522 Reviews

WOW! I used regular (not dark) baking cocoa powder and 2/3 cups boiling water but otherwise followed the recipe exactly to make 36 cupcakes. For cake batter from scratch, this was so easy! For me, they took a bit longer to bake (about 20 minutes at 350F) than some reviews said, although it might be my oven. Some sunk a little in the middle but that just meant I had to add extra frosting ;) Everyone is gobbling these up and raving about how good they are!!! Great texture, very moist. I will surely be making this recipe again soon!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Erin KG July 26, 2010

Wow, what an awesome cake. I'm not a huge fan of chocolate cake but thought I'd make this for our family easter lunch yesterday. Definately the best chocolate cake I've ever had and everyone else raved about it too. I greased, sugared and floured my tin which gave a lovely sugar crust to the cake which was great as I didn't ice the cake just served it with whipped cream. Thanks for such a great recipe Marg.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Phil the kiwi April 05, 2010

I made a three layer cake with this recipe for Thanksgiving with Kittencal's chocolate icing recipe and fresh raspberry sauce. It was a huge hit! The cake it amazingly moist! I snuck in just a peck of ground red pepper to give it a tiny punch. Only a few people picked up on it, but those that did loved the extra something. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Edna's Kitchen March 30, 2010

Very good moist chocolate cake! I used 2/3 cups hot water and made cup cakes with the batter and had no trouble with the centre falling.This was very good with a Vanilla Icing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Phoenix 0880 March 30, 2010

Yum!!! I've made the cake 4 times now. Though I've had a few problems with the center falling, I've found that using 2/3 cup boiling water worked best for me. This time I made it with cake flour to see if it helped with the center (1 & 3/4 cup + 2 1/2 tbls.) It worked. Love the recipe! I pair this with Satin Chocolate frosting #12176. Beautiful & Scrumptious!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TwinMom73 March 04, 2010

You want chocolate? This cake delivers deep luscious chocolate in every bite. My son asked for a deep dark chocolate cake with rich dark chocolate icing for his 18th birthday. This fit the bill. I was one happy mama because this recipe made the birthday boy very happy. :) The icing I used was the one suggested. Mmmm, these two recipes go so well together. There is one little change I will make next time. I plan on replacing the boiling water called for with piping hot coffee. One other little thing...I'll be sure to use wax paper rounds in the bottom of my pans. It makes it much easier to get the cake out of the pan. To do this, just trace the bottom of your pan onto wax paper and trim away the excess.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TipMuf October 23, 2009

very rich, was a big hit with the family

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tambellina1 April 09, 2016

A lovely rich, moist chocolate cake. I was surprised how easy this was to make and it was certainly decadent! I made 2 9 inch layers and then topped it with chocolate buttercream. This might be my new favourite chocolate cake recipe as it is perfectly soft and delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
anniesnomsblog February 15, 2016

Totally yummy and moist. Used coffee in place of water for that richness. I am very fussy about cakes. Once I actually made three cakes in one day for a birthday. This recipe is a definite winner. Thank you for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bezbrizan February 15, 2016

Obviously this doesn't need another great review, but what the heck... Made this for my daughters birthday and everyone loved it! I made two batches, one with water and one with coffee, they were both awesome, but will use coffee from now on. Definitely putting this one in the recipe box!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Misty C. November 15, 2015
Dark Chocolate Cake