Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Dark Chocolate Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Dark Chocolate Cake

    Average Rating:

    505 Total Reviews

    Showing 141-160 of 505

    Sort by:

    • on May 07, 2010

      The cake is perfect. moist, soft , texture is just what you want, it just melts in the mouth. i did have to keep it for 45 mins, i think its just my oven, and i used 3/4 glass water at the end.. on the whol;e everyone licked their plates even my 2 year old son.. i tried the buttercream frosting with regular sugar since i didnt have confectioners sugar.. came grainy, so next time will be doing just as per the recipe.. great for a birthday cake too will be making the same for my son's 2nd.. Thank you for the recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2010

      This is like the Hershey's cake recipe I've been using for years, because I did use the regular unsweetened cocoa as I didn't have dark or dutch processed (can't wait to try that way) and DH doesn't like dark chocolate and it was for his bday. Turned out yum as usual; I halved the recipe and made it in a glass 8x8 dish for 35 min. and subbed almond extract for the vanilla (as I usually do) and added just a splash of vanilla extract. It turned out just as good as when I make it in a 13x9. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2010

      wonderful cake! Easy and delicious! I wouldn't reccomend using this recipe for cupcakes they are really flat on top instead of round and pretty, but in a sheet cake it turns out wonderful! I used a whole cup of water and it stayed very moist! thanks for posting

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2010

      I have used this recipe twice, with wonderful results! The cake is so moist and fluffy, not to mention delicious. I have cupcakes in the oven right now... I thought I'd steal your dad's idea and freeze them. ;) Thanks so much for posting this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2010

      This took NO time at all! I read through sooo many of the reviews and got really excited to make this cake and it still went above and beyond my expectations! I used 1 1/2 cups of sugar and 3/4 cup boiling water.. also added a tiny bit of instant coffee for a little oomph. The cake is actually still cooling down right now, but I used a bit of the batter to make mini chocolate cupcakes and those are DELICIOUS! Only took 10 minutes for those to bake, then I topped those with some frosting (89207) and chocolate sprinkles and oh man, I am so excited to share both the cake and cupcakes with everyone. Baked the cake in a rectangular pan (mine was a touch smaller than 13x9 so it only took like 32 minutes to be perfect) The cake hasn't sunk at all! Rose beautifully and it's still ginormous! Can not wait to ice it and dive in. I'll have to try a round layered cake next time too! Thank you so much!!! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2010

      Great Cake!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2010

      Excellent! Followed this recipe exactly, using Dutch Process chocolate. Easy recipe, which is a plus. Topped this off with Italian Buttercream and an Oreo filling. Huge hit!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2010

      Soo good! I used this recipe in place of the cake mix for Better Than Sex Cake IIi Better Than Sex Cake IIi and it was a huge hit. I will definitely use this recipe again. Really, I don't find it tougher than a cake mix, and it's so ridiculously much better.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2010

      By far the best chocolate cake I have ever had. Made this for my sons 2nd birthday and it was a hit there was none left and I'm making it again for my father's 50th birthday. Thank you so much for this fantastic recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2010

      Fabulous!! Made this with a raspberry sauce filling and standard buttercream. I cut the sugar to 1.5 cups and it was plenty sweet.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2010

      I made this for my boyfriend's birthday and it was scrumptious!!! I can't have dairy so I used soymilk and I went the 2/3 C. water route. It's a super moist cake so be sure the grease and flour the pans well- I had so trouble getting it out in one piece. I frosted it with a marshmallow fluff and chocolate fudge- Heavenly!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2010

      This recipe is definitely a keeper. It's so easy to make because the ingredients are almost always on hand. Thanks for posting this great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2010

      Very good cake! Simple, not time consuming, and very versatile. I frosted it with a peanut butter buttercream frosting and it turned out fantastic! I think next time I'll add chocolate chips to it :-) Thanks a bunch!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2010

      This is a great recipe both dense and moist and easy. I tried to bake it in one 9 inch springform pan and I don't reccomend it. I had to leave it in the oven too long to cook it and that made the edges dry and they broke off. Nothing that I could not fix with icing but the 2 pans recommended is the way to go.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2010

    • on February 18, 2010

      My life is complete, now that I have this cake recipe. I don't know how I ever lived without it. 41 years, wasted, until now. Bless you! I layer this moist cake with Ho Ho Cake "ho ho" filling; then I use my favorite homemade chocolate frosting to cover the entire cake. This is heaven. Truly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2010

      How can a person love a food as passionately as I love this cake? It is positively sinful how delicious this turned out. Turned it into a football shaped cake for a Super Bowl party. Almost too moist to frost but I somehow managed. Thanks for another great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2010

      Made this as the cake for recipe 11799 and it turned out great. I got lot of requests for the recipe. Thanks, I'm sure I will make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2010

      This has been my go-to chocolate cake for a few years now, and I am just now rating it!! It is amazing, and my husband goes crazy every time I make it!! I just made it again yesterday for an early valentines treat, and it came out as good as ever! I use Kittencal's Chocolate Buttercream frosting and it goes so perfectly!! It is always the perfect amount for my two layer cake! Thanks for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2010

    1... 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 ... 26

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Dark Chocolate Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (55 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 20

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 189.0
     
    Calories from Fat 62
    32%
    Total Fat 6.9 g
    10%
    Saturated Fat 1.4 g
    7%
    Cholesterol 20.3 mg
    6%
    Sodium 252.3 mg
    10%
    Total Carbohydrate 30.9 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 1.3 g
    5%
    Sugars 20.1 g
    80%
    Protein 2.7 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites