Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Dark Chocolate Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Dark Chocolate Cake

    Average Rating:

    505 Total Reviews

    Showing 41-60 of 505

    Sort by:

    • on October 16, 2013

      I have made this cake for years. The recipe is actually on the Hershey's can... Hershey's Deep Dark Chocolate Cake... Its always been my go to chocolate cake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2013

      Just wanted to let everyone know, I have made this recipe many times and it's EXCELLENT and so so easy. I just made it and forgot the oil all together. FYI---- it was still absolutely tasty. I could tell it wasn't quite as moist, but for those who want to cut the fat a little......it was still good!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2013

      I forgot the hot water and it was still so moist!!! This cake is the best chocolate cake recipe ive come across!!!! Dark, moist and holds a cupcake well.<br/><br/> I usually fill cc 2/3rds but read somewhere that it would fall a bit, so i filled 3/4 not doing that again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2013

      This is a great chocolate cake - very light yet moist. Took this to work for a co-workers birthday frosted with peanut butter frosting - it was gone in no-time. My new go-to chocolate cake. Easily converted to gluten free using my favorite gluten free flour. I also added 2 T of ground flax seed and used buttermilk instead of milk as is my standard practice for converting recipes. Thanks for posting this Marg.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2013

      Moist and delicious! The best chocolate cake ever!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2013

      My daughter used this recipe to make cupcakes for my son's graduation party. The texture and flavor were perfect. She frosted them with chocolate ganache. So good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2013

      This cake so moist, semi sweet, tender and chocolate best... My hubby who doesn't really like chocolate, become one of this cake fan, either my 20months daughter.. thank you

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2013

      Fabulous cake!Made it for my hubby's birthday and he loved it. I got complimented on how well it tasted and I can say that this is the chocolate cake I will be making from now on. I did add coffee to it instead of just boiling water as some reviewers mentioned this gave it an extra kick. I believe it worked.Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2013

      This is the recipe on the back of the Hersheys Special Dark Cocoa container. It turns out fantastic. Keeps great covered on your counter for days (retains moistness) so you can eat it at every meal. Trust me, you'll want to! The cocoa container also has a frosting recipe that turns out great. I like to make the cake with dark cocoa and the frosting with regular cocoa. Even my fiance who never craves cake, much less chocolate, will keep on eating this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2013

      I had a recipe much like this in my "wheat days". I altered it only with my gluten free flour and followed the recipe as written. A great gluten free cake. Came out perfect. The hard part was waiting for it to cool so I could frost it and then eat a slice. Great chocolate flavor. And certainly no harder than a box mix to make and soooooo much better taste and texture.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2013

      My new favorite chocolate cake!!! This was a hit for the party where the birthday boy requested chocolate cake. Very moist. I used Penzey's Dutch processed cocoa and it was so yummy. As a strict believer that you follow every recipe as written the first time you make it, I admit, I cheated. When I had my cup of boiling water ready to pour into my batter, I grabbed the bottle of instant coffee and stirred a tablespoon or so into it. YUM! I will always make this cake w/ coffee instead of water now. To die for. Now, to find the perfect frosting....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2013

      The moistest cake we have ever had. Sinking was not a problem, but frosting such a gentle cake was. Anyhow, I've never been foot at it and the taste was all that mattered to me and everyone else eating. Followed the recipe to the letter, using boiling water at a level halfway between 2/3 and 1 cup. (5/6? Lol). Will try espresso substitution next time. And adding cream of tartar, too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2013

      The perfect classic chocolate cake! It is so tasty, moist and not overly sweet. I made it for my dad's birthday party and all the guests loved it. Perhaps this is the best of this type of cake that I've ever tried.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2013

      love this cake!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2013

      My family made this cake with Kittencal's chocolate frosting for me as a Valentine's day gift and it was AMAZING! It rivals a very popular local restaurant's chocolate cake and I highly recommend that you try this recipe. My family used a 13 x 9 pan and there was a very slight fall in the middle of the cake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2013

      This was my first homemade chocolate cake! It came out perfect although I used 1 cup of sugar instead of 2!....GREAT RECIPE!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2013

      Cake was delicious and moist. I substituted coffee for the cup of water and it was great. Family members loved cake. I've made it twice and it is gone within an hour. I must admit the batter was thin just as you said but it made. I was afraid it wouldn't bake but boy when it was all said and done it was fantastic. This is my go to cake now. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2013

      Whoa! I used this recipe for my first attempt at making chocolate cake from scratch, and, I kid you not, my results were as good or better than a professional bakery's?!?!?! My husband and I have gotten chocolate cake and cupcakes many times from lots of bakeries over the years, so to have something come out of my oven that I whipped up on a whim one afternoon is incredible.

      As suggested by other reviewers, I used only 2/3 cup boiling water and mixed in 1 tsp of espresso powder for the coffee flavor. The batter was thinner than I'm used to seeing with boxed cake mixes but it baked up fantastic!

      I made cupcakes and my total baking time was about 25 minutes -- however, I did overfill the liners so the 20 minute estimates from other reviewers might be closer to the mark when I next make these.

      They tasted kind of bland when they first came out of the oven, even with icing smeared on it (I couldn't wait.) However, once they cooled for 2 hours or so and I piped straight all-butter buttercream they tasted better. Then once they had a chance to sit overnight in a container and the icing crusted up just a bit? OMG, PERFECTION. Richly chocolatey but not overwhelming, not too sweet so biting into it with icing doesn't make you feel instantly toothachey, and the density and crumb are just right.

      Seriously just blown away how this recipe is professional, bakery quality. And not much harder than a box of cake mix, just requires a few more measuring cups and spoons. Total keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2013

      I did add an extra 1/4 cup of cocoa but other than that I followed the directions. The end result was a luscious & chocolaty cake that paired perfectly with http://www.spectrumorganics.com/shared/recipe.php?rid=108 .

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2012

      This was my first ever cake. It's delicioussssss. I think the best cake i've ever had with the right amount of moisture. I'm Miss Chef at home now :D

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Dark Chocolate Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (55 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 20

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 189.0
     
    Calories from Fat 62
    32%
    Total Fat 6.9 g
    10%
    Saturated Fat 1.4 g
    7%
    Cholesterol 20.3 mg
    6%
    Sodium 252.3 mg
    10%
    Total Carbohydrate 30.9 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 1.3 g
    5%
    Sugars 20.1 g
    80%
    Protein 2.7 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites