Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Danish Wilted Cabbage Salad With Bacon Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Danish Wilted Cabbage Salad With Bacon

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on September 03, 2013

      This was one of the best cabbage recipes I've tried. However, I omitted the bacon because I was out and I completely forgot about the vinegar (which I'm sure would have made a huge difference in the flavor). I also added diced carrots, 1/4 cup of chicken broth during cooking, and a few dashes of crushed red pepper. My husband, who normally doesn't like cabbage, enjoyed it very much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2013

      We enjoyed this dish tonight with our dinner. I've added sour cream to sauteed cabbage before, but not with the addition of vinegar. I didn't have tarragon vinegar, so I used apple cider vinegar as you mentioned -- it gave the cabbage a little extra tartness along with the sour cream. Made for ZWT9-Scandinavia, August, 2013.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2010

      This is delicious and tart dish. It was well received at dinner today. The recipe was reduced to serve 4 and the serving size was perfect. In place of the sour cream I used yogurt. This was made for *ZWT6*

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2010

      This is delicious, had it with a pork chop on my low carb diet and it was wonderful. Will make often, thank you. Made for ZWT6

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2008

      Really enjoyed this dish. My German friend calls it 'krautsalat' and says its even better second day...cold. Not sure it could be better??! Thank you for this recipe! We loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2007

      This really is a wonderful way to serve cabbage. I thought I was going to have to add some sugar, but I was wrong. The sour cream tamed the tarragon vinegar perfectly. Great hot or at room temperature. I'll make this again. Thanx for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2007

      Since I am part Danish, I decided to make this the Danish way. Since I'm a vegetarian, I used a substitute bacon product. Instead of bacon fat I used a bit of vegetable oil, and added salt and a little hickory smoke seasoning. Finally, I substituted a thick Greek yogurt for the sour cream but otherwise made no changes. Really excellent salad. I've had combination vinegar and bacon dishes before, and this didn't disappoint. I also really liked the sour cream (yogurt) with this. BF enjoyed this very much two. Cabbage is such an underrated vegetable. Great recipe, Bethie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2007

      Another winner here - entire family loved this version of fried cabbage. ;) I did use a bit less of the sour cream (maybe 3 TBSP or so) and only had white wine vinegar on hand so subbed that with a pinch of tarragon. Absolutely delicious! Everyone asked to have this one again, so I'd say it's a KEEPER!! Thank you Elmotoo for a great family-pleasing recipe!! ZWT3.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2007

      Loved it.. the bacon, onion and garlic give so much extra flavour, ad the sour cream is added bonus on the top. DH doesn't like sour veggies so I left the vinegar out. Please see my rating system: 4 stars for a recipe that is easy to put together, looks good and tastes great. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2005

      Very good. I had not had it with the sour cream, as the recipe I had was from some Cajun friends of mine. So your statement that it is French w/o the sour cream makes sense. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2005

      Thanks Elmotoo! I served this with a baked corned beef brisket and it was a really nice change from the traditional boiled cabbage and carrots typically served with corned beef brisket. The sour cream and bacon is a surprise and a treat in this dish. Dugan grunted and snorted after every bite. He is very picky about cabbage but has already asked, "when ya goin' ta make dis agin"? Soon, dear. Now wipe the sour cream off of your face. He is such a beast.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Danish Wilted Cabbage Salad With Bacon

    Serving Size: 1 (184 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 219.7
     
    Calories from Fat 167
    76%
    Total Fat 18.5 g
    28%
    Saturated Fat 7.6 g
    38%
    Cholesterol 34.2 mg
    11%
    Sodium 280.2 mg
    11%
    Total Carbohydrate 9.0 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 3.0 g
    12%
    Sugars 5.2 g
    20%
    Protein 5.5 g
    11%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    tarragon vinegar

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites