9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I also followed the recipe exactly and had the same dry results for the topping and the bottom, it did not seem to be moist enough when mixed but I went ahead and used it anyway, the results were disappointing as the bottom and the top did not hold together at all. Don,t know what I could have done to rectify this except to have added more butter I guess. Checking other recipies I notice most of them require more butter for the dry mixture. Tastes good but be careful with the dry mixture, if it looks or feels too dry it probably is. Hope this helps without being too critical.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
muffins 1946 January 10, 2013

I used the filling part of this recipe only and found it to be perfect for my needs. I used it as filling in oatmeal-date filled cookies, sandwiching a layer of date filling between two small oatmeal cookies. Perfect!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
A_Maude November 30, 2010

ABSOLUTE ENJOYMENT, both in the making & the eating of these tasties! I did use Medjool dates which are a lot more moist & flavorful (I think) than some other dates on the market! I have several date bar recipes on hand, & this one is every bit as good as any of the others, so . . . I'll be keeping it around! Thanks for sharing this great recipe! [Tagged & made in Please Review My Recipe]

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike March 04, 2010

Just loved these delightful little treats! My filling was sweet and rich and the crust was firm yet chewy. The crust mixture was very thick and I had to mix the oats into it with my hands. I didn't wait the for filling mixture to cool completely and it worked out fine. Thanks for posting this yummy recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
loof January 04, 2009

This reminds me of something my grannie used to make she called them Matramonial squares - what I like better about these is that they aren't as sweet - thanks for the great taste and for bringing back some great memories!!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ravenseyes December 16, 2007

Not sure what I did wrong, because I followed the recipe exactly, but the crust on the top didn't hold together well at all. 1 stick of butter didn't seem to be enough for 1.5 cups of flour plus 1.5 cups of oats. I wasn't sure what "blend" meant, but decided to continue with it in my mixer and made it very fine crumbly. Perhaps I overmixed it? The filling is nice. But I won't make them again unless I can figure out how to fix them so that the top doesn't flake off (it is like loose sand on the top).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MathMom.calif May 30, 2007

I just simply love date squares and these were absolutly delicious!:)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lori Mama November 26, 2006

Really good. I even made a mistake and added 1/2 cup lemon juice instead of juce of 1/2 lemon and I could still tell how good they were supposed to be.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kim~In~Canada November 15, 2006

The flavour of this is DIVINE! I had never made date squares before. The instructions were clear and easy to follow. I made a mistake though. An 8" round pan does NOT equal an 8"x8" pan. I have about a 1/2" of date filling and I had lots of topping left over. No worries though. I simply chopped some apples into a pot and threw in a bunch of chopped dates. Then proceeded from step one as for the date squares. I used the leftover topping as a bottom crust for the apple-date mixture. And I topped it off with streusel topping (Streusel Topping). I baked that for about 20 minutes. This was great! I ended up with two treats instead of just one! Thanks for posting! I am going to find a proper sized pan and then I will make these again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Saturn September 27, 2006
Date Squares