32 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I don't know if it was something that I did or what went wrong....but this would not thicken. I followed the recipe to the letter and although it tasted fabulous, it ended up having to be whipped in order to stay on the cake.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*christie January 31, 2009

I will not rate this due to my mistake but just a warning, do not take your eyes off the simmering butter and cream. Mine boiled over and I did not wait long enough to let it cool back down so my chocolate seized up. I would use this recipe again but probably use the double boiler method.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Fiddler March 23, 2008

Turned out perfect, and made my cake beautiful! Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shawnee TX March 18, 2008

This was wonderfull. Simple to make. I did sub, 2 tablespoons of the cream with equal amounts of brewed espresso. I used this as crowning touch for an espresso cake I made. Everyone loved it. Thank you Mean. gibblet

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gibblet February 13, 2008

very good and very easy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
howflowcanyougo January 24, 2008

Excellent recipe for grown-up tastes! Easy to make, sets nicely, with a wonderful glossiness that makes presentation outstanding! It is very very rich with all of that butter. Thanks NcMysteryShopper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Prov Lady 25 January 16, 2008

Thans for the easy basic recipe. Came in handy...and delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vye367 January 04, 2008

This was great, but I wish the directions were a little more informative. Having never made this before, I freaked out when it became liquidy, even after a couple of minutes off the heat. But after reading the other reviews, I think that's okay (?). It tasted just fine at least! I just drained off the 'grease' and spread on the 'frosting' part.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JESMom December 04, 2007

Just super..coverd chocolate chip muffins with this for wife's valentines day surprise breakfast..Thanks

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
phosman646 February 14, 2007
Dark Chocolate Ganache