35 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I love this recipe. Added about 1/4 teaspoon of cayenne to the brown sugar and coat the bacon wrapped date in it before baking. I also pre-cook the bacon for a few minutes in the microwave to remove a lot of the fat because I like my bacon crispy. I use a pan with a rack so the bacon grease falls off. Yummy.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nado2003 October 02, 2009

These are incredible, I've emade these for some time and add cheddar cheese slivers to the center of the dates before wrapping and baking! Everyone loves these!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shabby Sign Shoppe October 17, 2003

I have to admit that I was skeptical to try these because I'm not much of a bacon or date fan, but I helped a friend cater a wedding this weekend and she made these of course and I was so hungry I tried one--irresistable!! I can't wait to make them myself.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
megjo77 September 06, 2010

we made these for an event at school, (I'm in restaurant school) only instead of brown sugar we glazed them in hoisin sauce. So good. They are incredibly addictive! Be ready to eat a lot of them!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CookingLaura December 26, 2009

I've been making this appetizer for years after first getting the recipe from a friend in grad school. She taught me to make them a bit differently. We actually fry them in a skillet, using the toothpicks and a wooden spoon get all sides; first I fry the bottom and then on each side (toothpick horizontal to the skillet). I'll have the try the oven method sometime. Either way, excellent appetizer. They always go fast.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SarahCKS February 24, 2010

I really liked this recipe. The main thing I need to give feedback is to use a rimmed baking sheet. The bacon grease fell off my sheet onto the oven heating element and caught on fire. Not what you want the house to smell like with guests coming over! I will be making these again WITH a rimmed sheet.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marjorie D. September 28, 2009

These were a huge hit at our party last week! I don't think it is possible to make enough of these. They were gone so quickly! I will always make these for parties from now on! Thank you!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lili's, Rori's & Rainah's Meemaw July 07, 2009

i love it is so good

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tayler chef May 06, 2009

Very good! My only complaint was that the sugar stuck to the paper towels so I don't know how much stuck. I also stuffed mine with slivered almonds, brown sugar and butter but the dates are so sweet that I could have skipped the sugar.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Tweaker March 14, 2009

Bacon wrapped dates- an absolute favorite of ours. Any time I have to take an appetizer, I take these. People are skeptical if they hear there are dates in them, but once they taste them, they're hooked. Some recipes for these don't include the brown sugar- that is a mistake... always do the brown sugar. I don't use lean bacon, I get the fresh bacon at the butcher shop. The longer you cook 'em, the crisper the bacon.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cowgirly February 17, 2009
Dates Wrapped in Bacon