26 Reviews

Yummy, we all loved it at home! I'm going to share it with my friends' tomorrow. I know they'll love it as much as we did. I used 4 oz. of dark chocolate as I couldn't get my hands on unsweetened chocolate at the store. I love unsweetened chocolate too, so, I'm sure this will be as yummy and maybe even more yummy with unsweetened chocolate than it is with the dark one. Thanks, again, well enjoyed by all.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charishma_Ramchandani October 22, 2002

I wish I could give this an actual rating, but I believe that the change I made caused it to not turn out very well! Instead of melting the chocolate in a double boiler, I chose to do it in the microwave - which worked well enough, however when I added the cold milk to the warm chocolate, it didn't mix up as it would have if I'd added it to a warm pan. The end result was that I had little pieces of chocolate in the ice cream, which normally would be delicious, but because it was unsweetened it wasn't good at all. This is certainly not the recipes fault, though, and I do plan on trying it again very soon - only this time I'll follow the directions!!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hepcat1 May 02, 2008

I wish I could give this recipe more stars--it is INCREDIBLE! I made this tonight and it's better than any store bought ice cream! I used 4 oz. of Hershey's milk chocolate chips and only 1/2 cups of sugar. Also used whole milk since that's what we had on hand with Egg Beaters (I like that they're pasturized and having an 18 month old eating this too, I felt better about letting her chow down) Topped this with marshmallow topping and chocolate sprinkles. My hubby and daughter ate this all up without peeping a sound! Thanks for this "keeper recipe" :D

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ChefMom08 July 03, 2010

This is the first recipe I made this week with my brand new ice cream maker! I, too, subbed chocolate chips and reduced the sugar. I also whisked the eggs into the chocolate/milk mixture, and heated it back up slowly to kill any bacteria. It took a long time to chill the mixture before making ice cream, but my peace of mind was worth it.

The texture after making in the ice cream maker and then ripening in the freezer for a few hours is wonderful, not too hard to scoop at all. The chocolate flavor was perfect, tasted just like one of my favorite store-bought chocolate ice creams! Thanks for this wonderful recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rebekah of SFD July 17, 2010

This ice cream tasted like brownies to me! I thought it was wonderful!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kittysomerville June 05, 2010

I've made this a few times and it's always really good. I like how it's not too "eggy." I've also substituted a vanilla bean instead of chocolate in the cup of milk and then used the seeds in the mixture to make vanilla ice cream. It was a big hit. This is a great recipe for chocolate or anything else you can imagine. Thanks for posting!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gen Moore August 11, 2009

this was ice milk not icecream we did not get the chocolate to combine well and it was not creamy at all and we added more cream and sugar and it still didnt do anything

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kimmaboo July 08, 2009

This didn't work for me: the chocolate didn't mix into the milk properly and it didn't set in the ice cream maker. It did set overnight eventually after leaving it in hte freezer.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Spiderboymum June 08, 2008

Made this as directed--WOW--really rich and decadant. Will make this one again soon. I think I will try adding the toasted almonds, sounds like a lovely addition.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sodak1951 March 23, 2008

Really good!! The flavor is great and with so few ingredients it is easy to do. I used semisweet chocolate and less sugar and it turned out rich and not too sweet. I even used 3/4 cup skim milk with 1/4 cup cream to approxomate 2% milk. My only complaint is it made too small a batch!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GIBride01 August 03, 2007
Dark Chocolate Ice Cream