Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Dana's Homemade Kahlua Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Dana's Homemade Kahlua

    Average Rating:

    70 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 70

    Sort by:

    • on April 30, 2002

      Dana, (*hic*) this is terrific, just as the recipe is written. It's the best homemade Kahlua that I've had. Next time I might try the (*hic*) 100-proof vodka instead of the 80-proof, just to see if it makes a big difference in taste. Now I have to go to the store to buy more milk for White Russians! Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2002

      Dana Loved this Kahula,I had a dinner party Saturday Nite and everyone loved it. I mixed vanilla ice cream as a Kahula milk Shake. Would make it again :) Kym

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2002

      What a great find! This an easy, tasty, and cheaper alternative to the expensive stuff! Thanks Dana!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2003

      This was the easiest liqueur I ever made! It has a good coffee flavor, I used espresso instant coffee. Used also over ice cream, in the coffee and on its own to serve with the coffee. I will definitely make it at Christmas time for gifts. Thanks for sharing this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2003

      Dana, This delicious, fabulous, What a find, sure won't be buying the expensive stuff again. Great over vanilla ice cream. Thank you sooooo much Dana.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2003

      Dana :) GREAT STUFF ~ I also know that the older it gets the better it will be ! Thank ~ I had a girlfriend that used to make this but lst her recipe ~ so Now were all set & we are making enough to last the summer by the pool~We will make it like a MUD SLIDE :)~POKER~

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2011

      I've had this recipe for more than 25 years and it was a friend of my Mothers who gave it to me and I've loved it ever since! For those of you having trouble with simmering it 3 hours- maybe your pan is too thin or not a good quality. I've never had trouble with that nor with any crystallizing upon cooling- could be the type of sugar you use- I've always used just ordinary table sugar and no problems. One thing I've changed and glad I did was that I use de-caffienated instant coffee-wonderful for those of us who don't want all that caffeine in the evening! Espresso powder and the vanilla vodka are 2 great substitutions but the vanilla vodka can give it too much of a vanilla flavor for some. Make your own vanilla vodka by putting vanilla beans in a plain bottle of vodka and let sit a week or more- saves even more money!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2003

      This was my first attempt at anything like this, but I will definately be making this again. I was very busy the day I made this, so for the first step I used my coffee maker. I just put the sugar and instant coffee in the pot, poured the water in and turned on. When the brew cycle finished, I stirred, let it sit there and then finished with simmering for a while. SOOOOOO Easy. I also will be making this for gifts at Christmas. Thanks Dana.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2003

      So easy! And tastes wonderful. It has a permanent place in my files! Saw the other reviewer's suggestion about vanilla vodka..ooooooh white russian is now my drink of choice!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2012

      Fantastic recipe! I made a ton of this for Christmas gifts and was surprised at how excited everyone was to get it. I calculated what I spent and it is under $5 bottle (750 ml), not counting the bottle. We did, however, cut the sugar by 1/3 and it was perfect. After making several batches and doing online research we also discovered that you can use the cheapest vodka available, but use a better grade of instant coffee. We used Nescaf? Classico Suave and Popov and it was excellent! If you can plan ahead, save some dark wine bottles and corks. I will never buy another bottle of Kahlua!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2010

      Yum! Made this yesterday and it was great in our white russians! Can't wait to see what it turns out to taste like after it's had time to set for awhile. I did think it had a tad bit more of a vanilla flavor than regular kahlua, but it's great! I'm wondering what it would taste like with some chocolate flavored coffee in there? Yum! thanks!! ** I also must add that it didn't make 2 fifths for sure. We filled up an empty handle of vodka and it filled it up just a bit over half or so.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2011

      Great recipe. It was too sweet for me though, so since I like the vanilla flavor, I now only use 1 c. sugar. I also used decaf instant coffee and used a little more than called for. I have an electric stove so getting the liquid to a simmer was difficult at first, but now after 3 batches I know what I'm doing, and yes, it can take the entire 3 hours to get to the desired syrup. Yum! I will keep making and giving out as gifts. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2011

      Definitely Delicious! I made 1 fifth, and used 1cup vodka and 1/4 cup brandy, cuts it juuuust right. Oh and next time, I will leave the lid off while it simmers and let it reduce my first batch was thinner than I expected... thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2010

      The was extremely easy to make, and ended up costing me half the price of regular Kahlua. I started making it a bit late in the evening though, and only boiled the syrup for 2 hours. Next time I'll definitely boil it the 3 hours. Also, I'm going to add an extra tsp of coffee to it next time to make that flavour a bit stronger. I doubled the recipe and ended up with 2 liters (just over 2 US quarts). Over all I'm really impressed at how well it came out on the first try!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2009

      I have been wanting to make this for a couple of months now and I'm glad I finally made it! It is very sweet, but that's OK. I read some of the earlier reviews and decided to put the sugar mixture into a large pot to keep it from overflowing once it hit a boil. This worked great. I simmered it for about 2 hours until it made a syrup that coated the back of a wooden spoon. Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2006

      This is delicious! I'm glad Beck D mentioned that the sugar mixture thickened quite a bit when cooling or I may have thought I was doing something wrong. As it cooled, it also got very light in color, but when the vodka was added, the rich dark color came back. I used 1 cup of vanilla vodka and 1 1/2 cups regular vodka-Yummy! As I poured the Kahlua into a bottle, I put a small strainer inside of my funnel to catch a little sugar sediment that didn't want to dissolve. I had a Kahlua and Cream using this divine mixture, and may never go back to store bought. Thanks for sharing. Nick's Mom

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2011

      I have been making this great recipe for Christmas gifts every year since I found it. I collect unique bottles at garage sales and thrift stores and my friends always love it. I have started using 1/2 white sugar and 1/2 brown and really like it. I am thinking of adding just a little coconut extract this year and see how it comes out. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2010

      This is a great recipe! I like it a lot, and my friends too. And yes, adding a little brandy or cognac essens makes it a little smoother, and it almost make you white russian into an brandy alexander.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2009

      F-A-N-T-A-S-T-I-C! Thank you SO much for this. I made some Friday and two days later it's already GONE! Fab in coffee or with a little milk and ameretto! I am going to make another batch in the next couple of days - but this time I'm going to at LEAST tripple it! Also made a Tiramisu that turned out perfect with this addition. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2008

      All I can say is this recipe is awsome. I have made it twice now (double batches). I did find that cooking this without a cover is best. You need the extra moisture to boil out to create more of a syrup. I did add a little more water a few times during the cook time as it reduced down. I really enjoyed this. I would say its better than the store bought kahlua.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Dana's Homemade Kahlua

    Serving Size: 1 (2026 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1639.2
     
    Calories from Fat 0
    64%
    Total Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 21.7 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 252.6 g
    84%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 250.3 g
    1001%
    Protein 0.5 g
    1%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes