70 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I had real problems with this recipe and kinda had to do it my way. I used the recipe as posted but I couldnt simmer it for three hours..first time I overcooked it and it was a hard lump..the second time it was sugary (made icing out of it, that was really good though.I have no idea what I did wrong.. can't say I am a quiter I tried it again with changes. Brought it to a boil, turned it down to simmer for 45 minutes, turned the stove off for a few minutes and didnt think it was reduced enough so I turned it on and simmered it again for 25 minutes. I cooled it, added the vanilla, stirred it up and added it to the vodka. I was a little skeptical when the vodka fumes hit my nose but I bottled it and stuck it in the fridge. I couldn't wait two weeks that I promised myself before trying it (2 days). I made a brown cow tonight and it was AWESOME. I will be making this again..Christmas gifts!!. Thank you.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KennKonn July 07, 2007

I'm not much of a drinker, but after seeing all the reviews I just had to try this recipe. It is truly awesome. I served it over the holidays to friends and family and everyone loved it. I found it super easy to make. After bringing the water, coffee and sugar to a boil, I turned the stove down to the lowest setting. I would say that the mixture reduced by 1/2 to 3/4. Anyway... thanks for the great recipe.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lesli MomOf2 January 02, 2007

For those having problems with this recipe havig crystals... you have boiled it too long and it is truing to candy. (Says the person who can burn boiling water!)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AK365 December 07, 2013

Just made this yesterday but had to try it out today with Kahlua Mudslide. It is good, I can't wait until it has sat for awhile it can only taste better with age. I didn't know how much it was suppose to be reduce by simmering but after 2 1/2 hours very little had reduced. I turned the heat up to get a medium boil and after a half hour had about half so I turned the heat off and let it cool. Great recipe. Thanks Dana!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Catnip46 March 08, 2010

Great flavor. I made it back in Dec. and just used it for the first time. I made Chocolate Kahlua Cake and it worked great.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
adopt a greyhound January 23, 2010

Fantastic! Did a side by side comparison to the store bought, and this blew it out of the water in both taste and smoothness. I boiled it down nearly 2.5 hours to make the syrup, I also put a half of a whole vanilla bean in the bottle to give a slow seep of vanilla during it's shelf time. Made 3 batches for Christmas gifts this year. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AKFilm December 24, 2009

I haven't tried this recipe yet, but have my own made with basically the same ingredients except mine uses a good quality brandy instead of vodka... adds a lot of depth to the flavor of the drink.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
scibritt July 04, 2009

My girlfriend and I made this last night and at first we were skeptical, but today we tried it and WOW!!! LOVE IT!! We made 10 batches for christmas gifts plus a little somethin, somethin for the evening...thank you for this great recipe! It's awsome with milk and we just added a little cinnamon creamer and it is great!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
catrinawymer December 12, 2008

I made this yesterday to give as Christmas gifts and it is great I doubled the recipe to make a bigger batch and it was great. I think next time I'll cut back a little on the sugar because it was a little too sweet. Thanks for sharing this recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
janieraz1957 November 28, 2008

I've never made any kind of liquer before and this was very easy to follow. I made this for Xmas and gave as gifts to some of my Kahlua loving friends. We all agreed that it was a 5 star recipe. My friend had tried someone else's homemade Kahlua before and said that this tasted exactly like the real stuff and was alot better than any other she had tried. Just make sure when you let it cool that you only leave it for a short time as it will harden when it cools and then it is very hard to add Vodka. I may have let it cook to long but I cooked it the full three hours and I think it was probably thick enough at 2 hours so next time I will test it at 2 hours. Will make again definitely.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bunlady March 02, 2008
Dana's Homemade Kahlua