Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Dark Chocolate Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Dark Chocolate Cake

    Average Rating:

    505 Total Reviews

    Showing 81-100 of 505

    Sort by:

    • on April 02, 2012

      This cake turned out amazing.I added chocolate frosting to the top of the cake after it was done.I will definitely try this recipe again !:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2012

      NO FAIL and ALWAYS delicious! I use soy milk, cut the sugar a bit and use just over a half cup of boiling water. I have also made cupcakes and baked for about 20 minutes. They rose and were moist and didn't stick to the paper. My go-to cake recipe. I use Kittencal's Chocolate Icing to frost. I will never go back to boxed!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2012

      I actually shrunk the recipe for 5 people so that I wouldn't waste any cake if the recipe didn't turn out well..but it took me by surprise! It was one of the best chocolate cakes Ive made. Ive swapped flour for spelt flour.. and also used carotino oil instead of usual vegetable oil..used Low GI sugar instead of caster sugar. Turned out so well even without frosting. I was surprised by how thin the mixture was before you bake it.. but it was fine!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2012

      A very easy to follow recipe, popular with the family, has become my go-to chocolate cake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2012

      Fantastic! I thought I would be sweet and bake a chocolate cake for my husband for Valentine's Day. The first one I made was awful (not this recipe, but a different one). So there I was back in the kitchen for my next attempt and this receipe didn't let me down. My husband took one bite and said now this is a cake. It was so moist and I don't think I will ever make another chocolate cake again. Thanks for a tried and true recipe. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2012

      I baked this for my husband's 55th birthday. I made it exactly as stated adding almost the entire cup of water and baking it for 32 minutes. I hate to say this but it came out dry and my husband and I were both disapointed as it has so many good reviews. I would give it less stars but possibly it could be my oven as I already know that my oven doesn't bake up evenly. Although only a couple of weeks prior to baking this cake, I had made some cupcakes from a box as I was expecting company with children and those came out nice and moist and my husband actually liked the cupcakes better than the cake made from scratch. Maybe I should have taken the cake out a little sooner, I don't know. Sorry :(

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2012

      i just made this cake today and it is sooooo good! I quartered this (which would call for 1/2 an egg, but i used the whole) since i am dieting and dont want a whole cake sitting around that tastes this good! lol

      I served it plain with just a little powdered sugar. It did fall a little, but that just made for an almost gooey center that was so good!

      update: Its been over a year but i finally made this cake again (nothing against it i just rarely make cake). And it is delicious as it was last time, slightly less moist so it didnt fall (it did stick but i blame my self for not preping my pan correctly). Again i skipped frosting opting for powdered sugar, and an adorable heart and "Be Mine" stencil for Valentine's Day! (oh i cut it in half and used just under 1/2c of coffee instead of water)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2012

      Excellent recipe as the numerous ratings show. I added a pinch of ground red pepper and used 2/3 of a cup of hot coffee instead of water. I baked them in tiny silicone muffin cups topping them with a dollop of Decorator Buttercream Icing. They took only 15 minutes to bake and were a wonderful bite sized treat!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2012

      OMG, this was amazing! I made it exactly as written & it is delicious! Will be making this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2011

      This is my go-to recipe when there's a birthday or event coming up where a cake is needed. I always get SO many compliments on the cake!! Not only is it so easy to make, it just tastes delicious! Especially the way its so gooey in the middle. Thank you so much for this recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2011

      A good, moist chocolate cake. Not so sweet. Not stunning, but good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2011

      FANTASTIC! i can't keep this in the house, the moment it comes out of the oven i have swarms of people flocking to get some :) i can honestly say this is the best cake i have ever ever had!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2011

      I've been making this recipe for decades (I got it from the back of a Hershey's cocoa container), and every time I make a different chocolate cake recipe, I always wish I had made this one instead. The best tip is *not* to use the full amount of boiling water - it tastes EVEN BETTER with somewhat less water! I've tried it with coffee, less oil, double-sifted cake flour ... so many ways to vary it up and still have a fantastic chocolate cake!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2011

      Delicious cake recipe! And the note about the batter being runny is not a joke. I made it into cupcakes and baked them for 18 minutes. Paired it w/ Creamy Peanut Butter Frosting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2011

      I used 3/4 cup of water and it seemed just fine. My husband loved it! It's a Keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2011

      I love this cake. I mix it with coffe and use just over 2/3 cup of water.I hope it will be a hit at my Debate tournament.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2011

      This cake tastes better the next day. I used buttermilk for milk because that is all I had. The cake is moist and the crumb is tender.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2011

      Don't mess with perfection! When mine was done and it was perfect I decided to make a chocolate sauce; poked holes in both layers and drizzled the sauce over it before adding frosting to make it extra moist and chocolatey!!!! yummy!!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2011

      This cake is so easy and delicious! I frosted it with cream cheese frosting, I will definetely be making this again and again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2011

      Excellent!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Dark Chocolate Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (55 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 20

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 189.0
     
    Calories from Fat 62
    32%
    Total Fat 6.9 g
    10%
    Saturated Fat 1.4 g
    7%
    Cholesterol 20.3 mg
    6%
    Sodium 252.3 mg
    10%
    Total Carbohydrate 30.9 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 1.3 g
    5%
    Sugars 20.1 g
    80%
    Protein 2.7 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites