522 Reviews

I used whole wheat organic flower and the cake had an awful taste and the dough stuck to the pan. It also didn't rise much. I couldn't get the end product out of the pan, it just crumbled and broke apart. Maybe it was the flour I used. I will use plain white unbleached flour next time to see if I get different results.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
syuzy October 28, 2014

Was simply delicious.......best chocolate cake ever......loved it...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Savitha S. October 08, 2014

Maybe I'm missing something, but this cake was meh at best. It completely sunk in the middle; the flavor was nothing exciting, and the texture was just ok. I made sure to use high quality dutch cocoa and felt like it was a waste of ingredients. <br/>A box mix of brownies would have been the same for me.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
I make food July 14, 2014

Wonderful! Used the 3/4 boiling water as recommended and it was perfect. Hubby wanted chocolate cake for his birthday and I'm anti box mixes. Slathered this in Kittencal's dark chocolate butter cream frosting off this site. Rich dark chocolate perfection. Thanks for sharing. My husband thanks you as well!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Queen Roachie July 06, 2014

This cake is simple and delicious. Marg's tip about decreasing the boiling water was very helpful. The recipe is the same as the one on the back of the Hershey's cocoa tin, but I really rely on all of the reviews, comments, and tips from everyone!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
stacya100 July 04, 2014

Won't lie, i'm rating it because this is my shortcut to getting back to amazing recipes. WOW

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lantonio04 May 18, 2014

Worked perfectly by following the recipe exactly as is (one of the easiest recipes too). Made two 9-inch round pans and baked at 350F for 30 min. Used between 2/3 and 3/4 of boiling water as suggested. I haven't tasted it yet but it smells like rich, dark chocolate and it looks very light and moist, not crumbly. I am sure it will taste good!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Caissinha April 20, 2014

I would give you 10 stars if I could. The first time I made this cake I followed the recipe exactly and it was perfect. The second time I made it somehow I looked at the recipe wrong and added 1 and 3/4 cups boiling water. It REALLY looked thin (LOL). Since I had done everything but bake it, I went ahead and put it in the oven. Unbelievable but it was as good as the first. Oh, and did I mention I did it both times with gluten free flour blends. This cake is awesome!! Easy, delicious, and foolproof. My non gluten free friends love it as well.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
peg.nutt April 13, 2014

Cake turned out good!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
djsherm March 28, 2014
Dark Chocolate Cake