522 Reviews

This is an amazing cake! It's just about the best chocolate cake I've ever had! Very easy to make and it's just so delicious! I highly recommend anyone thinking of making it. It's so moist! I chose to make a filling for this and it turned out absolutely wonderful!!Thanks, Marg, for a wonderful cake, my new favorite! This is definately a keeper!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FLUFFSTER July 17, 2010

Could it be anything else but 5 *****?? Extremely easy to make and good texture. I sliced into 3 layers and filled with chocolate mousse and fresh cream and it was absolutely delicious! Have a feeling I will be making this often. Thanks Marg - a winner!! Edited Feb '10 to say I have made this 4 times now and the recipe is actually foolproof. Most recently made for my sons birthday - split and filled with sweetened cream and covered in kiwi and raspberries. See photo. Thanks again

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
scimietta99 February 21, 2010

very nice, easy to make and tasty, very moist. It had a bit of an oil taste to it which was the only thing I didn't really love, so next time I will try it with melted butter instead.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
zainab23 December 28, 2012

I have been searching for a recipe like this. This cake was great and everyone loved it. I can't wait to make it again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs Harvin May 24, 2012

Perfect. I followed the recipe exactly (including the note about the boiling water), and it turned out wonderfully. Everyone complimented it. My husband, who is more partial to lemon cakes, said it was the best cake he's ever had. I've already decided that this will be my go-to chocolate cake recipe from now on. Thank you for the wonderful recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Birkkae November 17, 2011

Very easy but delicious cake. I made half a recipe using a 9X9 inch pan. Turned out great but may have over baked it a bit. Baked for 35 min. I did use the choc. buttercream for the frosting which was also great. Made for a very rich birthday cake. Want to try it with coffee next time.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
adopt a greyhound October 17, 2011

Omygoodness!!! This is ABSOLUTELY Delicious!
I am so bad at making cakes, I've tried so many on this website and thought, why not make another one and see how bad it comes out, but NO! this recipie is so easy, so simple and Mygosh the cake is so MOIST and delicious, I am already planning on making another one, the one I baked yesterday is already finished.]

Thank you so much for sharing such a great recipie, highly appreciated!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
xMaymoonahx June 05, 2011

We've just finished celebrating my wee man's 3rd birthday and once again this cake was amazing. I've used this recipe often since first discovering it's magnificence :) It's always, always a hit. I usually make up 3x this recipe and split it between 2 10" round cake tins and use the remainder mixture for cupcakes for ourselves (there's NEVER any leftovers on the day!!!). I generally have to cook the cakes for about an hour, always keeping them in the oven until a skewer comes out clean. I use 2x the med-dark Chocolate Buttercream Frosting chocolate buttercream frosting to fill and ice the cake then decorate from there. It's absolutely devine. So rich and moist and so quick and easy to prepare!
Love it!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bondnz January 04, 2011

Incredibly moist and not too sweet... best chocolate cake I've ever had!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
paperklutz November 23, 2010

This cake had so many good reviews, I'm wondering where mine went wrong. It looked good coming out of the oven, but deflated quite a bit upon cooling. The top was very crumbly--hard to spread frosting on, and the taste just average. I'm not trying to plug one of my own recipes, but Moist Chocolate Cake (#2766846) is hands down more delicate, tastier, attractive, and most important--pretty much fool-proof. The recipes are similar--after trying both, I'll stick with my own.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ladyfingers October 13, 2010
Dark Chocolate Cake