36 Reviews

We all (3 adults) LOVED this. Like others, I grated the onion. For breadcrumbs, I used Panko, and I used about 2 tbs. fresh dill. Just delicious & recipe truly does make enough for eight. Served this over wide noodles with a side of broccoli (but asparagus would have been even better!) Thanks for this wonderful recipe. Yum!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Princess Pea July 08, 2010

Wonderful! Ok honestly at first, I didn't think this sounded good at all. But I read all the good reviews and I had some Vension I needed to use, so I made this. And I LOVED it!! Hubby loved it too! Chopped it up well for my 13 month old and he ate every bit of it too! I use all venison because we don't eat pork and venison is all i had on hand. I cut the meat mixture in half (and had enough meatballs! about 24), but used the whole sauce recipe and it was perfect! I grated the onions like suggested by another review. I used wondra instead of the flour because i am bad at making sauces and Wondra always turns out perfect! Also I served this over mashed potatoes! YUM! What a treat :) Thanks for this creative recipe. It is also very easy to put together!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dr_kaley August 05, 2008

I'm giving the meatballs 4 stars and the sauce 2 stars. The meat was very moist and seasoned well. They also reheated well for lunch the next day. The sauce on the other hand didn't do much for my family. All I could taste was sour cream and I'm not sure I liked the addition of the allspice. I will however make my meatballs with cream and butter from now on. Very good. Thanks so much.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bekah49036 May 08, 2009

Great venison recipe! Even our very picky 3yo scarfed it down.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
meodes January 24, 2009

I actually have my own version of this dish. I'm originally from Romania and my granny and mom used to prepare it quite often during the early autumn. The difference is in the sauce. You will sautee in cooking oil (we used sunflower seeds oil) but any normal cooking oil you're used to will do just fine, finely grated young carrots (about 200-300 grams), 2 or three juicy autumn onions (about 100-200 grams). Sauteeing should be done on a medium flame, in a lid covered skillet or caserole. Onion should become almost transparent with a yellow tone and carrots should also be soft. If it suits your taste add some finely chopped bellpeppers. Add about 400 grams of very juicy riped peeled tomatoes, severeal cloves of garlic, freshly minced, salt and pepper to your taste. Continue sauteeing under the lid for about half an hour, stirring it with a wooden spoon from time to time and adding water if it drops too much. Separately, prepare the minced meat (we used pork and beef just like in your recipe back home) and prepare it just like in your recipe, until the bread crumbs. Instead of that, put some 2l of salted water to boiling. When it's boiling, put the meat balls you have formed into the water. It should be boiling becaus otherwise the meatball will be destroyed. You can also deepfry them or grill (this one I have not tried, as I never tried baking), When deepfrying roll the meatballs in flour before putting into the heated recipient with cooking oil. Also, you can put them into the sauce which is already simmering. Mince very finely some 5-6 bouquets of GREEN fresh dill (be carefull if your family does like it since it has a STRONG aroma) and the same amount of taragon, when te meatballs are half done. The sauce should be somewhat thinner than normal ketchup (like a thick cream or sour milk) and should be enough to cover the meatballs (the smaller the meat balls the quicker the cooking) however the meatballs should not be smaller than olives. Preferably the size of a smaller plum (about 3 cm in diameter - 1 inch). The trick is that the dill and taragon are not that much cooked so as to lose their flavor. Serve on a dish, a few meatballs, sauce and ADD fresh sour yoghurt or sour cream. It's slightly more dietetical then the version you present here and it's totally based on fresh, right from the garden vegetables.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
leading.leprechaun October 28, 2015

Admittedly, I only loosely followed this recipe, but my variation (from blending several recipes and from using what I had on hand) made for a delicious dish. I used ground turkey and ground turkey sausage, as that's what I had (and what we prefer). Also, I used seasoned Stove Top Stuffing bread crumbs, and omitted the onion. I browned them in butter in a skillet, as I didn't have time to bake them. I removed them from the skillet (kept them warm in the oven), added a couple tablespoons of butter and made the sauce using the browned bits left from the meatballs. I used beef broth, instead of chicken. Other than those substitutions, I followed the recipe. The family loved the meal! We are of Danish ancestry and have decided to discover our roots through cooking some traditional meals. We're calling it Family History Dinner!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Stephsfanny September 23, 2013

My kids are so picky. I'm sure you can imagine my pride, my joy when I found they both ate the entire dinner. My kids are ages two and five. My husband and I both had second helpings and were excited to eat leftovers I will be making this weekly until we've used up our Venison.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
natural1beauty May 31, 2013

For simplicity's sake, I went with 1 lb ground pork, 1 lb 80/20 ground beef. The meat mix requires a light touch, but its SO worth it. When you're making meatballs, let them plop out of your hand into the bread crumbs once you have something resembling a ball. Once the bottom has crumbs, put some on top before touching the meat, its much easier to shape after that.

I used white pepper instead of black but otherwise followed the recipe as specified and it turned out great. Use caution when making your sauce- add ingredients a bit at a time and be patient, especially with your flour and chicken broth. The thickness shouldn't be an issue if done right. :)

This makes a great, moist meatball base and I will be trying the meatball recipe with other meatball dishes to see how it holds up.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rätsel Feinschmecker October 19, 2011

This recipe deserved 10 stars... 5 for the meatballs and 5 for the sauce. Very good recipe. Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Busy Mom 628 June 07, 2011

This was pretty good, but there is so much fat in it that I probably wouldn't make it again

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CareyLee April 06, 2011
Danish Meatballs With Creamy Dill Sauce