Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Dana's Sloppy Joes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Dana's Sloppy Joes

    Average Rating:

    65 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 65

    Sort by:

    • on March 08, 2003

      I loved them! I did add 1 tablespoon of sugar to help take the bite out of the viniger. I didn't cook it the full hour either, it was getting too dry, even when I turned it down to simmer. I am definately making this again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2012

      I never use a recipe for sloppy joes, but just for fun I thought I'd see what's out there. This one is very similar to what my mom always made (and how I do it too). The only changes I made were using onion powder because I didn't feel like chopping onions, and adding some black pepper and paprika. I didn't let it cook as long as it called for because I didn't have that much time, I never cook joes that long anyway, and no matter how low I had the burner, it just seemed to cook to fast (I added a bit of water a couple times to keep it from getting too dry). But, the flavor was terrific and it was super easy to throw together. I'll definitely make this one again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2011

      These were great but somehow were not our favorite recipe of sloppy joes. I can't tell what is missing for us. Thanks Dana :) Made for Cookbook tag game

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2010

      I had a craving for a good Sloppy Joe and this was super. I wasn't sure about the vinegar, but made as directed. Nice tangy, smoky flavor. Loved it. Thanks for the post.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2010

      Love this recipe. Used tomato sauce instead of catsup and added about a tsp of brown sugar to add the sweetness...Perfect (i'm sure it is with catsup too). Not too sweet and has a little tang. Kids loved it too! Thanks Dana!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2010

      These sloppy joes were delicious! My husband had recently asked me to make sloppy joes because I hadn’t made them in a long time. I usually just buy Manwich sauce, but I thought I’d look for a recipe. I came across yours and one other one I thought I might try. I decided to try your recipe because it seemed simpler yet it had lots of good reviews. I made just a couple of adjustments. I cooked ½ of a green bell pepper (chopped) along with the onions and ground beef and I used less salt. At first it looked like too many onions and peppers, but once everything cooked down it was perfect. Once I added the sauce, I simmered everything for about 30 minutes. The sauce was thick and seasoned just right. I served them on toasted buns with steak fries and corn on the cob. My husband said I’d have to make this a regular dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2009

      New favorite sloppy joes.. thanks ! I did add some hot sauce to zip it up a notch - but we like hot stuff - husband loved it as did the 3 year old ;-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2009

      My hubby and I really enjoyed these... I stuffed myself silly! So easy and I had everything I needed without a grocery store visit. Used All Purpose Ground Meat Mix that I had in the freezer and had dinner ready in no time. **Update: I made this again tonight but ran out of ketchup so I subbed in a half cup of barbeque sauce. Also added a little bit of hot chili sauce which gave it a subtle building heat. Hubby says I need to keep making it the way I did tonight and I agree. Thanks again for another yummy and easy dinner (..that is so versatile too)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2009

      This was good as written but we made some adjustments to make it even better for us. I followed the recipe as written but then we added some red hot, pepper and maple syrup and we thought it was even better. I had two pounds of meat but I tripled the other ingredients as we like our sloppy joes saucy. I cooked this on the stove for about a half an hour and then put it in my crockpot as we took it for dinner at the race track. The longer it cooks the better it tastes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2009

      We loved this and neither of us like sloppy joes! The only change I made was to substitute 2/3c BBQ Sauce and 1/3c catsup for all of the ketchup to spice it up a little. I also added some hot sauce to it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2008

    • on June 10, 2008

      These were really good, and really easy to whip up.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2008

      really good! i prefer mine with a but more tang..like the way momma used to make it..We really enjoyed the recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2008

    • on September 10, 2007

      These are great, my husband & his friend liked them too. I do agree w/ couple others that it almost has to much mustard but I love mustard, however I may cut back next time on it. I like that it used wine vinegar. I bought white wine vinegar not sure if it matters what kind. Thanks I will save this one!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2007

      soo good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2007

      Thanks for this recipe. We loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2007

      This was very tasty, but like someone else mentioned, the mustard taste was a bit too strong so I added a little bbq sauce. Will definately make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2007

      These were good. I think that I would make them again, but I would only add one tablespoon of mustard, because I think the mustard taste was too strong for us. I'd probably also add some fresh garlic and also green pepper. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2007

      Made a double batch for the kids and friends, it's all gone! 3 lbs of hamburger. I didn't get any but I'm giving 5 stars anyways. They all loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Dana's Sloppy Joes

    Serving Size: 1 (152 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 216.8
     
    Calories from Fat 105
    48%
    Total Fat 11.6 g
    17%
    Saturated Fat 4.4 g
    22%
    Cholesterol 51.4 mg
    17%
    Sodium 959.4 mg
    39%
    Total Carbohydrate 13.1 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 0.7 g
    2%
    Sugars 10.4 g
    41%
    Protein 15.2 g
    30%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites