Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Dana's Homemade Kahlua Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Dana's Homemade Kahlua

    Average Rating:

    70 Total Reviews

    Showing 41-60 of 70

    Sort by:

    • on January 01, 2006

      Fantastic flavor! Best homemade Kahlua recipe I've tried. Used some to make Mudslides for New Years Eve.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2005

      This probably doesn't need another rave review, but just for the record - it's great! Make sure you keep stirring the mixture as it cools or it becomes really hard to work with. This really does taste like kahlua, only a bit stronger I think. I can't wait to make some white Russians, thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2005

      This recipe was a real hit as bottled Christmas gifts last year. Some said they preferred it to the real thing! I tried a different recipe at first that had more sugar and less vodka, but it didn't have the same "finish". (I compared them side-by-side.) I bought bottles online at Sunburstbottles.com and made a pretty label to give them as gifts. Definitely a keeper recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2004

      YUM!!! very easy to make & very, very good! I'm on a budget, so I used cheap vodka, & it turned out fantastic. Thanks for the great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2003

      Wow, you just saved me some mula... this is a lot less expensive and just as good. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2003

      This is a great recipe, as everyone says, love the deep rich flavor. Thanks Dana

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2003

      INCREDIBLE!! watch the boil or you get one sticky icky mess and it goes quick! i ran out of sugar at 2 cups and used about 1/4 cup of honey, It rocks! I am getting hosed right now while I try another batch! Thanks a million. Signed , My Liver

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2003

      i have made kahlua before and i wasn't sure why i had to simmer for so long in this recipe-that is until i tasted it! it has a very nice, deep flavour without being too sweet, excellent. i will replace all of my other kahlua recipes with this one! thanks Dana

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2003

      This was wonderful!!!! I love it! At first, I thought this probably won't taste like Kahula, but when I tried it....YES! I will make this over and over. Thanks Dana.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2014

      Going to try heating to a slow boil then transferring to a warm crock pot so I don't need to constantly stir. I'll post my result :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2014

      I've been using this recipe for at least 5 years. I make it once per year. A neighbor and I now get together annually to do this and we give some out as holiday gifts in December. The most difficult part of this recipe is finding bottles. Beer growlers work! This is an amazing recipe! We use cheap vodka and I swear this is as good, if not slightly better, than the original kahlua. Thanks so much for putting this out there, Dana.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2014

      I have been making this recipe every few months for 4 years or so. I only use 2 cups of vodka instead of 2.5, but that is the only change. I always triple this recipe at least. This has really great flavor, I even like it better than regular kahlua. It is best to let this sit for at least a month for a cleaner, more developed flavor. <br/><br/>It is an absolute favorite recipe of mine, I don't have to worry about losing it because it is stamped on my brain.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2013

      I reduced it for 2 1/2 hours and it was perfect. I could not get the temperature right to simmer it so it was alternating between a rapid boil and less than a simmer. I measured it and was left with 2 cups of syrup. i cooled it until 100 deg F (as the alcohol will evaporate if you put it in while the sugar syrup is too hot) and then stirred in the vodka. i tasted it immediately and it is very very good. I do think it could do with a vanilla bean soaking in it to slightly enhance the vanilla flavor, so I will do just that and leave it for a while. It made one full 750ml bottle and a quarter of another one.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2013

      No rating yet but I just tried making this recipe and I can say the instructions aren't the best. Simmer for three hours didn't tell me what I was looking for as a result, a thin syrup or a thick syrup? A foamy mess that I ended up with? I read the other reviews and used a few of those suggestions but could have used a few more instructions as I may have now wasted a ton of vodka :-( It's in the bottle and time will tell but the instructions really could be a bit more explicit.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2013

      I used 153 proof Grain alcohol

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2013

      What a great recipe, I had it years ago and lost it, but sure is nice find it again, Thanks Dana! There is a vanilla vodka by Stoli's, it makes a fabulous Vanilla White Russian. Equal parts kahlua and vodka over ice, top off with milk and shake. Yummeee! If you have a party, usually women don't know what to drink because they really don't like the taste of liquor, this one makes them come back for more! Be careful, it'll sneak up on you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2013

      Can I give this 10 stars? OMGosh.....IMHO it's BETTER then Kahlua! OK, I read the other reviews and checked out "other" recipes and decided to use raw sugar instead of white and I used espresso powder and also used 100 proof vodka (NOT the great stuff but a good mid-grade) and I also used bottled spring water. Mine cooked down to a thick syrup in 2 & 1/2 hours and after it cooled I used "triple" strength vanilla paste (1 tsp.) and added the vodka. PERFECT and I made a QUART FULL (in a Ball canning jar). Also.....IF you choose to make this I would recommend using a HEAVY bottomed pan and let it GENTLY simmer and do stir often as instructed. THANK YOU SO MUCH for posting this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2012

      I just made this for the first time and it is delicious!! I'm wondering if I can triple this recipe. Will it come out the same? I'm making it for gifts. : )

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2010

      My husband is addicted to Kahlua and cream and LOVES when I make this. I'd be embarrassed to tell you how often I do, because we love it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2010

      I made this for a few friends and family members for Christmas gifts, and it was a huge hit! Takes some time to make, but still a great recipe! Thanks, Dana!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Dana's Homemade Kahlua

    Serving Size: 1 (2026 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1639.2
     
    Calories from Fat 0
    64%
    Total Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 21.7 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 252.6 g
    84%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 250.3 g
    1001%
    Protein 0.5 g
    1%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes