Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Dana's Sloppy Joes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Dana's Sloppy Joes

    Average Rating:

    66 Total Reviews

    Showing 41-60 of 66

    Sort by:

    • on March 07, 2007

      Made a double batch for the kids and friends, it's all gone! 3 lbs of hamburger. I didn't get any but I'm giving 5 stars anyways. They all loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2007

      Hi Dana, My daughter grumbled when she heard what was for dinner BUT she ate every bite! Thanks so much for posting! Roxygirl

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2006

      Wow. This was delicious. My husband really loved it. It will certainly be part of our meal plan at this house.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2006

      Great! Dh says it is remarkably close to Manwich.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2005

      My entire family ate and enjoyed these, which is very rare indeed. DH especially loved them. More salty and tangy than canned Manwich sauce, in fact I might cut back slightly on the salt next time. Easy and made from readily available ingredients. I didn't simmer for an hour, more like 30 minutes. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2005

      I've made these twice now. I like them because they're not over the top tomato-flavored. I made adjustments in the second batch to suit my taste. I reduced the vinegar and mustard by half and added a scant tablespoon of brown sugar. I also simmered mine with a lid sitting loosely on the skillet and had no issues with it being too dry.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2005

      This is hands down the best Sloppy Joe recipe I have tried! We made it the first time and put it on toasted rolls, and the second time we made home made French Fries and topped them with this mix! Yummy, thanks for a winner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2005

      I made this yesterday as one of four recipes I cooked for the week. Used reviewers tip to freeze. But I couldn't resist tasting it and WOW! So much better than the can stuff! I'm going to have to make more before I serve this because I know the gang will eat it up! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2005

    • on August 24, 2005

      My boys declared this the best sloppy joe ever! Very easy. I prepared a few weeks ahead and froze in a large ziplock bag. When I was ready to serve, I defrosted and then heated up in a pan and served on buns. They were just as good as before I froze them!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2005

      Not enough sloppy in these sloppy joes. The flavor was really good but I would have liked more sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2005

      Hubby loved this recipe. Sweet but not too sweet. Thanks for a quick and easy supper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2003

      For my family had to eliminate the vinegar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2003

      This recipe is excellent. I'm keeping this one handy for those hectic week nights. Next time I'm going to try tossing some green pepper in while the hamburger and onions are browning. Thanks for a very good recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2003

      nummy nummy nummy!!!!! Had these while watching Monday night football -- what a great meal for a game!!!! Some tater tots and coleslaw on the side and wow! BF loved these sooo much!!! No more manwich at my house! Thanks Dana

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2003

      Very good, very easy & most importantly, very economical. Had everything on hand except the meat. Only cooked for 45 min. as suggested above & they turned out great (& I usually don't even like Sloppy Joes!). Had the leftovers for lunch this afternoon. Just reheated & topped with shredded cheddar cheese on a hamburger bun. Deliciious! Thanks, Dana!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2003

      Dana these are great. I don't really like sloppy joes that much but these are great. They are very easy to make and I had all the ingredients on hand. Thanks again Dana.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2003

      My family liked these but I thought they were too salty. Instead of 1 tsp. of salt I will try 1 pinch of salt next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2003

      These were good - definitely better than the jarred stuff. I can see why kids love this recipe! However, since it's just us 2 adults, I think next time I make it, I'll try to kick it up a bit maybe with some red pepper flakes. Also, I too found that these were ready after only 30 minutes of simmering. Served with coleslaw and corn. Very good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2003

      Dana, This finally ends my search for the best and most delicious Sloppy Joe recipe. Great on toasted buns! Dottie

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Dana's Sloppy Joes

    Serving Size: 1 (152 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 216.8
     
    Calories from Fat 105
    48%
    Total Fat 11.6 g
    17%
    Saturated Fat 4.4 g
    22%
    Cholesterol 51.4 mg
    17%
    Sodium 959.4 mg
    39%
    Total Carbohydrate 13.1 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 0.7 g
    2%
    Sugars 10.4 g
    41%
    Protein 15.2 g
    30%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites