Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Dark Chocolate Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Dark Chocolate Cake

    Average Rating:

    505 Total Reviews

    Showing 61-80 of 505

    Sort by:

    • on December 23, 2012

      Made it three times in three days and the family still wants more. Awesome recipe . Thanks for sharing !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2012

      Moist, delicious, and simple! I used the dark chocolate like the recipe recommends and the family is in love! I'm going to try next time with seven minute icing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2012

      OMG delicious!!!! I took some suggestions from other reviews. Normally I do it with butter but this time I decided to go for the veg oil. LOVE IT!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2012

      Completely upset with this recipe. I haven't even had a chance to taste it, but (despite using the recommended size!!!) my batter overflowed 10 minutes into the baking process.
      How in the world was this not corrected on the original recipe?

      Advice: forget the 2/3 full advice. If it is over halfway, it will go over!
      Delicious burnt cake smell for days. Enjoy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2012

    • on August 17, 2012

      Tried this for my chocolate loving husband's birthday. BIG HIT. Easy to make. Will definitely make it again. The hints and notes from others helped. I did add instant coffee to the water for an added boost.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2012

      Decent, bare bones chocolate sponge. Tastier than a mix and quicker than a more sophisticated recipe. I suspect children, people who grew up with fond memories of sponge from a box or view cake as simply a frosting delivery device will like this. I used boiling hot espresso and added a bit of creme de cacao to deepen the chocolate flavor. I won't make this for anyone I'm trying to impress, but for kids and the easily pleased, this is speedy and virtually foolproof.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2012

      This cake was theee best! It's moist and rich!! It's exactly what a chocolate cake should be- I used buttermilk (vinegar and milk) instead of milk and hot coffee instead of hot water. .... I will use this recipe over and over. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2012

      In a word, "Delicious!!!" This cake is more rich and chocolatey than anything I've had out of a box. Definitely worth the extra effort to gather up and measure out all the necessary ingredients.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2012

      I made several cakes from this recipe and froze them. One was eaten a week after freezing and the other was eaten 2 months after freezing. Both were simply delicious!!! Thank you for this recipe. It is a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2012

      I wasn't sure about this cake after it baked up. I followed the recipe exactly but had to undercook by nearly 10 minutes when it was ready, and it just seemed... different. It was incredibly difficult to get out the pan as well and seemed very crumby. I had to freeze it solid to get it frostable so it would fall apart in crumbles when I frosted it. I was quite nervous because I made it for a large group for a good friend's birthday party, but figured they would at least appreciate the attempt. Anyway, I frosted it with Kittencal's Chocolate Frosting recipe and everyone ate in silence because it was THAT good. Incredibly moist and chocolately without being too sweet (though I did eliminate just a bit of sugar). I cannot emphasize how delicious this cake was with the buttercream frosting. WOW. Everyone asked for the recipe and I was recruited to make the identical cake for another friend's cake a few weeks from now. There was not a single piece left. YUMMY!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2012

      I have been searching for a recipe like this. This cake was great and everyone loved it. I can't wait to make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2012

      We had a big family party and I chose this recipe as one of the many desserts we served. This cake blew them away! Everyone loved it. I'll be keeping this one to make again and again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2012

      Awesome Chocolate Cake recipe, was a huge success and hit. In place of the Boiling Water, I used a 1/2 Cup of Mocha Nut Espresso, it is a nice compliment to the chocolate in this recipe and adds to the depth of flavor. Super easy, and will be my "go to" for chocolate cake". Thank You Marg

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2012

      made this last night..very moist and chocolately!! the last 3-4 min of baking, i threw on top a handfull of choc chips and chopped walnuts

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2012

      I've never baked a cake before and I did not have any vanilla but it was still excellent! I shared the cake with my friends and they loved it! I am so inspired I will bake some more. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2012

      Yum, so tasty! I used Gluten Free flour blend (2:1 rice flour to tapioca starch xanthan gum) and it still turned out good. The cakes did fall in the middle a bit, so next time I would probably use just a smidge less water.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2012

      I don't know how I managed to forget rating this recipe (Like you need another 5 star rating ;)) I made this recipe into cupcakes for my dear friend's baby shower. This is easily the moistest (is that even a word) most delicious chocolate cake I've ever had in my LIFE! And I've eatten a lot of chocolate cake. It really doesn't take that much longer than a box mix and for the difference in taste and texture it's so worth it! I'll be making this for a cooking contest tomorrow in a 13x9 and I just know it will give me good scores! ;)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2012

      indeed a very splendid chocolate cake ! Yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2012

      Wow! This cake is phenomenal. I used instant espresso in place of the water, and baked it in 2 9" rounds for my mother in law's birthday cake.
      We used the mocha butter cream frosting recipe from the Joy of Cooking, and it was the perfect compliment. The outside we decorated with slivered almonds and chocolate covered espresso beans.
      Everyone at the party RAVED about the cake. I will definitely be making this one again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Dark Chocolate Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (55 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 20

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 189.0
     
    Calories from Fat 62
    32%
    Total Fat 6.9 g
    10%
    Saturated Fat 1.4 g
    7%
    Cholesterol 20.3 mg
    6%
    Sodium 252.3 mg
    10%
    Total Carbohydrate 30.9 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 1.3 g
    5%
    Sugars 20.1 g
    80%
    Protein 2.7 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites