Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Darn Good Chocolate Cake ( Cake Mix Cake) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Darn Good Chocolate Cake ( Cake Mix Cake)

    Average Rating:

    55 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 55

    Sort by:

    • on March 04, 2008

      Terrific cake Taylor! Moist and dense like you said. I made this for a cake decorating class, but I cannot wait to try it in a layer cake. I really liked how it cut so cleanly, no crumbs! Looks and tastes like it came from a bakery. I agree with you about not adding the chocolate chips. I will definately be using this recipe often. Thanks for sharing! Update: I was so impressed with the texture of this cake (I'm into cake decorating) that I have used this formula with other flavors of cake. I made this with a cherry chip cake mix using cheesecake flavored pudding mix, it was awesome. It cuts perfectly and the layers are sturdy enough to divide into more layers, and stay together well while handling for stacking. I'm loving this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2010

      Came out moist, chocolatey, and not too sweet! I used a 9x13 pan; It came out so tall I was able to cut it in half and put frosting in the middle! I also used cold coffee in place of the water.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2009

      Great cake - thank you! I think its the addition of the sour cream that makes the difference because I have made other "box" cakes that call for pudding mix and the texture & taste of this recipe is superior. Also, I had no sour cream so I used 1 cup plain yogurt + 1 tablespoon of cornstarch and it turned out perfect. I can't wait to try it again with the sour cream :) EDIT: I just made this again but this time I used a lemon cake mix + sugar free Jello white chocolate pudding mix + 1 cup plain yogurt + 1 tablespoon of corn starch. This is THE most delicious cake I have ever tasted and the texture is fantastic, smooth, and moist. I frosted it with a simple home made buttercream in which I added half a pack of pink lemonade Kool-Aid (powder) for that oh so lemony flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2008

      Delicious! I have to cook gluten free so I used a gluten free cake mix (Bob's Red Mill) and I also used butter instead of oil since most gluten free recipes seem to call for butter. It turned out great. It didn't rise much, but was still delicious and was very easy to cut in half in order to make it 4 layers. I used Grandma's Chocolate Fudge Frosting which added just the right amount of sweetness and people raved about it! Thank you for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2014

      Have made this a few times when I needed something to take to a party. Very heavy cake, doesn't seem cheap and from a box. I'm no chocolate lover but I can't wait to eat these again for a party tomorrow!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2014

      This was the easiest, most delicious chocolate cake ever! Just made it for unexpected out of town company when I had to throw a lunch & dessert together quickly. I used a Betty Crocker Chocolate Fudge cake mix, which I already had on hand. I baked it in a bunt pan and just watched the baking time carefully to make sure it didn't overcook. I believe it took about 45 minutes. Then I did a powered sugar glaze which was quicker (my time was so limited) but really tasty. I served it on a pedestal cake plate and it looked so pretty! My girlfriend had made this cake for me using a yellow cake mix with vanilla pudding. It was also SOOO good, I've made that a few times. This is the first time I did chocolate, as I was looking for something I already had in my pantry. This will be my go-to chocolate cake from now on!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2013

      Absolutely amazing! Whatever Taylortwo reviews I am so trying!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2013

      Super yummy cake and easy to make!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2013

      This is my "go to" chocolate cake recipe! Why waste time with a made from scratch cake when you have this! Wonderful cake!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2013

      Deeeeelicious! I substituted the cake mix to Golden cake and used vanilla pudding mix. It was fabulous! The texture is velvety and it is so moist and creamy. We loved it! Thank you for sharing this recipe! It is going into the "favourites" book! I can't wait to try the chocolate version now!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2013

      Oh yes! That is the recipe I was looking for :)
      I made this with my baking group at the hospital... they all loved it and it was a guarranteed success!! Thank you for posting it, it was just what we wanted

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2012

      What a delicious cake! Just made this today following the recipe almost exactly just with the following changes - baked at 300 for about 45-50 minutes and I used mini chocolate chips in the icing that I put between the middle layers and smooth chocolate icing on the top. My fiance said this is the idealistic, ultra-moist chocolate cake I always wanted my mom to make, but she never found this recipe. We are definitely glad that we did! I shared a couple photos.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2012

      made this for hubby's birthday cake...it really did taste home made..i had made home made frosting..and in between layers of cake, i put frosting then crushed pecans...very very good!! thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2012

      Absolutely excellent!!! simple to make and so moist. Try using same recipe with yellow cake mix and vanilla pudding also add coconut extract to make it a wonderful coconut cake. Can't go wrong with this recipe it's a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2011

      this is the cake I have been looking for! I don`t care if it calls for cake mix. This is the best! It raised perfectly, cut easily, disappeared fast.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2011

      I made this cake for my niece's birthday since she wanted a chocolate cake with chocolate icing. I split it into 4 layers and filled with chocolate ganache. She loved it and so did everyone else. The texture of the cake was perfect. I'm sure I will make this again. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2010

      I've made this a couple of dozen times, and it's always a huge it!. I use a large bundt pan, and ice it using the Cake Mix Doctor's recipe for chocolate Gnache. Another variation I've tried is using Butter Yellow cake, Butterscotch pudding with butterscotch chips suspended, and then glaze it with melted caramels, butterscotch chips, mixed with cream to thin it out some. Awesome recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2010

      Really good, I subbed cold coffee for the water.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2010

      My family loved this, I made it for my Grandmas 80th birthday and got rave reviews.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2010

    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Darn Good Chocolate Cake ( Cake Mix Cake)

    Serving Size: 1 (80 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 16

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 271.2
     
    Calories from Fat 144
    53%
    Total Fat 16.0 g
    24%
    Saturated Fat 4.0 g
    20%
    Cholesterol 53.9 mg
    17%
    Sodium 397.8 mg
    16%
    Total Carbohydrate 30.3 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 1.0 g
    4%
    Sugars 17.7 g
    71%
    Protein 3.9 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites