57 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

My family loved this, I made it for my Grandmas 80th birthday and got rave reviews.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pro home chef May 12, 2010

Nothing wrong with this recipe. Cakes rise high and are very tasty, and is so much better than that "packaged taste" that all mixes have. Why not use this recipe all the time then??! Never go back to the old way again! Thank you for this recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lilypads October 28, 2009

After reading all the great reviews I was excited to try this. I made cupcakes with it, and just took it out of the oven. At first blush, I am disappointed. They are FAR from dense...actually they are light as a feather. I like a really dense cake that satisfies with one piece and doesn't leave you wanting more. I feel like, as another reviewer said, that these seem like just plain old box cake cupcakes. Oh well, at least I didn't have a ton of money into ingredients....

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
outtadwoods October 26, 2009

OMG.....! I just had this fabulous cake last night at a pool party at my cousins place, I couldnt beleive it when she told me it was made from a cake mix, it just tasted to good and very light and moist also. She didn't have instant pudding so she used instant chocolate mousse instead and it worked out perfect. Now that I've tasted it, I'm definitly going to make it myself. Thanks for the GREAT RECEIPE!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mia #3 August 17, 2009

I have this book and have made this cake at least 50 times and you are right, leave the choc chips out. This cake is really good if you put it in the fridge and let it totally chill. Great recipe awesome book!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Metal_chef _Jeff May 05, 2009

I've used this recipe about a dozen times since finding your post...It's FANTASTIC! So good that I went out and bought Anne Byrn's book. This cake is extra special with the recommended Perfect Chocolate Cake Frosting. Thank you! A++

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RockstarRachael! April 01, 2009

I love the original recipe. I use the chocolate chips and think it adds a little something. I have no problem with the moistness. I do tend to make cupcakes out of this and fill them with a chocolate mousse and a ganache frosting. Totally delish!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
iLove2BaKe March 08, 2009

My husband was craving a chocolate layer cake and I had never made one before. This recipe saved me!! He loved it! I think he ate 4 pieces the first day! Great recipe and still pretty easy to prepare. Thanks!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Renee Redman November 08, 2008

Just made this cake. I didn't have a cake mix, so I used the dry ingredients from Devils Food Cake Mix in a Jar, "Devil's Food Cake in a jar" in place of the mix and then followed this recipe as is written. It is excellent! I also used the suggested "perfect chocolate frosting". I didn't have heavy cream, so I used 1/2 and 1/2, and added 1TBLS. of Kayro light corn syrup with the first set of ingredients that get cooked on the stove. Followed the rest of directions as written. WOW!!! It is excellent! SOOO thick and rich and fudgey! My husband looked like a little boy after he licked the beaters and bowl...he had frosting on his face and mustache!!! I'd say that definitely makes this a five star recipe! I also made it four layers, looks beautiful and gets that wonderful frosting throughout the entire cake! Thanks for a GREAT cake and frosting recipe! This will surely be a regular in our house!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Frankies Bella August 17, 2008
Darn Good Chocolate Cake ( Cake Mix Cake)