13 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Very nice moist loaf cake. Not too sweet and a good chocolate flavour. Be careful not to overbake!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
qjohnson July 07, 2013

Excellent recipe, recommended to me by my daughter who is a wonderful baker, I'm glad to say that my results were also excellent, and I'm not such a good baker, so its clearly a really good recipe!!! We both chose to make muffins rather than cake, I got 12 cupcake - sized muffins out of this recipe, I baked them for approx 25 minutes. They were declared excellent in texture and taste by DH, who is an expert taster :) Thank you Spongebob!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karen Elizabeth January 29, 2013

Another great recipe from Spongebob!!! This is such a good cake!!! It is very moist and luscious!! I love that it has less guilt using the yogurt and canola instead of butter. I used some instant espresso powder that I mixed to make a cup of coffee and put the TBSP for the cake, it gave the chocolate wonderful depth of flavor!! Loved this recipe, thanks for posting!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef*Lee July 15, 2009

I made this cake for my brother's bday, but contrary to the other reviews on here, overall I did not like it. Maybe I did something wrong, but as far as I know I followed the recipe to a tee, except I added crushed walnuts for texture. I did appreciated that it was not too sweet, which allowed the cocoa to come through without being overpowered by sweetness, but I found the cake was really heavy and dense, which is why I wouldn't use this recipe again. I prefer my cakes to be lighter and fluffier.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wrathoftheperogi October 10, 2014

I loved it! I just followed the recipe and was perfect!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
edmariemarchany April 29, 2014

This was definitely moist but I prefer even chocolatey!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sofie-a-toast October 05, 2013

finally i found a recipe for what i was looking for !! super moist chocolate cake !! i tried it and it was so good !! i will always use this recipe !! thanks :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Sarah224 September 11, 2013

Good! Very chocolatey! I used chocolate Greek yogurt (that I was trying to use up) and regular process Penzey's cocoa, no other changes. Next time I'll start checking at 40 minutes. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LonghornMama December 03, 2012

Fantastic! I love it after a few days, when it gets slightly sticky and chewy. It's so moist, and really delicious. I substituted applesauce for the oil, and used a tablespoon of instant coffee granules. This is perfect.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rusticgirl June 12, 2012

Excellent. Used vanilla pudding as a sauce to drizzle over each slice.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ty's Kitchen May 14, 2012
Dark Chocolate Yogurt Cake