Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Dark Chocolate Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Dark Chocolate Cake

    Average Rating:

    500 Total Reviews

    Showing 101-120 of 500

    Sort by:

    • on June 27, 2011

      Awesome cake!! I have used this recipe over a dozen times now, to make cakes for family and friends%u2026I also use this recipe for cupcakes, because it is so moist and chocolatey. I use 3/4 C of water each time rather the the whole cup, have never had problems! Thanks loads for the recipe Marg, it is part of my permanent recipe book now :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2011

      Haven't tasted it yet, but both layers fell while cooking. Made recipe as directed. Not sure, maybe this has to do something with our altitude. I am mile high. Bummer. I am sure it will taste good though and I am sure I can find a way to hide these sad little guys.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2011

      Great recipe! Made a couple tiny changes; used weak coffee instead of the boiling water and baked this in 3 8 inch pans due to me not having 9 inch ones. I baked for 25 minutes and the cake was PERFECT! My son is in heaven over his triple decker birthday cake and has stated that this is The Cake Recipe for his birthday from now on. Thank you very much for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2011

      Stunning cake!! Incredibly moist and delicious - super easy!! I halved the recipe and made two 6-inch layers for my husband's birthday cake. I topped with a light coconut buttercream and toasted coconut. Thank you so much for posting!! Hands down, the best chocolate cake I've ever had!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2011

      I have made this recipe about 5 or 6 times now - all with perfect results! Thank you for this yummy cake recipe!

      Salt Lake City

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2011

      Yummmmmm! I used new Hersey's Special Dark Chocolate cocoa powder because I didn't have time to get any good cocoa powder (I plan on ordering some from King Arthur Flour to try in this recipe) and it was good! But I can imagine that the cocoa powder makes all the difference in this recipe!! So don't skimp!! Get the good stuff!
      I added a tablespoon or so of instant espresso to the water to give it a bit of depth- next time I might even add more. And I used Chocolate Buttercream Frosting from Mimi in Maine- which I also added some espresso to.
      This one is a keeper! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2011

      A very good & moist chocolate cake. Baked it yesterday & was so delighted with the end result. I just sifted the flour,rising agents & cocoa together before mixing together. Instead of vegetable oil,i used melted butter. Other than these 2 minor adjustments,i followed all the instructions to a T, even the 1 cup of boiling water. Baked batter in a pyrex pan for about 40-45 mins. No frosting needed at all. The cake was so "yummylicious" as it was.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2011

      Fantastic. I used regular cocoa, not the dark cocoa, but I'm sure it would be great either way. My sister in law asked for the recipe...it got rave reviews.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2011

      This was a moist and fluffy cake -- it didn't collapse after taking out of the oven as i feared it would. However it lacks the richness that i look for in chocolate cakes -- owing i think to the fewer eggs used and no butter. Also, i substituted espresso coffee for the water, which turned the cake a bit more bitter, losing much of the sweetness. A tip to those wishing to use coffee -- add more sugar to the mixture, or substitute only half the water. Instead of a chocolate frosting, I whipped up a creamy chocolate sauce and smothered a cake slice with the warm sauce -- a fantastic idea, it seemed, and added the richness that was lacking in the cake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2011

      A~MAZ~ING!!!! Wild reviews from many critical pallates. "Best Chocolate Cake I've ever had!", "Your best yet!", and "I'm stealing another piece for later on!" plus many more. Thank you for the wonderful recipe! I used chocolate icing to top it off, but the cake stole the show, for sure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2011

      FINALLY...after various recipes....I have been able to make the perfect chocolate cake...thanks to this recipe.. its simple and easy to prepare and soooooooo very moist......thank you Marg...this is something im going to use henceforth for all my cake recipes....just wondering now if i can manage an eggless cake like this!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2011

      Recipe was easy to follow. Used 3/4 cup boiling water. Used unbleached cake flower instead of all-purpose.

      Cake was moist and fluffy. However, it did not have much chocolate flavor. I would reccomend adding the cocoa powder to the boiling water to release more chocolate flavor, which is what I will try next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2011

      moist,yummy

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2011

      This is the best chocolate cake ever! Sometimes I add buttermilk and it still turns out great. I will use this recipe forever! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2010

      This cake was amazing! Actually almost too good, I couldn't keep my hands off of it. I didn't have any of the dutch chocolate or whatever, I just used regular baking cocoa but it was still very good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2010

      This was a disappointment for several reasons. First of all, it was the first cake that did not come neatly out of my pan (yes, it had been generously greased, yes I let it cool first)... so, I used one layer (in the pan) for my daughter's birthday cake, and ended up turning the other into cake balls because it came out in a million pieces. Secondly, it tasted fine. But not as wonderful as I'd expect with the ratings it's gotten.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2010

      Excellent recipe. So moist!! If it seems the center is not cooked after 30 min, just let it some extra 10 min low heat. Followed the recipe and only subbed coffee for boiling water. Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2010

      Moist and flavorful. I made this for a friend and decided that I *do* like chocolate cake after all!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2010

      Awesome cake!! I made it for my in-laws (chocolate cake lovers!), and they said it was the best chocolate cake they've ever had. I followed the recipe exactly, including the one full cup of water, and it turned out perfectly. You will LOVE this cake!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2010

      This makes an extremely moist and chocolatey cake. It's very easy to make too. I made it as 2 x 9 inch rounds and sandwiched them together with some of my favourite buttercream icing. I found that it doesn't hold together very well like this so I think next time I will try making it as a Tray bake and there certainly will be a next time. Thanks very much for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Dark Chocolate Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (55 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 20

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 189.0
     
    Calories from Fat 62
    32%
    Total Fat 6.9 g
    10%
    Saturated Fat 1.4 g
    7%
    Cholesterol 20.3 mg
    6%
    Sodium 252.3 mg
    10%
    Total Carbohydrate 30.9 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 1.3 g
    5%
    Sugars 20.1 g
    80%
    Protein 2.7 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites