66 Reviews

So good! I made this for my husbands birthday and he just loved it! He kept going back for more! I frosted with Mocha frosting recipoe#53437. Thank you so much!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharon123 August 09, 2005

An excellent cake mix cake and the results were superb with the perfect chocolate frosting. Very pretty cake and very moist and rich.I used cadbury top deck milk chocolate cake mix, canola oil and light sour cream as that is what I had on hand. Thanks for a great recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
oriana February 06, 2005

Disappointed. Cake fell after baking 30 minutes. Followed recipe exactly. Not sure what happened. Looked good coming out of oven but fell as it cooled.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lindalo July 23, 2016

My family loves this cake. I cut into 4 layers put thin layer of icing, then thin layer of jam on top of icing, cake then repeat each layer. So yummy

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Laurindarich June 19, 2016

I am definitely a dissenter here. The cake is very easy to make; very little fuss. The presentation looks terrific, rich and dark. The cake is scrumptiously moist with a tender crumb, very pleasing to the palate. So what's the problem? I found that there was very little chocolate taste. In fact, it was disappointingly bland. I did not used chocolate chips in the recipe and used a cream cheese vanilla frosting; perhaps that made a difference. Or maybe it was the mix: I used Betty Crocker Super Moist Devil’s Food. Given all the hoopla in the other reviews, I was really hoping for something that would give me a nice chocolate fix, but that unfortunately did not happen.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
John in SF June 16, 2016

This was really very good cake. I used white cake and vanilla pudding for a wedding shower. I wanted really good cake that tasted homemade but with the quickness of box cake. I had tried another recipe with just using pudding in the mix and it was tasty but kind of spongy texture. This was perfect and tastes homemade. It was also firm enough for holding up to decorating. I would recommend it and I printed out the recipe and will save it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jean C. June 14, 2016

One of the most moist cakes I've ever made! Love it. I did use olive oil instead of vegetable oil. Maybe next time I'll follow another posters comment and substitute coffee instead of using water. Sounds very tasty.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Texie M. May 22, 2016

Ladies, this is my go-to recipe for anything in a box. You can switch pudding flavors and for a boxed banana bread mix I omitted the pudding due to the extra, ripe banana's I added. I also have to half all ingredients because, being single I use smaller mixes. This just WORKS and it's excellent. Thank you for posting this and I truly believe this is totally foolproof......or, in my case idiot proof! ;-)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lopiekitty April 23, 2016

Modifications: BC Triple Choc Fudge cake mix + Devils food Pudding box; 1/2 cup Sour cream, 1/2 cup sour cherry preserves; Sub water with Almond Breeze coconut vanilla; Add 1/2 cup Toll house semi-sweet mini morsels to batter. Adds chocolate crunch. Takes 33-35 min to bake firm. Middle layer is more sour cherry preserves, liberal sprinkle of mini morsels. Good old can frosting. decorate with Dove chocolate dipped cherries and more mini morsels. Wife said, couldnt get it any more chocolaty if you tried. About 1000 cal per slice!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Matthew L. March 21, 2016

This cake has always given me trouble. The taste is DELICIOUS but for presentation purposes it falls below satisfactory. Every time for some reason the cake appears to be "buckled" as if you're wearing too tight a belt. It's only ever this recipe where I have this problem. I only ever line my pans with parchment (no pam spray) and I've even overbaked them intentionally to see if maybe my problem was underbaking. While I hope no one else experiences this problem it's so frustrating and I hope there's some kind of solution for me someday.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
knf21583 November 19, 2015
Darn Good Chocolate Cake ( Cake Mix Cake)