511 Reviews

Hi this looks so amazing...but I wanted to know..as you have varied between 2/3 and 1 cup for the hot water can you give me a little more help...as in what consistency should I be looking for before adding less or more water. Thanks can't wait to try it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mrs_viq July 18, 2015

This is an excellent quick and easy chocolate cake. I toned down the sugar slightly to balance out the creamy sweet cream cheese frosting. The cake came out perfect the first time. Thanks for sharing your recipe. Now village and city folk from Yunnan, China are enjoying your cake as well.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
acu_j June 19, 2015

My first review mentioned I used the frosting recipe too, lol. There is no frosting recipe here. Now I don't remember where I got the frosting recipe from! Either way, this cake was AMAZING!!!!!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
htaylor81 February 05, 2015

I used whole wheat organic flower and the cake had an awful taste and the dough stuck to the pan. It also didn't rise much. I couldn't get the end product out of the pan, it just crumbled and broke apart. Maybe it was the flour I used. I will use plain white unbleached flour next time to see if I get different results.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
syuzy October 28, 2014

Was simply delicious.......best chocolate cake ever......loved it...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Savitha S. October 08, 2014

Maybe I'm missing something, but this cake was meh at best. It completely sunk in the middle; the flavor was nothing exciting, and the texture was just ok. I made sure to use high quality dutch cocoa and felt like it was a waste of ingredients. <br/>A box mix of brownies would have been the same for me.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
I make food July 14, 2014

Wonderful! Used the 3/4 boiling water as recommended and it was perfect. Hubby wanted chocolate cake for his birthday and I'm anti box mixes. Slathered this in Kittencal's dark chocolate butter cream frosting off this site. Rich dark chocolate perfection. Thanks for sharing. My husband thanks you as well!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Queen Roachie July 06, 2014

This cake is simple and delicious. Marg's tip about decreasing the boiling water was very helpful. The recipe is the same as the one on the back of the Hershey's cocoa tin, but I really rely on all of the reviews, comments, and tips from everyone!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
stacya100 July 04, 2014

Won't lie, i'm rating it because this is my shortcut to getting back to amazing recipes. WOW

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lantonio04 May 18, 2014
Dark Chocolate Cake