509 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This cake is sooooo good! I've made it several times now and it's always perfect.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef DMR December 08, 2013

Husband followed recipe to a tee, except we didn't have vegetable oil on hand. We used pureed pumpkin instead. Turned out deliciously moist, but with good firm structure. Thank you for a simple and tasty recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Redheaded Chef November 04, 2013

Okay- This was absolutely amazing! I made it for my sons birthday two weeks ago and now am making it for my daughter's birthday because she requested it. I was tempted to substitute coffee for the water- but it was SO good just as the recipe was written that I did not. I used the new Hershey's special dark cocoa- Truly the best chocolate cake recipe out there in my opinion! 5 stars + Thanks Marg!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
margieshea October 19, 2013

I found the flavor very good, but I made cupcakes with paper wrappers and they would not peel off. If I make this again I'm making sure to use a non-stick metal pan only.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Eatin'ToLive October 17, 2013

I have made this cake for years. The recipe is actually on the Hershey's can... Hershey's Deep Dark Chocolate Cake... Its always been my go to chocolate cake.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
valerie.radcliffe October 16, 2013

Just wanted to let everyone know, I have made this recipe many times and it's EXCELLENT and so so easy. I just made it and forgot the oil all together. FYI---- it was still absolutely tasty. I could tell it wasn't quite as moist, but for those who want to cut the fat a little......it was still good!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RN4IttyBits September 10, 2013

I forgot the hot water and it was still so moist!!! This cake is the best chocolate cake recipe ive come across!!!! Dark, moist and holds a cupcake well.<br/><br/> I usually fill cc 2/3rds but read somewhere that it would fall a bit, so i filled 3/4 not doing that again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Smartaleck September 07, 2013

This is a great chocolate cake - very light yet moist. Took this to work for a co-workers birthday frosted with peanut butter frosting - it was gone in no-time. My new go-to chocolate cake. Easily converted to gluten free using my favorite gluten free flour. I also added 2 T of ground flax seed and used buttermilk instead of milk as is my standard practice for converting recipes. Thanks for posting this Marg.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LARavenscroft July 31, 2013

Moist and delicious! The best chocolate cake ever!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kooky Jen July 30, 2013

My daughter used this recipe to make cupcakes for my son's graduation party. The texture and flavor were perfect. She frosted them with chocolate ganache. So good!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chris from Kansas July 11, 2013
Dark Chocolate Cake