Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Dark Chocolate Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Dark Chocolate Cake

    Average Rating:

    508 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 508

    Sort by:

    • on December 22, 2010

      I was lucky enough to have the opportunity to make a friend's wedding cake. We tried several chocolate cake recipes, including this one. We had two finalists: this recipe and another, more complex cake. We actually took the cakes to a restaurant and had others help with the decision. Hands down, this cake was the winner!! Guests at the wedding also loved it and kept complimenting me. I made this cake again for a friend's baby's first birthday and several people said it was the best cake I had made to date! It's so moist and chocolatey.
      The one change i did make was to use 3/4 cup strong coffee (espresso works great) instead of just the hot water. It adds another dimension of deliciousness!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2010

      This is an excellent chocolate cake! I halved this recipe and it made 16 regular sized cupcakes. Baked at 350* for around 14 minutes and they came out prefect and moist! I just tasted one fresh out of the oven and it is awesome even without frosting! I can't imagine how delicious they'll be with some homemade vanilla mint frosting! Thank you for this keeper recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2011

      Absolutely fantastic - moist and very chocolatey. Tops my my grandmother's famous buttermilk chocolate cake, which my mom & I have never quite been able to master, and is extremely simple & fool-proof. Don't believe the disclaimer about the time it may take to make this, in my book, no recipe you can prep in the time it takes the oven to preheat is too long :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2010

      It was a hit! I took another rater's suggestion and used only 1 and a half cups of sugar because I layered the cake with chocolate mousse and covered it with chocolate ganache so I knew that the cake didn't need to be sweet with all the other components. It came out great! My guests were impressed and actually complimented the cake part itself. I forgot to take a picture and I really regret it because it came out beautiful for my first cake not out of a box.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2012

      Wow - just served this for Xmas Eve dinner and it was a HUGE hit! I was a little worried about (the handful) of bad reviews - but I can confirm that a) this cooked beautifully in two 9 inch pans in exactly 30 mins and b) came out of the pans easily and in one piece, c) didn't sink after cooling, d) didn't overflow while cooking and e) was totally delicious!

      I used just over 2/3 cup of boiling water (didn't try subbing coffee instead) and in fact followed the recipe exactly, to the letter. The cake came out really light, moist and the perfect sweetness.

      We used Kittencal's chocolate frosting between the two layers and all over the cake - and that was amazing too.

      Last but not least, we ran a vegetable peeler down the long edge of a milk chocolate, dark chocolate and white chocolate bar to cover the top with tri-colored chocolate curls - and voila! Better than any chocolate cake that I've ever had from a bakery, restaurant . . . or anywhere!! Seriously!! Would give this six stars if I could!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2011

      Definitely the best chocolate cake ever. I've made it twice now and have gotten rave reviews both times! The only warning I would give is to be careful using cake flour because this cake is so moist that when you use cake flour, it practically falls apart when you try to serve it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2010

      UPDATE 8/23/10
      I've been making this recipe everytime I want chocolate cake that's amazing :) The BEST is when Sprouts has their double dutch-processed cocoa powder in for the holidays, otherwise it's just the tollhouse cocoa powder.

      I am making cupcakes for my diabetic father, and I tried this with Stevia in the Raw -- Noooo. It gives the batter an odd taste, which was very disappointing.

      So I switched back to Splenda! I used 1/2 cup of the brown sugar Splenda, and 1/2 cup of the Splenda for baking. Plenty sweet and still fluffy and fairly moist. I went with a full cup of the boiled water, which is what I believe gives this the moistness. And so there you go! :) It can be made with Splenda, just take the total amount of sugar down to 1 cup. Like I said, very sad about the Stevia not working, but I've always heard mixed reviews on it. Maybe one day there will be a good sugar substitute without dextrose or maltdextrin and sucralose snuck in. I hate to think what this does to the body.

      Till then, for me and my DH, it'll be just regular sugar in moderation. One day I'll try this with raw sugar and see how it does -- till then, STILL AN AWESOME RECIPE :D

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2010

      The BEST! A tip for newbie bakers who have difficulties getting a level baked cake, roll up a cloth napkin (do it on diagonal for the exact perfect length for 9inch pans) then drench in water. Wrap around the outside of the pan (secure with a cloth hair elastic) and bake as usual. You could put a level on top of baked cake and it would be perfect. I also used Pan Release, Professional Pan Coating (Better Than Pam Spray!) for an easy release. Made for my cat's 10th birthday. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2011

