Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Dana's Homemade Kahlua Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Dana's Homemade Kahlua

    Average Rating:

    68 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 68

    Sort by:

    • on July 07, 2007

      I had real problems with this recipe and kinda had to do it my way. I used the recipe as posted but I couldnt simmer it for three hours..first time I overcooked it and it was a hard lump..the second time it was sugary (made icing out of it, that was really good though.I have no idea what I did wrong.. can't say I am a quiter I tried it again with changes. Brought it to a boil, turned it down to simmer for 45 minutes, turned the stove off for a few minutes and didnt think it was reduced enough so I turned it on and simmered it again for 25 minutes. I cooled it, added the vanilla, stirred it up and added it to the vodka. I was a little skeptical when the vodka fumes hit my nose but I bottled it and stuck it in the fridge. I couldn't wait two weeks that I promised myself before trying it (2 days). I made a brown cow tonight and it was AWESOME. I will be making this again..Christmas gifts!!. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2007

      I'm not much of a drinker, but after seeing all the reviews I just had to try this recipe. It is truly awesome. I served it over the holidays to friends and family and everyone loved it. I found it super easy to make. After bringing the water, coffee and sugar to a boil, I turned the stove down to the lowest setting. I would say that the mixture reduced by 1/2 to 3/4. Anyway... thanks for the great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2013

      For those having problems with this recipe havig crystals... you have boiled it too long and it is truing to candy. (Says the person who can burn boiling water!)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2010

      Just made this yesterday but had to try it out today with Kahlua Mudslide. It is good, I can't wait until it has sat for awhile it can only taste better with age. I didn't know how much it was suppose to be reduce by simmering but after 2 1/2 hours very little had reduced. I turned the heat up to get a medium boil and after a half hour had about half so I turned the heat off and let it cool. Great recipe. Thanks Dana!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2010

      Great flavor. I made it back in Dec. and just used it for the first time. I made Chocolate Kahlua Cake and it worked great.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2009

      Fantastic! Did a side by side comparison to the store bought, and this blew it out of the water in both taste and smoothness. I boiled it down nearly 2.5 hours to make the syrup, I also put a half of a whole vanilla bean in the bottle to give a slow seep of vanilla during it's shelf time. Made 3 batches for Christmas gifts this year. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2009

      I haven't tried this recipe yet, but have my own made with basically the same ingredients except mine uses a good quality brandy instead of vodka... adds a lot of depth to the flavor of the drink.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2008

      My girlfriend and I made this last night and at first we were skeptical, but today we tried it and WOW!!! LOVE IT!! We made 10 batches for christmas gifts plus a little somethin, somethin for the evening...thank you for this great recipe! It's awsome with milk and we just added a little cinnamon creamer and it is great!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2008

      I made this yesterday to give as Christmas gifts and it is great I doubled the recipe to make a bigger batch and it was great. I think next time I'll cut back a little on the sugar because it was a little too sweet. Thanks for sharing this recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2008

      I've never made any kind of liquer before and this was very easy to follow. I made this for Xmas and gave as gifts to some of my Kahlua loving friends. We all agreed that it was a 5 star recipe. My friend had tried someone else's homemade Kahlua before and said that this tasted exactly like the real stuff and was alot better than any other she had tried. Just make sure when you let it cool that you only leave it for a short time as it will harden when it cools and then it is very hard to add Vodka. I may have let it cook to long but I cooked it the full three hours and I think it was probably thick enough at 2 hours so next time I will test it at 2 hours. Will make again definitely.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2007

      very tasty indeed. I'm not supposed to drink caffeine and I made this with decaf, very nice to have one of my favorite drinks without feeing guilty for drinking the caffeine. thanks a million for posting this delicious recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2007

      Amazing! I followed the recipe as written, but found 3 hours was too long. I have to assume no one actually lets this simmer for 3 hours...after about 1 hour I had to stand over it constantly and stir to prevent it from boiling over, I had it turned on the lowest setting. I stirred for another hour, but decided it was thick enough. I let it cool, and agree with someone who said it's important to stir as it's cooling to help prevent crystallization. The color gets much lighter as you stir. I also had lumps of the sugar mixture I thought I'd have to strain out, but they dissolved. In the end, I was skeptical....but after a day of letting this rest...AMAZING...and after two weeks of letting it rest, even better. I will never buy kahlua again! Thanks for the recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2007

      Wonderful and easy to make. I used my vanilla sugar(2 c sugar + 1 vanilla bean cut in 1 in pieces grind up and strain to get larger pieces out) Thanks also to all the posters for recipe ideas too!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2007

      Wow!! No problems here making it. I used instant espresso powder instead of instant coffee, and used vanilla bean paste instead of vanilla. I don't know if this will get better and better as it ages, but it's hard to imagine -- it's just terrific the way it is. What a great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2007

      Wonderful stuff. Our friends love it. I added a whole vanilla bean to the bottle for extra flavor. Thanks Dana!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2007

      Wonderful recipe. Gets better the longer you can keep it. Great for gift giving. No need to buy the "good stuff" anymore. The cheap vodka works great.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2007

      With all the mishaps I had with this recipe, it is amazing that it still ended as a 5 star! I had no instant coffee, so I used 4 instant coffee bags (similar to a teabag) and steeped them 10 minutes in the hot water. I removed them, stirred in the sugar, and let boil under DH's watchful eye and intructions to stir often, and set the timer when I left for a meeting. I came home to find that the kids had fiddled with the timer and reset it, so it had boiled about 15 minutes before DH turned it off and ignored the recipe printed out right next to the stove. But it still turned out great- smooth and tasty and almost perfect. I will be trying this again son and following as written to compare notes, but I thought this was great as-is!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2007

      This is the best - we have made it two years in a row now to give as Christmas gifts. The only problem is remembering to make it soon enough to "age". This year we even remembered to make enough so we had some.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2006

      This made a fantastic Christmas gift for the hard to buy male. I included Kahlua drink recipes with the gift. Thanks for this recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2006

      Fantastic. Easy to make with things I happen to have on hand. Tried some in coffee and it was wonderful. Can't wait to share! Thanks so much for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Dana's Homemade Kahlua

    Serving Size: 1 (2026 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1639.2
     
    Calories from Fat 0
    64%
    Total Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 21.7 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 252.6 g
    84%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 250.3 g
    1001%
    Protein 0.5 g
    1%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites