Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Dan's Jambalaya Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Dan's Jambalaya

    Average Rating:

    32 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 32

    Sort by:

    • on December 20, 2010

      This was not our taste. I don't particularly care for jambalaya, but my husband loves it, so I made it for him. I have a different recipe that he says he likes better, and we won't be making this again. So sorry, with all the positive reviews I was hoping we would like it better.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2010

      Wow! This is one great jambalaya! We used the chorizo sausage, as I had never tried it before. Everyone went back for seconds and thirds! This makes quite a bit, but we were glad it did because one serving never would have been enough for us!! I will be passing this one on to others to enjoy.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2010

      Wow this is SO good! I used to live in N'awlins and this was a delicious firey feast. Not too hot, but just right thanks to the chorizo and Tony's (which I had to go to 4 stores to find!). I had to remove the casing from my chorizo, so it was more of a crumbled texture rather than coins, but I think I prefer it this way. I followed the recipe exactly except for omitting the 3rd tsp of salt - and honestly I think I could have omitted all of it - and I also added about a cup of chicken broth to make it a little saucier as we like it. I didn't mix in the rice either because I like to keep it less dry. Thanks for the amazing recipe, Linda! I will never have to use another thank to you :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2012

      I made this yesterday in my dutch oven and it was Fantastic!!!! I followed the recipe exactly using the andouille sausage (except omitted salt) and wouldn't change a thing. We didn't add the rice to the pot (personal preference) but served the Jambalaya over the rice and had some crescent rolls. This will me THE recipe I use for Jambalaya in the future.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2011

      We made this a few days ago and it was really good. Our only changes were using Hillshire Farms Smoked Sausage in place of the chorizo, and chives instead of the onion tops, and we omitted the shrimp this time (although we really want to try it with the shrimp, now!) I thought it was great, my guy loves his stuff really hot so he added a few shakes of Louisianna Hot Sauce to his plate and he announced it was perfect. This morning he finished off the leftovers, wrapped up in a tortilla. We'll be making this again soon!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2010

      I can't believe I forgot to review this, we LOVED it!!! Very easy and GREAT!!!
      Thank Dan for me and thanks Linda for sharing with us!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2010

      I made this for a pot luck at work and everyone loved it!!!
      I was worried that I wouldn't be able to find some of the ingredients at my local market but I did all except for the sasuage. I used chorizo and it came out great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2010

    • on May 21, 2010

      VERy good! My husband is a native cajun and he raved about this! No leftovers tonight! And it only served 6 adult bowls. So if you think it makes a lot, it's really not that much! :) Btw, I didn't add the rice in with everything else, we served the dish over the rice in a bowl. This keeps the dish from getting dry.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2010

    • on March 11, 2010

      Loved This thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2010

      Yum! I have made this several times and now just make a double batch so we can enjoy it for a few days. I have followed the recipe exactly and it is delicious. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2010

      This was so delicious made with chorizo, I think I will stick to that the next time I make it. My whole family and company ate this like it was their last meal! Another amazing recipe from zaar!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2010

      Outstanding Jambalaya and you can bet I will be making it again. Hands down the best I have ever had. I used chorizo sausage and it was a hit all the way around my table when I had company!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2009

      This jambalaya is the best I have ever had! The mix of ingredients adds so much flavor, you can't stop eating it once you start! I have made it with both the andouille sausge and the chorizo, and I think we favor the chorizo, but either is really good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2009

      This is a good recipe for jambalaya. I used cooked turkey polish sausage in place of the chorizo as that was what I had on hand. I also only used one onion. For the creole seasoning I used "Creole Seasoning Blend" Thank you for a hit in my house.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2009

      Totally delicious Jambalaya! The best I have had and I've eaten it a few times!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2009

      I had a friend who hadn't been around this part of the country for a long time and begged me to make a jambalaya. I wanted to make it very special, so I started looking for recipies. I found this one and decided to give it a shot. At first, I really thought the tomato sauce would mess up the entire recipe, but it tied it all together PERFECTLY. I only made chicken and sausage. I doubled the sausage and left out the shrimp, and it was AMAZING. Thanks for sharing, and know that I was able to score major with this dinner!!! Kudos X 1000!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2009

      I made this last night and just finished the leftovers. I had expected to think that it was OK, but it was fabulous. I used a chipotle sausage and chicken breasts. I left out the tomato sauce because I didn't have any. I also made my own cajun seasoning and used converted rice. Just wonderful, good job Dan and thank you Linda for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2009

      Man oh man is this a Killer Jambalaya! My DH decided to help me make it. We used chorizo sausage in place of the andouille, as we love it. This was a really delicious meal! It was spicy but not over the top hot, and it was perfectly seasoned. I served it with fresh baked rolls and it was totally awesome! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Dan's Jambalaya

    Serving Size: 1 (487 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 579.6
     
    Calories from Fat 234
    40%
    Total Fat 26.1 g
    40%
    Saturated Fat 7.3 g
    36%
    Cholesterol 105.7 mg
    35%
    Sodium 2296.5 mg
    95%
    Total Carbohydrate 53.9 g
    17%
    Dietary Fiber 2.3 g
    9%
    Sugars 5.7 g
    23%
    Protein 30.4 g
    60%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites