Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Danish Meatballs With Creamy Dill Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Danish Meatballs With Creamy Dill Sauce

    Average Rating:

    35 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 35

    Sort by:

    • on July 08, 2010

      We all (3 adults) LOVED this. Like others, I grated the onion. For breadcrumbs, I used Panko, and I used about 2 tbs. fresh dill. Just delicious & recipe truly does make enough for eight. Served this over wide noodles with a side of broccoli (but asparagus would have been even better!) Thanks for this wonderful recipe. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2009

      Great venison recipe! Even our very picky 3yo scarfed it down.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2008

      Wonderful! Ok honestly at first, I didn't think this sounded good at all. But I read all the good reviews and I had some Vension I needed to use, so I made this. And I LOVED it!! Hubby loved it too! Chopped it up well for my 13 month old and he ate every bit of it too! I use all venison because we don't eat pork and venison is all i had on hand. I cut the meat mixture in half (and had enough meatballs! about 24), but used the whole sauce recipe and it was perfect! I grated the onions like suggested by another review. I used wondra instead of the flour because i am bad at making sauces and Wondra always turns out perfect! Also I served this over mashed potatoes! YUM! What a treat :) Thanks for this creative recipe. It is also very easy to put together!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2013

      Admittedly, I only loosely followed this recipe, but my variation (from blending several recipes and from using what I had on hand) made for a delicious dish. I used ground turkey and ground turkey sausage, as that's what I had (and what we prefer). Also, I used seasoned Stove Top Stuffing bread crumbs, and omitted the onion. I browned them in butter in a skillet, as I didn't have time to bake them. I removed them from the skillet (kept them warm in the oven), added a couple tablespoons of butter and made the sauce using the browned bits left from the meatballs. I used beef broth, instead of chicken. Other than those substitutions, I followed the recipe. The family loved the meal! We are of Danish ancestry and have decided to discover our roots through cooking some traditional meals. We're calling it Family History Dinner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2013

      My kids are so picky. I'm sure you can imagine my pride, my joy when I found they both ate the entire dinner. My kids are ages two and five. My husband and I both had second helpings and were excited to eat leftovers I will be making this weekly until we've used up our Venison.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2011

      For simplicity's sake, I went with 1 lb ground pork, 1 lb 80/20 ground beef. The meat mix requires a light touch, but its SO worth it. When you're making meatballs, let them plop out of your hand into the bread crumbs once you have something resembling a ball. Once the bottom has crumbs, put some on top before touching the meat, its much easier to shape after that.

      I used white pepper instead of black but otherwise followed the recipe as specified and it turned out great. Use caution when making your sauce- add ingredients a bit at a time and be patient, especially with your flour and chicken broth. The thickness shouldn't be an issue if done right. :)

      This makes a great, moist meatball base and I will be trying the meatball recipe with other meatball dishes to see how it holds up.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2011

      This recipe deserved 10 stars... 5 for the meatballs and 5 for the sauce. Very good recipe. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2011

      This was pretty good, but there is so much fat in it that I probably wouldn't make it again

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2009

      Made this based on the previous reviews. Took it to our deer hunting camp where many were skeptical due to their associating "dill" with pickle flavor. That was one huge misconception and all said we should have it next year as well. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2009

      I'm giving the meatballs 4 stars and the sauce 2 stars. The meat was very moist and seasoned well. They also reheated well for lunch the next day. The sauce on the other hand didn't do much for my family. All I could taste was sour cream and I'm not sure I liked the addition of the allspice. I will however make my meatballs with cream and butter from now on. Very good. Thanks so much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2009

      I had some frozen turkey meatballs, and made the sauce. It was wonderful! I didn't have allspice, so I put a pinch each of cloves, cinnamon and nutmeg.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2009

      I made these for a dinner party and overall they got good reviews. I used 2 lbs of lean ground beef instead of the veal/pork mixture. It took awhile for the sauce to thicken and I found it didn't make quite enough to cover all of the noodles. It was a good recipe, but I don't think I"ll be making it again due to the high calorie/fat content. Thanks for posting Kaarin!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2008

      OH this was good! So good that I will only be making them once or twice a year for a "special treat". I used the ground beef in place of venison and served them over Delicious Homemade Egg Noodles. (Delicious Homemade Egg Noodles). Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2007

      WONDERFUL!! I went to a potluck party that was "Scandinavian" in theme and brought this as my dish. It was the hit of the party. The sauce was so good I almost drank it rather than putting it on the meatballs and taking it to the party (OK sick, I know but it was GOOD) I don't even LIKE dill I figured this would be a dish for everyone else to enjoy. The only thing I did different was I had Italian seasoned bread crumbs or Panko (Japanese bread crumbs) since I didn’t want to change the flavor of the sauce or meatballs by using the Italian seasoned bread crumbs I used the Panko. Wow! It worked wonderfully.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2007

      Oh so good. I made these last night and they were awesome. I loved the dill sauce over the top. Yummy, it made the meal. They were very rich but worth every calorie...lol. I will be making this again, thank you. Stephanie

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2007

      Very good- I used ground turkey instead of pork and it worked well. My picky husband even liked it, which only supported my theory that he likes anything fattening! Very good- I am adding it to my collection. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2007

      Wonderful dish with great dill flavor! The meatballs are delicate, but very delicious! I have to say I preferred the flavor of the sauce (though thin) prior to adding the sour cream and next time will omit the sour cream and simply thicken the sauce. YUM!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2007

      I just made this and only one thing to describe this dish. AWESOME!! Very very good and the taste is wonderful change of pace from the ordinary meatballs. WAy to go Kaarin!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2007

      Really yummy. My whole family liked it! Which is rare thing indeed for a family of seven. Pretty simple, as well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2006

      We quite enjoyed this. There are some great tips written into the recipe and reviews and one that I will use often is to mix my ground beef mixture in my kitchenaid, this really combined the mince well. I took the advise of our Aussies and served with lots of mashed potatoe. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Danish Meatballs With Creamy Dill Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (327 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 726.5
     
    Calories from Fat 494
    68%
    Total Fat 54.9 g
    84%
    Saturated Fat 30.5 g
    152%
    Cholesterol 246.3 mg
    82%
    Sodium 1318.4 mg
    54%
    Total Carbohydrate 25.7 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 1.5 g
    6%
    Sugars 4.2 g
    16%
    Protein 32.0 g
    64%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites