11 Reviews

This was the first time making a souffle. I'm really not sure what the consistency is supposed to be whether more like cake or more like light creamy pudding, but mine was the later and it was so good! I used semi-sweet chocolate for the recipe and a piece of dark chocolate for the center. This was the best chocolaty-thing I have ever had! Thanks for posting!!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sweetcakes January 02, 2011

Awesome, perfect consistency and a great rich chocolate flavor. It wasn't the season for fresh berries here so I topped with a few dried cranberries I'd soaked in rum along with chocolate chips and served with ice cream on the side.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Peter J July 23, 2012

This is a GREAT recipe for chocolate souffle and I especially like the fact that they can be made ahead of time and refrigerated. DH and I enjoyed these very much for our anniversary dinner. Thanks for posting this,~Rita~- it's going straight into my "favorites" folder!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Leslie in Texas April 27, 2009

I just realized I forgot to review this!! I made this for my boyfriend and I for a special Valentine's Day treat! We both thought it was amazing, and perfect for such an occasion!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Babydoll070409 April 13, 2011

This was my first attempt at making souffle and I would say it was a success! I made it for Valentine's Day. I kind of guessed at them being done. They did rise above the dish so I guess I did them long enough. I added frozen raspberries to my dish and that added a good tartness to the rich chocolate.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef AngieW February 22, 2011

So good and so easy to make! Used semi-sweet chocolate cuz its what i had on hand, still amazing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
medieval wench June 12, 2010

Wonderful souffles! Made these instead of cake for a friend's birthday and everyone loved them. I made a sweet milk sauce to pour over them (tasted similar to caramel). A note about servings: this must be for quite large souffle ramekins. I tripled the recipe so I could make 6 souffles, but that made enough for double that in the ramekins I have.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
fairycook February 13, 2010

This was great. I have actually made it a couple of times but forgot to review. It was very easy to make and my boyfriend loved it. I followed recipe exactly except I topped with fresh whipped cream. Thanks--I will definitely make this again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lorianne1 June 21, 2007

Wow! Sooooooo yummy and eaisier than I thought it would be! If you like chocolate, you will love this! So creamy and chocolaty! Thanks ~Rita~!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MoniLee October 26, 2009

I made these for our Valentine's Day dessert, and they were really good. The directions were easy to follow, they looked beautiful, and the texture was awesome! (I meant to take a picture, but I didn't.) I got 3 souffles out of this recipe, too. I topped ours with whipped cream, and chocolate heart and "Love" garnishes that I made by melting chocolate chips in a ziploc bag in the microwave, "drawing" on wax paper through a tiny hole in the corner of the bag, and refrigerating them. I also made them ahead of dinner, put them in the fridge for about 4 hours, and took them out to warm up for about 30 min. (while we were eating). They baked perfectly in 16 minutes. The reason I gave it 4 stars is because it took me a bit more than "a dash" of cream of tartar to get the egg whites to reach soft (and, in turn, stiff) peaks. I think that because of this, the souffles had sort of a "tangy" flavor (or it could've been that I used 61% dark chocolate - not sure which). I think this might have been my fault, though. I have never made/had any dessert souffle before, so I think I really just need more practice. :) However, this is a great recipe, and I would definitely try it out again. Thanks for posting it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Greeny4444 February 15, 2009
Dark Chocolate Souffle