      I've made this cake four times now and even when I forgot to put in the one cup of milk last time it still came out perfect. Go figure! I've also adapted this with my own flare and made a chocolate mint cake and served it with a mint cream cheese icing and it was wonderful. If you do make a mint chocolate cake you should add one teaspoon vanilla and one of pure peppermint extract. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2010

      OH DEAR, this cake was, I dont know how to say it was. Excelent, superb, wonderfull, scrumptious????????????? I dont know, it was gone as fast as I couls serve it. I loved it and will be making it again, infact for my daughters 3rd birthday. I dont bake so I tend to buy a cake, or have one made from the baker, costing me ALOT of money. This came out wonderfully. I used it with 89207 I think is the number, for the frosting. Wonderfull, will make it again and again.
      Thankyou, next time I will try the dutch cocoa

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2010

      This is an amazing cake! It's just about the best chocolate cake I've ever had! Very easy to make and it's just so delicious! I highly recommend anyone thinking of making it. It's so moist! I chose to make a filling for this and it turned out absolutely wonderful!!Thanks, Marg, for a wonderful cake, my new favorite! This is definately a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2010

      Could it be anything else but 5 *****?? Extremely easy to make and good texture. I sliced into 3 layers and filled with chocolate mousse and fresh cream and it was absolutely delicious! Have a feeling I will be making this often. Thanks Marg - a winner!! Edited Feb '10 to say I have made this 4 times now and the recipe is actually foolproof. Most recently made for my sons birthday - split and filled with sweetened cream and covered in kiwi and raspberries. See photo. Thanks again

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2012

      very nice, easy to make and tasty, very moist. It had a bit of an oil taste to it which was the only thing I didn't really love, so next time I will try it with melted butter instead.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2011

      Perfect. I followed the recipe exactly (including the note about the boiling water), and it turned out wonderfully. Everyone complimented it. My husband, who is more partial to lemon cakes, said it was the best cake he's ever had. I've already decided that this will be my go-to chocolate cake recipe from now on. Thank you for the wonderful recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2011

      Very easy but delicious cake. I made half a recipe using a 9X9 inch pan. Turned out great but may have over baked it a bit. Baked for 35 min. I did use the choc. buttercream for the frosting which was also great. Made for a very rich birthday cake. Want to try it with coffee next time.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2011

      Omygoodness!!! This is ABSOLUTELY Delicious!
      I am so bad at making cakes, I've tried so many on this website and thought, why not make another one and see how bad it comes out, but NO! this recipie is so easy, so simple and Mygosh the cake is so MOIST and delicious, I am already planning on making another one, the one I baked yesterday is already finished.]

      Thank you so much for sharing such a great recipie, highly appreciated!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2011

      We've just finished celebrating my wee man's 3rd birthday and once again this cake was amazing. I've used this recipe often since first discovering it's magnificence :) It's always, always a hit. I usually make up 3x this recipe and split it between 2 10" round cake tins and use the remainder mixture for cupcakes for ourselves (there's NEVER any leftovers on the day!!!). I generally have to cook the cakes for about an hour, always keeping them in the oven until a skewer comes out clean. I use 2x the med-dark Chocolate Buttercream Frosting chocolate buttercream frosting to fill and ice the cake then decorate from there. It's absolutely devine. So rich and moist and so quick and easy to prepare!
      Love it!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2010

      Incredibly moist and not too sweet... best chocolate cake I've ever had!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2010

      This cake had so many good reviews, I'm wondering where mine went wrong. It looked good coming out of the oven, but deflated quite a bit upon cooling. The top was very crumbly--hard to spread frosting on, and the taste just average. I'm not trying to plug one of my own recipes, but Moist Chocolate Cake (#2766846) is hands down more delicate, tastier, attractive, and most important--pretty much fool-proof. The recipes are similar--after trying both, I'll stick with my own.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2010

      WOW! I used regular (not dark) baking cocoa powder and 2/3 cups boiling water but otherwise followed the recipe exactly to make 36 cupcakes. For cake batter from scratch, this was so easy! For me, they took a bit longer to bake (about 20 minutes at 350F) than some reviews said, although it might be my oven. Some sunk a little in the middle but that just meant I had to add extra frosting ;) Everyone is gobbling these up and raving about how good they are!!! Great texture, very moist. I will surely be making this recipe again soon!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 26

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Dark Chocolate Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (55 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 20

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 189.0
     
    Calories from Fat 62
    32%
    Total Fat 6.9 g
    10%
    Saturated Fat 1.4 g
    7%
    Cholesterol 20.3 mg
    6%
    Sodium 252.3 mg
    10%
    Total Carbohydrate 30.9 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 1.3 g
    5%
    Sugars 20.1 g
    80%
    Protein 2.7 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites