66 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I loved them! I did add 1 tablespoon of sugar to help take the bite out of the viniger. I didn't cook it the full hour either, it was getting too dry, even when I turned it down to simmer. I am definately making this again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sidd March 08, 2003

This was not what I was looking for. I'm sure it is good for what it is, but apparently, I am a Manwhich girl.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jodi Consoli July 20, 2014

I never use a recipe for sloppy joes, but just for fun I thought I'd see what's out there. This one is very similar to what my mom always made (and how I do it too). The only changes I made were using onion powder because I didn't feel like chopping onions, and adding some black pepper and paprika. I didn't let it cook as long as it called for because I didn't have that much time, I never cook joes that long anyway, and no matter how low I had the burner, it just seemed to cook to fast (I added a bit of water a couple times to keep it from getting too dry). But, the flavor was terrific and it was super easy to throw together. I'll definitely make this one again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Frugal Cheflady April 23, 2012

These were great but somehow were not our favorite recipe of sloppy joes. I can't tell what is missing for us. Thanks Dana :) Made for Cookbook tag game

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boomette September 07, 2011

I had a craving for a good Sloppy Joe and this was super. I wasn't sure about the vinegar, but made as directed. Nice tangy, smoky flavor. Loved it. Thanks for the post.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ratherbeswimmin' December 15, 2010

Love this recipe. Used tomato sauce instead of catsup and added about a tsp of brown sugar to add the sweetness...Perfect (i'm sure it is with catsup too). Not too sweet and has a little tang. Kids loved it too! Thanks Dana!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mrshanes June 14, 2010

These sloppy joes were delicious! My husband had recently asked me to make sloppy joes because I hadn’t made them in a long time. I usually just buy Manwich sauce, but I thought I’d look for a recipe. I came across yours and one other one I thought I might try. I decided to try your recipe because it seemed simpler yet it had lots of good reviews. I made just a couple of adjustments. I cooked ½ of a green bell pepper (chopped) along with the onions and ground beef and I used less salt. At first it looked like too many onions and peppers, but once everything cooked down it was perfect. Once I added the sauce, I simmered everything for about 30 minutes. The sauce was thick and seasoned just right. I served them on toasted buns with steak fries and corn on the cob. My husband said I’d have to make this a regular dish.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Judy M. January 27, 2010

New favorite sloppy joes.. thanks ! I did add some hot sauce to zip it up a notch - but we like hot stuff - husband loved it as did the 3 year old ;-)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mom2Danny October 22, 2009

My hubby and I really enjoyed these... I stuffed myself silly! So easy and I had everything I needed without a grocery store visit. Used All Purpose Ground Meat Mix that I had in the freezer and had dinner ready in no time. **Update: I made this again tonight but ran out of ketchup so I subbed in a half cup of barbeque sauce. Also added a little bit of hot chili sauce which gave it a subtle building heat. Hubby says I need to keep making it the way I did tonight and I agree. Thanks again for another yummy and easy dinner (..that is so versatile too)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
muncheechee August 25, 2009

This was good as written but we made some adjustments to make it even better for us. I followed the recipe as written but then we added some red hot, pepper and maple syrup and we thought it was even better. I had two pounds of meat but I tripled the other ingredients as we like our sloppy joes saucy. I cooked this on the stove for about a half an hour and then put it in my crockpot as we took it for dinner at the race track. The longer it cooks the better it tastes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bmcnichol July 05, 2009
Dana's Sloppy Joes