66 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Dana! These just rock! The whole family agreed these are WAY better than any we've ever had! I love it that they're kind of tart! We served these on toasted buns with slices of American Cheese and dill pickles on the side. I'll never buy that canned stuff again! I don't make a lot of Sloppy Joes, but this was so easy, and very good...It's rare that I can find something the whole family is happy with. I'll be making these often! These were outstanding with your potato wedges....a big thanks from all of us for a great dinner!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Denise! March 11, 2003

Great sloppy joes, dana! Sometimes you just feel like a good old fashioned meal and these are just the ticket!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SuzieQue March 07, 2003

Thanks for the great recipe. It's really difficult to find something both the kids & the hubby like. This did it. Will be adding this one to my regulars.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
karenway March 05, 2003

LOVE this recipe! Kind of sweet, kind of spicey, not overly sloppy AND super easy to make!. Normally, when I eat sloppy joes I put them on both sides of the bun, top with parmesan cheese, and eat it openfaced with a fork and knife. Not these! They held together really well and I was able to eat them without the joes dripping out the sides of the bun. It's a keeper! BTW: I did top it with parmesan cheese.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Satisfied Kris March 09, 2003

I need to make these again before I rate with stars. I used 1.5lbs of ground beef and adjusted the recipe accordingly - BUT the result was very vinegary even after cooking down for 1 hour. Moral of the story: keep the vinegar at 2 tbs even if you increase the other ingredients.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lolablitz February 23, 2010

This is an easy to put together recipe. After I cooked the beef with onions and put the sauce on top, I put it all in the slow cooker and set it on low. I cooked it for 2 hours and it stayed nice and moist. I added about a tablespoon of brown sugar to the sauce because I like a sweeter sauce.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marie Nixon September 14, 2003

Dana, this recipe was great and the whole family loved it! I finished up the leftovers today and it was still good. I can't get over how easy and tasty it is. I've been telling everyone I know about this find of a recipe. I didn't get to simmer it as long, maybe 40 minutes - it started getting too hot and scorching so I called it done at that time. Thanks for sharing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DDW May 08, 2003

These sloppy joes are AWESOME! I will never, ever use my old recipe again. The taste was perfect, just the right amount of tang, and the long cooking time really melded the flavors together. I will make this again and again, and I will always think of you, Dana, while I am doing so. Thanks!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
miss gracie March 10, 2003

I hadn't made sloppy joes for ages and couldn't even remember what I used to put in them. Your recipe sounded good and I am sure glad I tried it. I also added a Tbl of sugar. Served with your Balsamic Green Beans and Easy Baked Potato Wedges. Also made your No-Fuss Bar Cookies for dessert. Thank you for your recipes Dana. Great Meal !

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Colorado Cookie March 10, 2003

This sloppy Joe recipe was a little different from some I have tried. A Great kind of different!!! This recipe is more tangy...and I really like that!!!! Thanks Dana!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gingerkitten D March 08, 2003
Dana's Sloppy Joes