon or date fan, but I helped a friend cater a wedding this weekend and she made these of course and I was so hungry I tried one--irresistable!! I can't wait to make them myself.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2009

      we made these for an event at school, (I'm in restaurant school) only instead of brown sugar we glazed them in hoisin sauce. So good. They are incredibly addictive! Be ready to eat a lot of them!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2010

      I've been making this appetizer for years after first getting the recipe from a friend in grad school. She taught me to make them a bit differently. We actually fry them in a skillet, using the toothpicks and a wooden spoon get all sides; first I fry the bottom and then on each side (toothpick horizontal to the skillet). I'll have the try the oven method sometime. Either way, excellent appetizer. They always go fast.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2009

      I really liked this recipe. The main thing I need to give feedback is to use a rimmed baking sheet. The bacon grease fell off my sheet onto the oven heating element and caught on fire. Not what you want the house to smell like with guests coming over! I will be making these again WITH a rimmed sheet.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2009

      These were a huge hit at our party last week! I don't think it is possible to make enough of these. They were gone so quickly! I will always make these for parties from now on! Thank you!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2009

      i love it is so good

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2009

      Very good! My only complaint was that the sugar stuck to the paper towels so I don't know how much stuck. I also stuffed mine with slivered almonds, brown sugar and butter but the dates are so sweet that I could have skipped the sugar.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2009

      Bacon wrapped dates- an absolute favorite of ours. Any time I have to take an appetizer, I take these. People are skeptical if they hear there are dates in them, but once they taste them, they're hooked. Some recipes for these don't include the brown sugar- that is a mistake... always do the brown sugar. I don't use lean bacon, I get the fresh bacon at the butcher shop. The longer you cook 'em, the crisper the bacon.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2003

      OK, I feel fully qualified to rate this recipe as I've been making it and its prune sibling for the last 20 or so years for 'drinks' parties. They are simply fantastic little appetizers (either date or prune version), with the sweet, plump juiciness counterpointed by the smoky, crisp, slightly fatty bacon. I will have no party without them!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2011

      The first time I tasted one of them, I became hopelessly addicted! The ones I had were stuffed with whole almonds. Like Lay's potato chips, you can't just have one!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2011

      Fantastic!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2009

    • on January 23, 2009

      My DH was a little skeptical when I mentioned making this recipe but I just knew it was going to be a wining combo! We made a small sample batch with a little feta in some and others with a little brown sugar. The feta got a little lost so I will try another batch tonight with some jalapeno, and of course, some plain. These were so savory and smoky sweet at the same time you can't go wrong with this! Thanks , Sugarpea!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2009

      I did not use brown sugar but maple bacon instead. I also set the oven at 425 NOT 500. These are awesome!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2009

      Great. Thanks for posting

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2008

      These are wonderful. I found that I can bake them a little longer at 425 and get the same fabulous result without setting off the smoke alarms... :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2008

      We loved these! However, we prefered them with less bacon; I cut each slice into thirds instead of halves. Because it's less bacon, some of them came undone so if they're for show, I would use toothpicks. Also, next time, I will put them on cookie cooling racks set in a pan...otherwise, they're just too greasy. Really great though; I will be making these again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2008

      Loved this recipe! I used uncured low sodium center cut bacon and no sugar. A word of warning about using parchment paper - at 500F the paper will burn. Be careful not to let it flame. Next time I'll try using heavy duty foil. Also, I just placed them seam side down, no toothpicks necessary. I baked for 6 min, then turned the dates over and reduced the heat to 450 and baked for another 5 min. The bacon will continue to brown some more after you take it out. It was perfect with our beer, thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Dates Wrapped in Bacon

    Serving Size: 1 (133 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 38.3
     
    Calories from Fat 16
    42%
    Total Fat 1.8 g
    2%
    Saturated Fat 0.6 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 2.7 mg
    0%
    Sodium 33.4 mg
    1%
    Total Carbohydrate 5.3 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.5 g
    2%
    Sugars 4.5 g
    18%
    Protein 0.6 g
    1%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites