Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Dark Chocolate Ice Cream Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Dark Chocolate Ice Cream

    Average Rating:

    26 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 26

    Sort by:

    • on October 22, 2002

      Yummy, we all loved it at home! I'm going to share it with my friends' tomorrow. I know they'll love it as much as we did. I used 4 oz. of dark chocolate as I couldn't get my hands on unsweetened chocolate at the store. I love unsweetened chocolate too, so, I'm sure this will be as yummy and maybe even more yummy with unsweetened chocolate than it is with the dark one. Thanks, again, well enjoyed by all.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2010

      I wish I could give this recipe more stars--it is INCREDIBLE! I made this tonight and it's better than any store bought ice cream! I used 4 oz. of Hershey's milk chocolate chips and only 1/2 cups of sugar. Also used whole milk since that's what we had on hand with Egg Beaters (I like that they're pasturized and having an 18 month old eating this too, I felt better about letting her chow down) Topped this with marshmallow topping and chocolate sprinkles. My hubby and daughter ate this all up without peeping a sound! Thanks for this "keeper recipe" :D

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2008

      I wish I could give this an actual rating, but I believe that the change I made caused it to not turn out very well! Instead of melting the chocolate in a double boiler, I chose to do it in the microwave - which worked well enough, however when I added the cold milk to the warm chocolate, it didn't mix up as it would have if I'd added it to a warm pan. The end result was that I had little pieces of chocolate in the ice cream, which normally would be delicious, but because it was unsweetened it wasn't good at all. This is certainly not the recipes fault, though, and I do plan on trying it again very soon - only this time I'll follow the directions!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2010

      This is the first recipe I made this week with my brand new ice cream maker! I, too, subbed chocolate chips and reduced the sugar. I also whisked the eggs into the chocolate/milk mixture, and heated it back up slowly to kill any bacteria. It took a long time to chill the mixture before making ice cream, but my peace of mind was worth it.

      The texture after making in the ice cream maker and then ripening in the freezer for a few hours is wonderful, not too hard to scoop at all. The chocolate flavor was perfect, tasted just like one of my favorite store-bought chocolate ice creams! Thanks for this wonderful recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2010

      This ice cream tasted like brownies to me! I thought it was wonderful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2009

      I've made this a few times and it's always really good. I like how it's not too "eggy." I've also substituted a vanilla bean instead of chocolate in the cup of milk and then used the seeds in the mixture to make vanilla ice cream. It was a big hit. This is a great recipe for chocolate or anything else you can imagine. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2009

      this was ice milk not icecream we did not get the chocolate to combine well and it was not creamy at all and we added more cream and sugar and it still didnt do anything

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2008

      This didn't work for me: the chocolate didn't mix into the milk properly and it didn't set in the ice cream maker. It did set overnight eventually after leaving it in hte freezer.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2008

      Made this as directed--WOW--really rich and decadant. Will make this one again soon. I think I will try adding the toasted almonds, sounds like a lovely addition.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2007

      Really good!! The flavor is great and with so few ingredients it is easy to do. I used semisweet chocolate and less sugar and it turned out rich and not too sweet. I even used 3/4 cup skim milk with 1/4 cup cream to approxomate 2% milk. My only complaint is it made too small a batch!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2013

      I've made this a few times now, with variations, but I've never read the other reviews till now. I've never once had a problem mixing the chocolate. I don't even use the eggs simply because I don't want to be bothered with them. I melt the chocolate (6 ozs as I make a qt) in a mixing bowl over a pot of boiling water and in 2-4 mins (white chocolate takes longest) it's smooth. I add 2 cups cream first, and when thats blended I put in 1 cup of milk (sometimes almond milk). Then 1/2 the ask for sugar (or sometimes Splenda), salt and vanilla. At that point it either goes into the freezer to start chilling or I play with other flavors. I've added liquid instant coffee, marshmallow cream and well mashed banana in the past. Today I made white chocolate with no other additions that will be used to top a warm berry crisp tomorrow. I might add that when using white chocolate I don't add any additional sweetening, it simply doesn't need it. It always comes out rich, creamy and very pleasing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2008

      This chocolate ice-cream was great!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2004

      Oh my! This stuff is great! I made half a recipe, which was probably a good idea because I think I would eat it all! The chocolate looked like it was seizing up when I added the milk, but it smoothed out after a few seconds. I'm so surprised that with so few ingredients, it's so good! I had some with warmed strawberry preserves and it was amazing! This will be my standard chocolate ice cream from now on! thanks so much

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2004

      This was very delicious. I added a half cup of almond slivers, which I roasted in the toaster oven, and a half cup of chocolate chips. It made a very decadent chocolate ice cream. Next time: I'm going to add brownie chunks for the most decadent ever!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2013

      This is fabulous!!! The chocolatey-est ice cream I have ever had. I followed the recipe exactly, except I warmed the milk in the microwave while melting the chocolate. It was just warm - not even hot or boiling. This did ease the mixing a little. OF course the chocolate will want to solidify again when adding a colder liquid, but you need to add gradually, while stirring, and let it come back up to temp so the chocolate is melted. Will be making this recipe again. I love it topped with some chopped smoked almonds.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2013

    • on July 29, 2012

      LOVE this ice cream; so rich and creamy, I was invited to friends for dinner and made this to take along. Added some mini mint chips to the mix and served topped with fresh rasberries from my garden and fresh whipped cream. It was the hit of the evening with rave reviews from everyone and was gone before I could even get a photo. This will be my go to chocolate recipe from now on.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2012

      The flavour of this ice cream is great! However I found it pretty unforgiving. If you screw up one step you've basically ruined the recipe. I used a double boiler and still burnt the chocolate. Start again, chocolate is smooth, but I didnt add in the liquid slow enough and ended up with small chunks in my ice cream.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2011

      Absolutely fantastic! This is decadent and silky and super rich. I love dark chocolate ice cream, and this one is by far the best I think I've ever had! I used Godiva unsweetened and substituted egg beaters (to keep everything pasteurized). This recipe is amazing. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2007

      I wanted to make this without an ice cream maker, so I added one extra egg. I then put the mixture in the feezer and during the first 2 hours took it out and beat it with a mixer three times. It froze beautifully, all creamy and no tiny icicles. Needles to say, it was delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Dark Chocolate Ice Cream

    Serving Size: 1 (112 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 309.3
     
    Calories from Fat 186
    60%
    Total Fat 20.7 g
    31%
    Saturated Fat 12.5 g
    62%
    Cholesterol 91.5 mg
    30%
    Sodium 67.0 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 31.6 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 2.3 g
    9%
    Sugars 25.2 g
    100%
    Protein 5.0 g
    10%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites