Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Dark Chocolate Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Dark Chocolate Cake

    Average Rating:

    506 Total Reviews

    Showing 101-120 of 506

    Sort by:

    • on September 11, 2011

      Excellent!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2011

      This has got to be the best chocolate cake I've ever had! It made great cupcakes. Very moist! And, it was so simple.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2011

      The best cake recipe ever! So easy to make & the cake is extremely moist. Next time I am thinking about trying this recipe as cupcakes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2011

      This is absolutely an excellent recipe. I will never, ever buy a box cake again. Easy and has a wonderful taste. I made cupcakes, everybody LOVED them. Thanks for sharing such a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2011

      I have been searching for a chocolate cake recipe for a while. Believe it or not, it's been difficult to find one!
      I found this recipe, read the reviews and decided to give it a try for my sister's birthday.
      I'm so happy I did!! This is the best chocolate cake I've ever had. I'm obsessed!!

      My only issue was with the bake time, it wasn't exactly 30 - 35 minutes, but that could be for various reasons.

      You really won't be disappointed with this recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2011

      I have to say that I'm in the minority too. My cake fell while baking and the batter was super runny. Then when taking it out of my pans it stuck horribly. So I tasted part of what was left in the pan and it just tastes like sugar. No chocolate flavor at all. This was my first attempt at a chocolate cake from scratch and I guess I'll be heading to the store to get a box mix because I don't have time to give another recipe a go. Bummer... I had high hopes given all the good reviews.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2011

      Awesome cake!! I have used this recipe over a dozen times now, to make cakes for family and friends%u2026I also use this recipe for cupcakes, because it is so moist and chocolatey. I use 3/4 C of water each time rather the the whole cup, have never had problems! Thanks loads for the recipe Marg, it is part of my permanent recipe book now :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2011

      Haven't tasted it yet, but both layers fell while cooking. Made recipe as directed. Not sure, maybe this has to do something with our altitude. I am mile high. Bummer. I am sure it will taste good though and I am sure I can find a way to hide these sad little guys.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2011

      Great recipe! Made a couple tiny changes; used weak coffee instead of the boiling water and baked this in 3 8 inch pans due to me not having 9 inch ones. I baked for 25 minutes and the cake was PERFECT! My son is in heaven over his triple decker birthday cake and has stated that this is The Cake Recipe for his birthday from now on. Thank you very much for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2011

      Stunning cake!! Incredibly moist and delicious - super easy!! I halved the recipe and made two 6-inch layers for my husband's birthday cake. I topped with a light coconut buttercream and toasted coconut. Thank you so much for posting!! Hands down, the best chocolate cake I've ever had!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2011

      I have made this recipe about 5 or 6 times now - all with perfect results! Thank you for this yummy cake recipe!

      Salt Lake City

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2011

      Yummmmmm! I used new Hersey's Special Dark Chocolate cocoa powder because I didn't have time to get any good cocoa powder (I plan on ordering some from King Arthur Flour to try in this recipe) and it was good! But I can imagine that the cocoa powder makes all the difference in this recipe!! So don't skimp!! Get the good stuff!
      I added a tablespoon or so of instant espresso to the water to give it a bit of depth- next time I might even add more. And I used Chocolate Buttercream Frosting from Mimi in Maine- which I also added some espresso to.
      This one is a keeper! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2011

      A very good & moist chocolate cake. Baked it yesterday & was so delighted with the end result. I just sifted the flour,rising agents & cocoa together before mixing together. Instead of vegetable oil,i used melted butter. Other than these 2 minor adjustments,i followed all the instructions to a T, even the 1 cup of boiling water. Baked batter in a pyrex pan for about 40-45 mins. No frosting needed at all. The cake was so "yummylicious" as it was.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2011

      Fantastic. I used regular cocoa, not the dark cocoa, but I'm sure it would be great either way. My sister in law asked for the recipe...it got rave reviews.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2011

      This was a moist and fluffy cake -- it didn't collapse after taking out of the oven as i feared it would. However it lacks the richness that i look for in chocolate cakes -- owing i think to the fewer eggs used and no butter. Also, i substituted espresso coffee for the water, which turned the cake a bit more bitter, losing much of the sweetness. A tip to those wishing to use coffee -- add more sugar to the mixture, or substitute only half the water. Instead of a chocolate frosting, I whipped up a creamy chocolate sauce and smothered a cake slice with the warm sauce -- a fantastic idea, it seemed, and added the richness that was lacking in the cake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2011

      A~MAZ~ING!!!! Wild reviews from many critical pallates. "Best Chocolate Cake I've ever had!", "Your best yet!", and "I'm stealing another piece for later on!" plus many more. Thank you for the wonderful recipe! I used chocolate icing to top it off, but the cake stole the show, for sure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2011

      FINALLY...after various recipes....I have been able to make the perfect chocolate cake...thanks to this recipe.. its simple and easy to prepare and soooooooo very moist......thank you Marg...this is something im going to use henceforth for all my cake recipes....just wondering now if i can manage an eggless cake like this!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2011

      Recipe was easy to follow. Used 3/4 cup boiling water. Used unbleached cake flower instead of all-purpose.

      Cake was moist and fluffy. However, it did not have much chocolate flavor. I would reccomend adding the cocoa powder to the boiling water to release more chocolate flavor, which is what I will try next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2011

      moist,yummy

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2011

      This is the best chocolate cake ever! Sometimes I add buttermilk and it still turns out great. I will use this recipe forever! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Dark Chocolate Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (55 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 20

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 189.0
     
    Calories from Fat 62
    32%
    Total Fat 6.9 g
    10%
    Saturated Fat 1.4 g
    7%
    Cholesterol 20.3 mg
    6%
    Sodium 252.3 mg
    10%
    Total Carbohydrate 30.9 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 1.3 g
    5%
    Sugars 20.1 g
    80%
    Protein 2.7 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites