522 Reviews

loved it

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Stephanie S. March 13, 2014

Made a double batch, thinking I'd need it to make the giant cupcake cake I planned for my daughter's birthday (which required 6 cups of batter). Well, no need to double - I ended up with the giant cupcake, a dozen regular sized cupcakes, two dozen mini cupcakes, and a 8x8 square cake. Doesn't bother me a bit - never enough chocolate cake! I made it with Ruddy Red Cocoa which is 24% fat as opposed to regular cocoa (12%). Fabulous. Very moist. TIP: Fill only 2/3 of the way in your baking pan, whatever shape you choose - it rises beautifully. I filled my large cupcakes too high and they overflowed the cups and sank in the middle. My fault. I added Raspberry Jam Buttercream for a fabulously decadent dessert! http://www.food.com/recipe/raspberry-jam-buttercream-426448

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CanadianEmily February 16, 2014

This is the BEST chocolate cake I have ever made!! It was moist and easy to make. I was a bit thrown off with adding the water to the recipe but it turned out GREAT!!! I baked it for Christmas and I have a household of chocolate lovers. Will be adding to my permanent recipe box.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Landa January 01, 2014

This is the best chocolate cake recipe ever. I made cupcakes and froze them. The came out of the freezer just as tasty and moist as the went in. (of course I tasted them first) No other chocolate cake recipe for me from now on.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brenda in Winnipeg December 16, 2013

This cake is sooooo good! I've made it several times now and it's always perfect.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef DMR December 08, 2013

Husband followed recipe to a tee, except we didn't have vegetable oil on hand. We used pureed pumpkin instead. Turned out deliciously moist, but with good firm structure. Thank you for a simple and tasty recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Redheaded Chef November 04, 2013

Okay- This was absolutely amazing! I made it for my sons birthday two weeks ago and now am making it for my daughter's birthday because she requested it. I was tempted to substitute coffee for the water- but it was SO good just as the recipe was written that I did not. I used the new Hershey's special dark cocoa- Truly the best chocolate cake recipe out there in my opinion! 5 stars + Thanks Marg!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
margieshea October 19, 2013

I found the flavor very good, but I made cupcakes with paper wrappers and they would not peel off. If I make this again I'm making sure to use a non-stick metal pan only.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Eatin'ToLive October 17, 2013

I have made this cake for years. The recipe is actually on the Hershey's can... Hershey's Deep Dark Chocolate Cake... Its always been my go to chocolate cake.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
valerie.radcliffe October 16, 2013

Just wanted to let everyone know, I have made this recipe many times and it's EXCELLENT and so so easy. I just made it and forgot the oil all together. FYI---- it was still absolutely tasty. I could tell it wasn't quite as moist, but for those who want to cut the fat a little......it was still good!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RN4IttyBits September 10, 2013
Dark Chocolate Cake