Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Date Bars from my Childhood Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Date Bars from my Childhood

    Average Rating:

    45 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 45

    Sort by:

    • on October 07, 2002

      This recipe was excellent. It has been years since I had a date bar cookie this good. It was very easy to make. I only had and 8oz. package of chopped dates so I added a can of date fillingrnI had to the cooked date mixture. It still comes out great. You do have to wait to cut and eat these cookie bars after they have completely cooled. They were wonderful! Thank you so much for the recipe. This is a keeper. Agb342

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2003

      That's okay, PetitFour.;) Let me just say that I'm sorry they didn't work out for you, but I really don't know what the problem could be. As I said, my grandmother, mother and I have been using this recipe for literally decades, with not one problem-ever. We've never had a raw taste, and the 25 minute baking time is all that's needed. Maybe you didn't press it firmly enough into the pan, which may explain why they fell apart. And as Annetta said, and as stated in the recipe, cool the bars completely before cutting. In fact, after you contacted me about the trouble you were having, I made these again myself,to make sure there were no mistakes in the recipe.I followed this exact copy from Zaar, and they were perfect. Once again, sorry PetitFour, but thanks for giving them a second try before you reviewed. I still stand by the recipe, though, and hope that others will not be afraid to give it a try.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2003

      I am really hating writing this review. I gave this recipe 3 stars because I loved the filling. Unfortunately, I cannot say the same for the crust. I have made this recipe twice, and even consulted Leannr regarding the possible problem, but I can't figure it out. All I know is that the crust when I made it did not bake in 25 minutes. Nor did it bake in 45 minutes. Or at least, it still tasted of raw oatmeal, and when the bars were cut they fell completely apart. I made it the first time with figs, and the second time with dates. Neither time did the crust come out the way I wanted it to. I was very disappointed, because I did want to like these, but I didn't. The filling, however, is perfect. Perfect taste, perfect texture. If I can find a crust that works for me, I will continue to use this filling because it really is wonderful. I'm sorry, Leannr. I tried, I really did.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2004

      I just love date bars so when I saw this recipe I had to add it to my Christmas cookie tray. I haven't had any like this since I was young - thank you so much for recipe - this will be on my Christmas tray from now on!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2003

      These are perfect....easy, quick & extremely rich....amost exactly like the ones from the bakery when I was a kid..It was not easy to let them cool completely but I waited & it was well worth it...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2012

      Perfect blend of chewy, cruchy, and sweet. Super easy to make and a delicious treat. It's impossible to mess these up. Well done and thank you for this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2012

      Excellent recipe! I added more dates to use up an entire bagful and used coconut sugar for a replacement sweetener . My family loved them and we all agreed that they are better ice cold. So this time I am making a double batch! Thanks for this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2012

      I used oat four and swapped the sugars for agave nectar and xylitol. I also used pecans, and not in the filling, but on top. I didn't boil the dates with water and sugar, either, just processed them together a bit into a nice jam-like sludge. This was a great way to get rid of those leftover dates I had and I'd love to make it again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2010

      These bars were delicious! I ran low on regular oatmeal so i supplemented with quick cook oats and a smashed up crunchy granola bar. The crust turned out fantastic; the granola actually added a lot of texture! I also added about 6 oz of semisweet chocolate chips to the date compote before I put it in. My whole family agreed that they were delicious but needed more chocolate! Also, these bars travel really well. I refrigerated the bars overnight and layered them between parchment in a tupperware container. I then froze them to go on a cross-country flight.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2010

      These aren't the chewy, gooey date bars I remembered from my childhood. When I tasted the filling, I got excited because it reminded me of what I wanted, but when I ate my first bar, I realized I had chosen the wrong recipe. Yes, these are delicious, but they are more like a date crisp than a chewy date bar.

      As good as these smell, you MUST wait until they have cooled to cut them; it will make it much easier for you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2010

      most excellent recipe. Most date bars are just too sweet for me but these were perfectly sweet and buttery with a blend of chewy and crunchy texture. I work at a adult foster home and made them for my clients. Everyone raved. I was a bit short on dates so I filled out the measure with raisins (about 1/4 the volume). Chewing skins can be an issue with the elderly so after I cooked the filling mixture, I whizzed it in the food processor for a bit and then added the walnuts for the tiniest bit - leaving some reasonable chunks but nothing to cause a problem. Thanks for a recipe that is a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2010

      I have these made these twice now and everyone has raved about them. I just took them tonight to our monthly church fellowship. These remind me of my grandmothers they are great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2009

      These are exactly what we ate as children at Christmas time. We grew up in a small town in Minnesota where there were lots of people from Croatia. I am surprising my dad with these on Christmas. I wouldn't change a thing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2009

      Very easy and tasty. I put more of the crust mix on the bottom based on other reviews - plus it seemed necessary to get a decent thickness on the bottom. Let cool completely and had no problem removing from pan. Used quick oats. Only needed the 25 minutes baking as stated.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2009

      These were so yummy. Very quick and easy to make. Thanks for posting this wonderful recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2009

      These are absolutely delicious. They came together quickly and with igredients I had on hand. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2009

      Perfect and really yummy - I had left over dates and didn't know what to do with them- the was the perfect solution. VERY VERY good!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2009

      This is an EXCELLENT, EXCELLENT recipe !! It was easy to make and it baked perfectly in the 25 minutes as stated in the recipe. The hardest part was waiting till they were cool enough to cut and eat ! We were so anxious to try them ! After devouring our first bar , my husband and I HAD to have another. He said "these won't be lasting long around here". They are absolutely wonderful...thanks so much for sharing your family's recipe ! It will now be a part of our family also !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2008

      Very good! I did not have enough butter, so used half shortening, they were still great! I also only had half of the dates called for, so I made half the date recipe, then made the other half with raspberries I had in the freezer, mixed with a little sugar and corn starch, they turned out awesome. Two flavors in the same pan. I did line the pan with wax paper, greased lightly with shortening, they came out beautifully. I will take a picture and post later. Thanks for the yummy recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2008

      Very good - these taste like my Grandma's date cookies, but there's much less work involved since they're bar cookies.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Date Bars from my Childhood

    Serving Size: 1 (1706 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 240.6
     
    Calories from Fat 85
    35%
    Total Fat 9.5 g
    14%
    Saturated Fat 4.1 g
    20%
    Cholesterol 15.8 mg
    5%
    Sodium 160.5 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 38.5 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 2.5 g
    10%
    Sugars 26.2 g
    104%
    Protein 2.7 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites