11 Reviews

This was one of the best cabbage recipes I've tried. However, I omitted the bacon because I was out and I completely forgot about the vinegar (which I'm sure would have made a huge difference in the flavor). I also added diced carrots, 1/4 cup of chicken broth during cooking, and a few dashes of crushed red pepper. My husband, who normally doesn't like cabbage, enjoyed it very much.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
strawberrybird September 03, 2013

We enjoyed this dish tonight with our dinner. I've added sour cream to sauteed cabbage before, but not with the addition of vinegar. I didn't have tarragon vinegar, so I used apple cider vinegar as you mentioned -- it gave the cabbage a little extra tartness along with the sour cream. Made for ZWT9-Scandinavia, August, 2013.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DailyInspiration August 03, 2013

This is delicious and tart dish. It was well received at dinner today. The recipe was reduced to serve 4 and the serving size was perfect. In place of the sour cream I used yogurt. This was made for *ZWT6*

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PaulaG June 06, 2010

This is delicious, had it with a pork chop on my low carb diet and it was wonderful. Will make often, thank you. Made for ZWT6

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lindseylcw June 06, 2010

Really enjoyed this dish. My German friend calls it 'krautsalat' and says its even better second day...cold. Not sure it could be better??! Thank you for this recipe! We loved it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Needles August 14, 2008

This really is a wonderful way to serve cabbage. I thought I was going to have to add some sugar, but I was wrong. The sour cream tamed the tarragon vinegar perfectly. Great hot or at room temperature. I'll make this again. Thanx for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*Parsley* July 07, 2007

Since I am part Danish, I decided to make this the Danish way. Since I'm a vegetarian, I used a substitute bacon product. Instead of bacon fat I used a bit of vegetable oil, and added salt and a little hickory smoke seasoning. Finally, I substituted a thick Greek yogurt for the sour cream but otherwise made no changes. Really excellent salad. I've had combination vinegar and bacon dishes before, and this didn't disappoint. I also really liked the sour cream (yogurt) with this. BF enjoyed this very much two. Cabbage is such an underrated vegetable. Great recipe, Bethie!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kumquat the Cat's friend June 25, 2007

Another winner here - entire family loved this version of fried cabbage. ;) I did use a bit less of the sour cream (maybe 3 TBSP or so) and only had white wine vinegar on hand so subbed that with a pinch of tarragon. Absolutely delicious! Everyone asked to have this one again, so I'd say it's a KEEPER!! Thank you Elmotoo for a great family-pleasing recipe!! ZWT3.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mommy Diva June 21, 2007

Loved it.. the bacon, onion and garlic give so much extra flavour, ad the sour cream is added bonus on the top. DH doesn't like sour veggies so I left the vinegar out. Please see my rating system: 4 stars for a recipe that is easy to put together, looks good and tastes great. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kiwidutch June 20, 2007

Very good. I had not had it with the sour cream, as the recipe I had was from some Cajun friends of mine. So your statement that it is French w/o the sour cream makes sense. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chief Bruno October 15, 2005
Danish Wilted Cabbage Salad With Bacon