Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Dark Chocolate Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Dark Chocolate Cake

    Average Rating:

    508 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 508

    Sort by:

    • on April 05, 2010

      Wow, what an awesome cake. I'm not a huge fan of chocolate cake but thought I'd make this for our family easter lunch yesterday. Definately the best chocolate cake I've ever had and everyone else raved about it too. I greased, sugared and floured my tin which gave a lovely sugar crust to the cake which was great as I didn't ice the cake just served it with whipped cream. Thanks for such a great recipe Marg.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2010

      I made a three layer cake with this recipe for Thanksgiving with Kittencal's chocolate icing recipe and fresh raspberry sauce. It was a huge hit! The cake it amazingly moist! I snuck in just a peck of ground red pepper to give it a tiny punch. Only a few people picked up on it, but those that did loved the extra something. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2010

      Very good moist chocolate cake! I used 2/3 cups hot water and made cup cakes with the batter and had no trouble with the centre falling.This was very good with a Vanilla Icing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2010

      Yum!!! I've made the cake 4 times now. Though I've had a few problems with the center falling, I've found that using 2/3 cup boiling water worked best for me. This time I made it with cake flour to see if it helped with the center (1 & 3/4 cup + 2 1/2 tbls.) It worked. Love the recipe! I pair this with Satin Chocolate frosting #12176. Beautiful & Scrumptious!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2009

      You want chocolate? This cake delivers deep luscious chocolate in every bite. My son asked for a deep dark chocolate cake with rich dark chocolate icing for his 18th birthday. This fit the bill. I was one happy mama because this recipe made the birthday boy very happy. :) The icing I used was the one suggested. Mmmm, these two recipes go so well together. There is one little change I will make next time. I plan on replacing the boiling water called for with piping hot coffee. One other little thing...I'll be sure to use wax paper rounds in the bottom of my pans. It makes it much easier to get the cake out of the pan. To do this, just trace the bottom of your pan onto wax paper and trim away the excess.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2014

      I used whole wheat organic flower and the cake had an awful taste and the dough stuck to the pan. It also didn't rise much. I couldn't get the end product out of the pan, it just crumbled and broke apart. Maybe it was the flour I used. I will use plain white unbleached flour next time to see if I get different results.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2014

      Was simply delicious.......best chocolate cake ever......loved it...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2014

      Maybe I'm missing something, but this cake was meh at best. It completely sunk in the middle; the flavor was nothing exciting, and the texture was just ok. I made sure to use high quality dutch cocoa and felt like it was a waste of ingredients. <br/>A box mix of brownies would have been the same for me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2014

      Wonderful! Used the 3/4 boiling water as recommended and it was perfect. Hubby wanted chocolate cake for his birthday and I'm anti box mixes. Slathered this in Kittencal's dark chocolate butter cream frosting off this site. Rich dark chocolate perfection. Thanks for sharing. My husband thanks you as well!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2014

      This cake is simple and delicious. Marg's tip about decreasing the boiling water was very helpful. The recipe is the same as the one on the back of the Hershey's cocoa tin, but I really rely on all of the reviews, comments, and tips from everyone!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2014

    • on May 18, 2014

      Won't lie, i'm rating it because this is my shortcut to getting back to amazing recipes. WOW

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2014

      Worked perfectly by following the recipe exactly as is (one of the easiest recipes too). Made two 9-inch round pans and baked at 350F for 30 min. Used between 2/3 and 3/4 of boiling water as suggested. I haven't tasted it yet but it smells like rich, dark chocolate and it looks very light and moist, not crumbly. I am sure it will taste good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2014

      I would give you 10 stars if I could. The first time I made this cake I followed the recipe exactly and it was perfect. The second time I made it somehow I looked at the recipe wrong and added 1 and 3/4 cups boiling water. It REALLY looked thin (LOL). Since I had done everything but bake it, I went ahead and put it in the oven. Unbelievable but it was as good as the first. Oh, and did I mention I did it both times with gluten free flour blends. This cake is awesome!! Easy, delicious, and foolproof. My non gluten free friends love it as well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2014

      Cake turned out good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2014

      loved it

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2014

      Made a double batch, thinking I'd need it to make the giant cupcake cake I planned for my daughter's birthday (which required 6 cups of batter). Well, no need to double - I ended up with the giant cupcake, a dozen regular sized cupcakes, two dozen mini cupcakes, and a 8x8 square cake. Doesn't bother me a bit - never enough chocolate cake! I made it with Ruddy Red Cocoa which is 24% fat as opposed to regular cocoa (12%). Fabulous. Very moist. TIP: Fill only 2/3 of the way in your baking pan, whatever shape you choose - it rises beautifully. I filled my large cupcakes too high and they overflowed the cups and sank in the middle. My fault. I added Raspberry Jam Buttercream for a fabulously decadent dessert! http://www.food.com/recipe/raspberry-jam-buttercream-426448

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2014

      This is the BEST chocolate cake I have ever made!! It was moist and easy to make. I was a bit thrown off with adding the water to the recipe but it turned out GREAT!!! I baked it for Christmas and I have a household of chocolate lovers. Will be adding to my permanent recipe box.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2013

      This is the best chocolate cake recipe ever. I made cupcakes and froze them. The came out of the freezer just as tasty and moist as the went in. (of course I tasted them first) No other chocolate cake recipe for me from now on.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2013

      This cake is sooooo good! I've made it several times now and it's always perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Dark Chocolate Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (55 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 20

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 189.0
     
    Calories from Fat 62
    32%
    Total Fat 6.9 g
    10%
    Saturated Fat 1.4 g
    7%
    Cholesterol 20.3 mg
    6%
    Sodium 252.3 mg
    10%
    Total Carbohydrate 30.9 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 1.3 g
    5%
    Sugars 20.1 g
    80%
    Protein 2.7 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites