Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Dal - As we like it!! Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Dal - As we like it!!

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on February 05, 2013

      This is now Dal As We Like It Too. Made as written and enjoyed by everyone in a group of eight. I got all the ingredients ready before starting which made production a breeze. Girl from Indian, thanks so very much for sharing this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2011

      Absolutely delicious. On par with my South Indian's mum's dal. The only modification I made was to reduce the amount of dal by 1/2 but keep the spices at the same quantity. I also put some chopped red pepper in a seperate bowl within the pressure cooker and added the cooked red pepper just before adding the cooked dal to the pan. I did miss out the green chillies as I wanted my kids to eat it but next time I will experiment by adding one green chilli.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2009

      Absolutely excellent recipe!! Definitely the best dal i've ever made - had great flavour. Added in some shredded coconut in at the end & served with chapati. Thanks for posting (^-^)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2008

    • on January 11, 2008

      This is really good. I added extra spices to our taste. Excellent instructions. Thank you for sharing dal the way you like it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2007

      Excellent that's what I would say, I had guest at my house for dinner and I made this dal, every1 loved it. Good idea to put chicken stock cube, it brings out a diffent flavour althogether.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2007

      Wow, this dal recipe will defenitely go into my collection of desi delights! Don't let the long list of spices intimidate you--the whole recipe is actuially very easy to assemble and red gram cooks very quickly. For a really authentic flavor, I also used about 2tsp amchoor powder (instead of lime juice)which is dried green mango powder--available in any Indian grocery. I also did a garlic/ginger/onion paste in my blender to save some time. This is the first dal recipe I saw that called for a stock cube and it really enhanced the flavor. A must-try recipe--thanks for posting Girl From India! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2007

      A huge hit with my whole family! While the dal was soaking, I sauteed the spices and other ingredients and then chucked the whole lot in a pot (with enough water to cook the dal) and simmered until it was done. Easy and delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2006

      I have not had dal this good since my last trip in India. The smell of it cooking had my neighbor tapping on the door for a taste before it was finished! I will double the recipe and eat it with chappati instead of rice next time. Thank you Girl From India for sharing this wonderful authentic recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2005

      I had to omit the stock cubes, cos i forgot to check whether i had any on hand. and i added amchur (mango powder) instead of lime juice. but on the whole, it turned out great. nice flavor. but i think i made the mistake of browning the onions too much. i guess just frying till a light brown will do.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2004

      This was the first time I've had Dal but it won't be the last! It was delicious served over plain steamed white rice alongside Octoberfest sausages. Initially I was intimidated by the long list of ingredients - but it was very easy to make. Thanx my friend Fay!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Dal - As we like it!!

    Serving Size: 1 (125 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 81.9
     
    Calories from Fat 40
    49%
    Total Fat 4.4 g
    6%
    Saturated Fat 0.5 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 0.1 mg
    0%
    Sodium 443.2 mg
    18%
    Total Carbohydrate 10.0 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 1.8 g
    7%
    Sugars 4.2 g
    17%
    Protein 1.9 g
    3%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    red gram

    gingerroot

    asafetida powder

    curry leaves

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites