522 Reviews

very rich, was a big hit with the family

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tambellina1 April 09, 2016

A lovely rich, moist chocolate cake. I was surprised how easy this was to make and it was certainly decadent! I made 2 9 inch layers and then topped it with chocolate buttercream. This might be my new favourite chocolate cake recipe as it is perfectly soft and delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
anniesnomsblog February 15, 2016

Totally yummy and moist. Used coffee in place of water for that richness. I am very fussy about cakes. Once I actually made three cakes in one day for a birthday. This recipe is a definite winner. Thank you for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bezbrizan February 15, 2016

Obviously this doesn't need another great review, but what the heck... Made this for my daughters birthday and everyone loved it! I made two batches, one with water and one with coffee, they were both awesome, but will use coffee from now on. Definitely putting this one in the recipe box!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Misty C. November 15, 2015

I can't wait to make this delicious chocolate cake! check my favorite recipes for healthy desserts here : http://trk.as/TOP10

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Couisine M. November 11, 2015

My cakes fell in the center too but it's not my first rodeo so it was not an issue, just level with more frosting Yumm. Taste wise I could sit and eat this cake "as is" because it's flavor is the best chocolate cake I have ever tasted. I took the advice of another reviewer and used coffee instead of H2O. This is my new go to recipe!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
holland1104 November 05, 2015

Amazing, delicious, and super moist! Wonderful cake. My family loved it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jenny S. November 02, 2015

With the slightest of variations, turned ot into a great gluten-free cake just by substituting an equal volume of g-f all-purpose flour and a mere ½ tsp of xanthan gum. I thought I got a hint of bean-flour when trying a tiny bit on a finger, so added an extra teaspoon of vanilla extract. My family loved it; they went through the entire 9x13 cake in one day. Since my son 'hates' cake generally, and I'm the only one who must eat gluten free, this is quite the accomplishment. It's my first (and only, so far) g-f cake that was as good as those I used to make with regular (wheat) flour.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
michmilk_11130536 September 06, 2015

My son wanted chocolate cake for his fifth birthday and this is the one I chose to make. It was easy to make into cupcakes and tasted great. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
drinkmore September 06, 2015

Just tried this recipe with not much hope as past ones have been pale in colour and taste, but this one OMG Fantastic just perfect in colour and taste, I used green and blacks cocoa powder as that was the closest I could find, a big thank you for sharing this recipe I love it ?

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
caroline1465 August 09, 2015
Dark Chocolate Cake