Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Danish Meatballs (Frikadeller) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Danish Meatballs (Frikadeller)

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on January 08, 2013

      My great grandmother's recipe used milk instead of water and we started using crushed saltine crackers instead of bread crumbs. Gr Grandma use to make the meatballs shaped like an egg by rolling it on tablespoon and always had a thick white gravy over them. I have used cr mushroom soup or country gravy mixes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2012

      I made as 4 serves though only 3 of us were going to be eating so there was enough left over for the DS for a sandwich the following day. I got 21 meatball weighing 35 grams each and baked at 180C fan forced for 30 minutes and served with a peppered gravy and Bacon and Cheddar Potato Salad on the side for delicious and filling meal, thank you Deantini, made for Went to Market tag game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2012

      I didn't use any water; my grated onions were very wet so it wasn't necessary. DH thought they could use more seasoning, but I like the fact that the meat is the predominant flavor, because they can be used in practically any recipe calling for meatballs (we put them in a noodle casserole). Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2010

      alot like lazymees recipe the grating of the onions was a better touch i thought i still used only beef i through these into freezer as meatballs for spagetti thanks zaar tour 6

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2010

      I cooked the meatballs in the skillet, and I couldn't help myself, I had to taste one before covering them with gravy. Very tastey! I wish you had shared the gravy that your family uses with these meatballs, but I tried to follow your instructions and make a milk-based gravy. I made my gravy with the drippings left in the skillet, mixed with flour. Then I stirred in a mix of beef stock and milk, and waited until it thickened. I was lucky enough to have a cup of leftover Mushroom Sauce for Pasta (Low-Sodium), and I stirred that in. Then I added in some sour cream, black pepper, and parsley. Delicious! Served over some leftover angel hair pasta, although I really wanted to serve over mashed potatoes!! This was delicious. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2010

      Really good meatballs. Could be used in so many ways. We made a sauce from 1 can golden mushroom, 1 can cream of mushroom, milk and mushrooms, baked for 25 min and delish. The meatballs were tender with lots of flavor. Thanks for sharing, we will be making this again, maybe with spaghetti next time? :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2010

      Yummmm! I really liked the texture of these meatballs. I didn't feel like kneading the mixture for 5 minutes, so my stand mixer did the trick! I doubled the recipe and got 30 large meatballs. My son's friend really liked them too! I made a gravy with a brown gravy mix, using milk instead of water and a good dollop of sour cream. I served these over rice and a side of mixed veggies. Made for Holiday tag. Thanks Deantini! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2010

      We loved these meatballs. I formed them into 4 large patties as they were to be the main course for dinner. I ground up some croutons for the breadcrumbs which added some more flavor though I don't think they needed it. The freshly ground pepper was perfect.The meatballs were accompanied by mashed potatoes and salad. Made for 1~2~3 Hits Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2009

      We thoroughly enjoyed these yummy meatballs with Mushroom Sauce for Meatballs and Shuzbud's Twice Baked Potatoes With Mozzarella, Tomato and Basil. I pretty well always use two different meats (usually veal and pork) in my meatballs. The different flavours from the beef and pork blend were great. I minced my onion in a mini processor and added two a heaped teaspoon of minced garlic. The breadcrumbs I also processed so they were very fine. I cannot help doing a doubletake when I see water in a recipe: I always want to add something more flavoursome. I compromised and used part water and part merlot, which did add an extra depth of flavour. I used only about half the recommended amount of salt but all the pepper. I made the lunch size meatballs and the mixture made 34 meatballs, some to eat immediately and several serves for the freezer. Seriously yummy meatballs - wonderfully moist and flavoursome - which I'll certainly make again. Thank you for sharing this recipe, Deantini. Made for Newest Zaar Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Danish Meatballs (Frikadeller)

    Serving Size: 1 (226 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 362.6
     
    Calories from Fat 135
    37%
    Total Fat 15.0 g
    23%
    Saturated Fat 5.6 g
    28%
    Cholesterol 127.8 mg
    42%
    Sodium 1324.0 mg
    55%
    Total Carbohydrate 23.8 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 2.0 g
    8%
    Sugars 2.9 g
    11%
    Protein 30.8 g
    61%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes