Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Darn Good Chocolate Cake ( Cake Mix Cake) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Darn Good Chocolate Cake ( Cake Mix Cake)

    Average Rating:

    57 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 57

    Sort by:

    • on May 12, 2010

      My family loved this, I made it for my Grandmas 80th birthday and got rave reviews.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2010

    • on October 28, 2009

      Nothing wrong with this recipe. Cakes rise high and are very tasty, and is so much better than that "packaged taste" that all mixes have. Why not use this recipe all the time then??! Never go back to the old way again! Thank you for this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2009

      After reading all the great reviews I was excited to try this. I made cupcakes with it, and just took it out of the oven. At first blush, I am disappointed. They are FAR from dense...actually they are light as a feather. I like a really dense cake that satisfies with one piece and doesn't leave you wanting more. I feel like, as another reviewer said, that these seem like just plain old box cake cupcakes. Oh well, at least I didn't have a ton of money into ingredients....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2009

      OMG.....! I just had this fabulous cake last night at a pool party at my cousins place, I couldnt beleive it when she told me it was made from a cake mix, it just tasted to good and very light and moist also. She didn't have instant pudding so she used instant chocolate mousse instead and it worked out perfect. Now that I've tasted it, I'm definitly going to make it myself. Thanks for the GREAT RECEIPE!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2009

      I have this book and have made this cake at least 50 times and you are right, leave the choc chips out. This cake is really good if you put it in the fridge and let it totally chill. Great recipe awesome book!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2009

      I've used this recipe about a dozen times since finding your post...It's FANTASTIC! So good that I went out and bought Anne Byrn's book. This cake is extra special with the recommended Perfect Chocolate Cake Frosting. Thank you! A++

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2009

      I love the original recipe. I use the chocolate chips and think it adds a little something. I have no problem with the moistness. I do tend to make cupcakes out of this and fill them with a chocolate mousse and a ganache frosting. Totally delish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2008

      My husband was craving a chocolate layer cake and I had never made one before. This recipe saved me!! He loved it! I think he ate 4 pieces the first day! Great recipe and still pretty easy to prepare. Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2008

      Just made this cake. I didn't have a cake mix, so I used the dry ingredients from Devils Food Cake Mix in a Jar, "Devil's Food Cake in a jar" in place of the mix and then followed this recipe as is written. It is excellent! I also used the suggested "perfect chocolate frosting". I didn't have heavy cream, so I used 1/2 and 1/2, and added 1TBLS. of Kayro light corn syrup with the first set of ingredients that get cooked on the stove. Followed the rest of directions as written. WOW!!! It is excellent! SOOO thick and rich and fudgey! My husband looked like a little boy after he licked the beaters and bowl...he had frosting on his face and mustache!!! I'd say that definitely makes this a five star recipe! I also made it four layers, looks beautiful and gets that wonderful frosting throughout the entire cake! Thanks for a GREAT cake and frosting recipe! This will surely be a regular in our house!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2008

      Made this cake for a pre-school graduation cake. I didn't taste it, but when I asked about it, they said that the cake was great!! Moist and dense. I made 3 batches of it and placed it on an 11x15 rectangular cake pan. It baked for over an hour and I used all the batter for that cake pan. Will probably use the recipe again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2008

    • on March 04, 2008

      I bake and decorate a lot of birthday cakes and this is my new recipe for chocolate.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2008

      Beautiful cake very moist rich and dense thank you for a wonderful recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2008

    • on December 31, 2007

      I must say that this was the best chocolate cake I've ever had ! Very smooth,rich and a breeze to make but I definitely required a quart of milk with my large piece !! A must try for all who love chocolate. Also.... I used Betty Crocker Butter Chocolate cake mix. In my opinion BC butter cake mixes are the best boxed cake mixes. Thanks Taylortwo !!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2007

      This turned out "super" really enjoyed,will make again.Followed recipe to a "T" except for chips,left these out,as previous reviwer stated. thanks for posting Don Steele

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2007

      This cake is better with the Chocolate chips, in my opinion. I used the mini chocolate chips and the cake turned out wonderful and everyone loved it. I also only used 3 eggs instead of 4 b/c previous 'Darn Good Chocolate cake' recipes said that 4 eggs may make the cake too heavy and will sink.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2007

    • on October 21, 2007

      This is a no fail chocolate cake. You will always get rave reviews with this recipe. Since I'm a chocolate addict I like to add chocolate chips to mine.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Darn Good Chocolate Cake ( Cake Mix Cake)

    Serving Size: 1 (80 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 16

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 271.2
     
    Calories from Fat 144
    53%
    Total Fat 16.0 g
    24%
    Saturated Fat 4.0 g
    20%
    Cholesterol 53.9 mg
    17%
    Sodium 397.8 mg
    16%
    Total Carbohydrate 30.3 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 1.0 g
    4%
    Sugars 17.7 g
    71%
    Protein 3.9 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes