Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Dana's Sloppy Joes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Dana's Sloppy Joes

    Average Rating:

    66 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 66

    Sort by:

    • on August 29, 2002

      I''m making these for the second time tonight! This is the first meal (except pizza) that my entire family will all eat! Very easy, very quick, very tasty! I found a half hour to 45 minutes plenty of time to simmer. Thanks, Dana, for a real keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2002

      This was real comfort food...with toasted hamburger buns, green beans and tater tots, it was the type of old-fashioned dinner my husband loves. These Sloppy Joes are very easy to prepare; the directions are simple and straightforward. The only changes I made were to cut back on the salt (I figured we could add more at the table if we wished) and after 45 minutes of simmering I thought it was ready. Very tasty, Dana, and a dish I will definitely make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2003

      Dana, Dana, Dana...what can I say except YUM! Didn't have wine vinegar so I used red cooking wine, which came out fine. Only cooked about 45 minutes. Hubby and I loved them. Will make again for when his children come over for dinner. Thanx!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2003

      I've tried many home-made sloppy joe recipies and this is by far the best. I did have to add a lot of water too it, though, to keep it from drying out while simmering. Maybe because I didn't add much onion? It was great anyway.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2003

      Tasty, simple, economical,& family pleasing meal. I already have a favorite Sloppy Joe recipe, but I thought I would give this one as try as it is a bit different. My family enjoyed this version just as well and gobbled them up quickly. One thing I especially liked about these is how thick the sauce is - everything holds together nicely and doesn't spill out the back of your bun quite as easily as most Sloppy Joe recipes. Thank you for a quick & tasty meal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2003

      Dana, these were wonderful. I had already chosen this as a recipe I wanted to try the next time our niece and nephew were here and they just happened to come during the Danathon ! Dana they loved it and they really are picky eaters. I also explained to them that this was a special meal for you. This is bound to become one of our traditional meals when they visit.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2003

      My Zaar Family this was easy. I knew I would have to double the recipe because of our family size. It went over great. The children kept on saying this is way better than Manwich. So I know we will have it over and over...Yet another KEEPER for sure. Thank You Dana for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2003

      Well Dana, I'm with your daughter, cause I just loved this recipe. No one ingredient overpowered the other. Just a nice blend of flavors. This was delicious and I plan on making this a lot this summer when company with chidren come visiting. Very simple and easy to make. Thank you Dana. Chuck

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2003

      Dana, I can certainly understand your daughter loving this Sloppy Joe recipe! I could see from first bite that this was developed for a child's tastes. The ketchup gives it a certain sweetness that I'm sure kids appreciate!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2003

      I made these this weekend for two very picky granddaughters who gobbled them up with no problem. I'll definitely make them again as my husband also thought they were excellent. I might ease up just a bit next time on the vinegar. Otherwise they were perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2003

      Dana! These just rock! The whole family agreed these are WAY better than any we've ever had! I love it that they're kind of tart! We served these on toasted buns with slices of American Cheese and dill pickles on the side. I'll never buy that canned stuff again! I don't make a lot of Sloppy Joes, but this was so easy, and very good...It's rare that I can find something the whole family is happy with. I'll be making these often! These were outstanding with your potato wedges....a big thanks from all of us for a great dinner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2003

      Great sloppy joes, dana! Sometimes you just feel like a good old fashioned meal and these are just the ticket!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2003

      Thanks for the great recipe. It's really difficult to find something both the kids & the hubby like. This did it. Will be adding this one to my regulars.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2003

      LOVE this recipe! Kind of sweet, kind of spicey, not overly sloppy AND super easy to make!. Normally, when I eat sloppy joes I put them on both sides of the bun, top with parmesan cheese, and eat it openfaced with a fork and knife. Not these! They held together really well and I was able to eat them without the joes dripping out the sides of the bun. It's a keeper! BTW: I did top it with parmesan cheese.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2010

      I need to make these again before I rate with stars. I used 1.5lbs of ground beef and adjusted the recipe accordingly - BUT the result was very vinegary even after cooking down for 1 hour. Moral of the story: keep the vinegar at 2 tbs even if you increase the other ingredients.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2003

      This is an easy to put together recipe. After I cooked the beef with onions and put the sauce on top, I put it all in the slow cooker and set it on low. I cooked it for 2 hours and it stayed nice and moist. I added about a tablespoon of brown sugar to the sauce because I like a sweeter sauce.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2003

      Dana, this recipe was great and the whole family loved it! I finished up the leftovers today and it was still good. I can't get over how easy and tasty it is. I've been telling everyone I know about this find of a recipe. I didn't get to simmer it as long, maybe 40 minutes - it started getting too hot and scorching so I called it done at that time. Thanks for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2003

      These sloppy joes are AWESOME! I will never, ever use my old recipe again. The taste was perfect, just the right amount of tang, and the long cooking time really melded the flavors together. I will make this again and again, and I will always think of you, Dana, while I am doing so. Thanks!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2003

      I hadn't made sloppy joes for ages and couldn't even remember what I used to put in them. Your recipe sounded good and I am sure glad I tried it. I also added a Tbl of sugar. Served with your Balsamic Green Beans and Easy Baked Potato Wedges. Also made your No-Fuss Bar Cookies for dessert. Thank you for your recipes Dana. Great Meal !

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2003

      This sloppy Joe recipe was a little different from some I have tried. A Great kind of different!!! This recipe is more tangy...and I really like that!!!! Thanks Dana!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Dana's Sloppy Joes

    Serving Size: 1 (152 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 216.8
     
    Calories from Fat 105
    48%
    Total Fat 11.6 g
    17%
    Saturated Fat 4.4 g
    22%
    Cholesterol 51.4 mg
    17%
    Sodium 959.4 mg
    39%
    Total Carbohydrate 13.1 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 0.7 g
    2%
    Sugars 10.4 g
    41%
    Protein 15.2 g
    30%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites