9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I LOVED THIS LATTE! This is one is among my favorites here on the Zaar/Food site. Wish I could give this more than 5 stars. It is that good. I wanted to make my mom a drink that tastes like her favorite candy Hershey's Dark Chocolate Nuggets so I subbed in those chocolates cut up into chip size pieces. I also only had whipping cream so I used that for the half and half. She loved it. It is such a decadent treat and there was no need for added sugar or whipped cream. This was great as written. Thanks so much for posting Sharon123

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ChefDLH April 22, 2012

Incredibly delicious and so easy to make. This latte will definitely be on my Christmas morning menu and any time I want to wow guests with this wonderful drink. I did not add any sugar as I thought it was perfect just as is and I left off the whipped cream this time. I'll bet the whipped cream would look great with a sprinkling of cinnamon on top. Thanks for the post. Made for the Everyday is a Holiday tag.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nancy's Pantry October 06, 2011

I loved this chocolate latte. It was so good and I forgot to add the vanilla and almond extract. DH tasted it and he also loved it and usually he's so fussy when it comes to homemade mocha or hot chocolate. Thanks Sharon :) Made for I Recommend tag game

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boomette April 29, 2011

This gets 10 STARS just for the decadence factor! Delicious and rich. I subbed fat-free half and half for the regular, and skipped the whipped cream, but added some steamed and frothed milk. Instead of the cinnamon stick, I sprinkled some ground cinnamon on top. I also used the almond extract, which really puts it over the top! This will be made as a "special treat" from now on! Thanks for posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mikekey April 24, 2011

I love my coffee & my dark chocolate so this was a lovely treat. I used Lindt dark chocolate & left out the almond. I did find that this wasn't quite sweet enough for me as I like a sweet coffee so I added a touch of Splenda to round out the flavours...thanks Sharon!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
**Mandy** February 17, 2009

I used skim milk and light cream and still had a wonderful creamy chocolate drink. I also added the almond extract YUM. Made for PRMR tag Jan 2009

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wicked cook 46 January 27, 2009

I cut the servings to two, and used 2% milk. This was a nice treat for us this morning, seeing that it rather cold out. I t had a real nice almond flavor, and can not wait to try again. Made for PRMR tag.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
weekend cooker January 06, 2009

What a wonderful morning treat on this nice cool morning!!! I changed to one serving. Mine was very rich, as it told me to add 1/4 chips, which really is more than the recipe called for in 1 serving. I used 2% milk and the half-n-half and left out the almond extract. Nice and rich with no other sweetner needed. Thanks for sharing Sharon. Made for PRMR.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
diner524 December 22, 2008

Yummm. I used a combo of skim and fat free evaporated milks for this to help reduce the fat. I used sliced almonds as a garnish to compliment the almond flavoring. Even with the fat trimmed back it was rich and delicious with the bittersweet chocolate. Thanks Sharon for a real delight. :D

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Annacia November 11, 2008
Dark Chocolate Latte