11 Reviews

Wow! Delicious recipe! I tried hard not to deviate but I was missing some things (like cinnamon sticks so used ground spice.) It still came out amazing. Thank you for sharing this.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sarah S. February 05, 2016

Great recipe. Can't wait to make this for my family. More recipes like this will always be appreciated.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kbrapport February 22, 2015

Definitely delicious, tasty and warm. Like sldumont I used "ready to eat" beluga lentils, since "black" lentils are very difficult to find in the UK, and thus I skipped steps 1 and 2. Also our cumin seeds don't really "crackle" much, so I fried them for about 10 minutes and then gave up.<br/><br/>It's not clear to me what kind of "tomato puree" the recipe is using, because for us that's the concentrated stuff in tubes, so I added a liberal squirt of that and plenty of water. I like sldumont's idea of using coconut milk for a vegan version, I'll have to try that.<br/><br/>Inspired by a BBC recipe (http://www.bbc.co.uk/food/recipes/blackdal_89042) I added ground cumin and lemon juice (and also a little garam masala powder) when the onions were already brown, and it worked out even better!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chris Wilson UK December 21, 2014

Delicious. I've been looking around for a good dal makhani recipe because I spend way too much in restaurants- I crave it all the time! I went with this recipe because of the review saying it's "just like in the restaurant-" it is! The packaging on my lentils told me to cook them for ten minutes, but that was definitely wrong because even after 30 minutes, my lentils were a lot firmer than they should have been. I also skipped the peppers since I didn't have any. However, the recipe turned out absolutely fantastic! Next time I'll cook the lentils longer to make sure the texture is right, but I'll definitely be making this many more times. Thank you for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Kirsten (#1!) November 13, 2012

I love cooking and following recipes. Often recipes are hit and miss, but this dish is fantastic! So yummy and delicious. I used 3 tablespoons of ghee and made it super HOT by adding half a habanero pepper and 1/8 t. of cayenne pepper rather than chili powder. I probably won't make it as hot the next time around and will definitely make it again. Thank you for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
valfaro July 12, 2012

I used beluga lentils and left them a little firmer than the recipe recommended. I also used coconut milk instead of cream and butter to make it a vegan dish. It was beautiful and delicious served with coconut rice! I can't wait to make it again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sldumont July 02, 2012

This was the closest recipe to what I have had in restaurants. I guess it is the Punjabi recipe that I like. Anyway, like other reviewers, I had to substitute ground for fresh, but it came out brilliantly! I can fully understand why this dish has become comfort food for some. Now one of my favourites! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Bill Bear July 07, 2010

Very yummy and pretty simple. The hardest part for me was converting what whole spices equaled ground. I made a few changes based on what I had in my pantry. I used bell pepper and cayenne pepper instead of the green chilies. I used ground for all the spices except clove. I used extra onion. I also used 4 garlic cloves and an 1.5 in piece of ginger instead of the paste. I used tomato paste and water instead of puree. Milk instead of cream. And (by mistake) cilantro instead of coriander. It was awesome. We all had seconds and even my 1 year old loved it. The dog won't even get a taste.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
504Jeana January 14, 2009

I really liked this a lot. I was trying to find a recipe similar to one I had at my favorite Indian restaurant. This came daringly close. I used red lentils instead of black because that was all I had on hand. I also served it with some flatbread and mint chutney. Very yummy, thank you!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bebeboy03 January 17, 2008

great recipe, was looking for a recipe like the one at my local indian restaurant and found this to be just as good. I used french green lentils because I did not have the black urad lentils. Also I doubled the amount of kidney beans and omitted the cream.Definetly making this one again !

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mandz December 27, 2007
Dal Makhani (Spicy Black Lentils)