510 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Wonderful! Used the 3/4 boiling water as recommended and it was perfect. Hubby wanted chocolate cake for his birthday and I'm anti box mixes. Slathered this in Kittencal's dark chocolate butter cream frosting off this site. Rich dark chocolate perfection. Thanks for sharing. My husband thanks you as well!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Queen Roachie July 06, 2014

This cake is simple and delicious. Marg's tip about decreasing the boiling water was very helpful. The recipe is the same as the one on the back of the Hershey's cocoa tin, but I really rely on all of the reviews, comments, and tips from everyone!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
stacya100 July 04, 2014

Won't lie, i'm rating it because this is my shortcut to getting back to amazing recipes. WOW

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lantonio04 May 18, 2014

Worked perfectly by following the recipe exactly as is (one of the easiest recipes too). Made two 9-inch round pans and baked at 350F for 30 min. Used between 2/3 and 3/4 of boiling water as suggested. I haven't tasted it yet but it smells like rich, dark chocolate and it looks very light and moist, not crumbly. I am sure it will taste good!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Caissinha April 20, 2014

I would give you 10 stars if I could. The first time I made this cake I followed the recipe exactly and it was perfect. The second time I made it somehow I looked at the recipe wrong and added 1 and 3/4 cups boiling water. It REALLY looked thin (LOL). Since I had done everything but bake it, I went ahead and put it in the oven. Unbelievable but it was as good as the first. Oh, and did I mention I did it both times with gluten free flour blends. This cake is awesome!! Easy, delicious, and foolproof. My non gluten free friends love it as well.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
peg.nutt April 13, 2014

Cake turned out good!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
djsherm March 28, 2014

loved it

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Stephanie S. March 13, 2014

Made a double batch, thinking I'd need it to make the giant cupcake cake I planned for my daughter's birthday (which required 6 cups of batter). Well, no need to double - I ended up with the giant cupcake, a dozen regular sized cupcakes, two dozen mini cupcakes, and a 8x8 square cake. Doesn't bother me a bit - never enough chocolate cake! I made it with Ruddy Red Cocoa which is 24% fat as opposed to regular cocoa (12%). Fabulous. Very moist. TIP: Fill only 2/3 of the way in your baking pan, whatever shape you choose - it rises beautifully. I filled my large cupcakes too high and they overflowed the cups and sank in the middle. My fault. I added Raspberry Jam Buttercream for a fabulously decadent dessert! http://www.food.com/recipe/raspberry-jam-buttercream-426448

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CanadianEmily February 16, 2014

This is the BEST chocolate cake I have ever made!! It was moist and easy to make. I was a bit thrown off with adding the water to the recipe but it turned out GREAT!!! I baked it for Christmas and I have a household of chocolate lovers. Will be adding to my permanent recipe box.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Landa January 01, 2014
Dark Chocolate Cake