59 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Terrific cake Taylor! Moist and dense like you said. I made this for a cake decorating class, but I cannot wait to try it in a layer cake. I really liked how it cut so cleanly, no crumbs! Looks and tastes like it came from a bakery. I agree with you about not adding the chocolate chips. I will definately be using this recipe often. Thanks for sharing! Update: I was so impressed with the texture of this cake (I'm into cake decorating) that I have used this formula with other flavors of cake. I made this with a cherry chip cake mix using cheesecake flavored pudding mix, it was awesome. It cuts perfectly and the layers are sturdy enough to divide into more layers, and stay together well while handling for stacking. I'm loving this recipe!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Not-2-Sweet March 04, 2008

Came out moist, chocolatey, and not too sweet! I used a 9x13 pan; It came out so tall I was able to cut it in half and put frosting in the middle! I also used cold coffee in place of the water.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
iheartbaking6688 July 06, 2010

Great cake - thank you! I think its the addition of the sour cream that makes the difference because I have made other "box" cakes that call for pudding mix and the texture & taste of this recipe is superior. Also, I had no sour cream so I used 1 cup plain yogurt + 1 tablespoon of cornstarch and it turned out perfect. I can't wait to try it again with the sour cream :) EDIT: I just made this again but this time I used a lemon cake mix + sugar free Jello white chocolate pudding mix + 1 cup plain yogurt + 1 tablespoon of corn starch. This is THE most delicious cake I have ever tasted and the texture is fantastic, smooth, and moist. I frosted it with a simple home made buttercream in which I added half a pack of pink lemonade Kool-Aid (powder) for that oh so lemony flavor.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Merry Cook April 03, 2009

Have made this a few times when I needed something to take to a party. Very heavy cake, doesn't seem cheap and from a box. I'm no chocolate lover but I can't wait to eat these again for a party tomorrow!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Francine88 March 07, 2014

This was the easiest, most delicious chocolate cake ever! Just made it for unexpected out of town company when I had to throw a lunch & dessert together quickly. I used a Betty Crocker Chocolate Fudge cake mix, which I already had on hand. I baked it in a bunt pan and just watched the baking time carefully to make sure it didn't overcook. I believe it took about 45 minutes. Then I did a powered sugar glaze which was quicker (my time was so limited) but really tasty. I served it on a pedestal cake plate and it looked so pretty! My girlfriend had made this cake for me using a yellow cake mix with vanilla pudding. It was also SOOO good, I've made that a few times. This is the first time I did chocolate, as I was looking for something I already had in my pantry. This will be my go-to chocolate cake from now on!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
barbaribob February 18, 2014

This is my "go to" chocolate cake recipe! Why waste time with a made from scratch cake when you have this! Wonderful cake!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
justicejones July 09, 2013

made this for hubby's birthday cake...it really did taste home made..i had made home made frosting..and in between layers of cake, i put frosting then crushed pecans...very very good!! thanks

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rbaugie August 06, 2012

Really good, I subbed cold coffee for the water.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marianneee June 20, 2010

Nothing wrong with this recipe. Cakes rise high and are very tasty, and is so much better than that "packaged taste" that all mixes have. Why not use this recipe all the time then??! Never go back to the old way again! Thank you for this recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lilypads October 28, 2009

OMG.....! I just had this fabulous cake last night at a pool party at my cousins place, I couldnt beleive it when she told me it was made from a cake mix, it just tasted to good and very light and moist also. She didn't have instant pudding so she used instant chocolate mousse instead and it worked out perfect. Now that I've tasted it, I'm definitly going to make it myself. Thanks for the GREAT RECEIPE!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mia #3 August 17, 2009
Darn Good Chocolate Cake ( Cake Mix Cake)