12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

These bars are wonderful! It's like a cinnabon in a square. Deeeelicious! I have been doing a lot of baking for a 50th Anniversary and needed another bar or square but was running out of chocolate chips and raisins etc. So, it was great to find this recipe which has ingredients you would find in any pantry. Very budget friendly and a unique bar to include on a goody tray. I may drizzle some glaze on half of them and see how that works. My family of "guineau pigs" loved them too! I highly recommend this as a must try recipe. Thx so much Bec!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mums the word May 21, 2009

This was simple and boring, its definitely missing something.. Maybe it needs nuts or something. I used powdered sugar instead of granulated and its still very bland and somewhat dry. Followed the recipe exactly... No one I made them for enjoyed them either. At least the Danish Oatmeal cookies we made turned out amazing..

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Didsx3 December 03, 2011

I needed a cake tray in under an hour and this was a perfect choice. It was so very easy and came out perfect. I drizzled it with a thick glaze which really enhanced the appearance as well at the taste. I am thinking about trying these with part applesauce and part butter to take down the fat content but great either way.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chani Goldstein June 04, 2009

Oh my gosh!!! These are delicious!!!! I was very suprised at how easy they were to make-the most basic ingredients + a short time = DANISH CINNAMON BARS!!!! I've recommended them to about a billion people now, too!!! Thanks!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
musicalmoose16 November 25, 2008

The "hook" that got me for these was "do ahead" and "frozen". That is just what I did. I now have another "goodie" to put out for unexpected guests. By the way, they tasted great too. Thanks Bec

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tebo July 14, 2006

seems like decent recipe but no way will the dough cover a 9x 13 pan more than a 1/4 inch thick so i used a 8x8 pan which yielded a half inch product . i think maybe not melting the butter would give a better result. they were heavy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
larry June 25, 2015

I really liked these. I was craving something cinamonny and these are made with staples in any kitchen. I topped them with a browned butter/maple frosting. It made them pretty rich but man oh man are they good. For something without nuts they taste like they are loaded with them.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jensley September 17, 2013

These were just okay for us. They were fairly dry and bland. The addition of a glaze helps a bit.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
under12parsecs March 30, 2012

Didsx3 is right: This recipe does need improvement. I added a second egg, and that solved the dryness problem - without it, I think the bars would have been extemely dry. (After reading Didsx3's review, I didn't try the recipe as is.) I also added a generous sprinkling of sliced almonds after liberally sprinkling granulated sugar on top - that worked out well and made for a very tasty flavor. Finally, I didn't bake quite as long as the recipe calls for; only about 17 to 18 minutes instead of 20. I was very pleased with the way my version of the bars turned out, and the people I served them to liked them a lot.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
49reasons December 26, 2011

Fantastic! Simple, quick, thrifty, and delicious! Will use again definitely! Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Momma21 August 10, 2009
Danish Cinnamon Bars