Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / DAGING BUMBU BALI - Indonesian meat-dish Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    DAGING BUMBU BALI - Indonesian meat-dish

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on June 03, 2010

      I also took Bergy's advice and used the crockpot (well on this occasion Himself did) The only thing Himself left out was the shrimp paste because it got forgotten on the shopping list... we are really liking the combination of flavours here and the spicy heat is bonus, intensifying the flavours. We also omitted the oil because the grease from the meat was enough, and since the garlic cloves were small, Himself threw in 7 or 8 cloves. This recipe will be coming bacl to a Kiwidutch table SOONEST! Thanks !!! oh.. and it smelled so good that it never made it to the next day... sounds like this would be even BETTER if we could only manage that LOL

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2009

      I've never had this so I had no idea what it's supposed to taste like. However, I like the result. A very flavorful and savory beef stew. I followed Bergy's advise and used the crock pot. I sub the zest of one lime for the leaves. I also do not have ketjap manis so I used low-sodium soy sauce I have on hand but only about 1 tablespoon. Omitted the oil because I dumped the paste into the crockpot after the meat has been cooking. I did have to leave the lid of the crockpot open for the last hour or so to reduce the liquid. I used 3 tablespoon of vinegar and 1 tablespoon of sugar. Oh I only used one small chili - that was plenty hot. The kids can eat this, but that means more for me and hubby. It does taste better after a couple of days. Next time I am going to omit the water and just put everything into the crockpot and let her rip as the crockpot retain and produces moisture so I would not have to reduce the liquid at the end. Thank you for a wonderful beef stew. I may have to try this with corn bread.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2003

      This is one of my favourite recipes, I have been cooking one very similar for the last 33 years.The measurements are just slightly different and I don't normally use bay leaves. I think the shrimp paste is an essential in the recipe (even if it stinks to start with). I used about 2 tablespoons vinegar and 2 teaspoons palm sugar. As I like it hot I used 2 Thai chillies as that is what I grow. Will always be one of my favourite recipes.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2002

      I love the wonderful flavor of this Indonesian meat dish. When I looked at the recipe I decided it was perfect for the crockpot (hope you don't mind that I took this liberty). I also had to substitute a couple of ingredients it worked! So here's what I did: I put the meat in the crock-pot and 1/2 cup water, turned it on high. Followed the recipe and processed the sauce ingredients., I used 4 Jalapenos instead of the bird's eye chili, 2 large prawns to replace the shrimp paste and 2 tbsp lime juice for the Kaffir leaves. I added this to the crock-pot left it on high for a total of 1 1/2 hrs turned to low for2 1/2 hours - perfect. Used 3 tbsp vinegar and apprx 1 tsp sugar. It tasted wonderful when finished but I did as you suggested and put it in the fridge for 2 days - I had it last night over plain rice - It definately mellowed and took on a stronger, blended flavor - however it would have been good on the first night as well. Also took your advice and fried a banana, perfect. Had some chutney on the side and a small green salad. This will be part of my next Indonesian party dinner Thanks Annelies for a really good recipe

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2010

      This is a very different kind of beef dish. Nailing the sweet, sour, spicy balance was tricky but worth the perseverance. The end result is a fork tender, flavorsome dish that smells incredible. This dish woke up my families tastebuds after a Winters worth of tomatoey stews. Would recommend giving this one a try.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2008

      I've never had this before so I have nothing to compare it with. Anyways, we all loved it! I will definitely be making this again! I found most of the ingredients I needed at the local Asian market, including the shrimp paste. For the ketjap manis, I used Ketjap Manis. Thank you for a wonderful recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2008

      Wonderful wonderful dish :) I love it, didnt have shrimp paste so used a little fish sauce. I also used a lot less oil than called for

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2006

      Dave saw me simmering the beef and announced that there was 'no way' he was going to enjoy this meal. Well we proved him wrong didn't we ;). I made this the day before, as suggested by Pets. This is full of wonderful flavours and very easy to put together. A definite family keeper. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2006

      Was served this dish by the chef herself as part of a Rijstafel and it was excellent! Nice spiced flavor and the meat was very tender. Thanks for the great dinner! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2005

      Delicious and oh, so easy to cook. I used cubed chuck steak and it was melt-in-your-mouth tender, and lime zest instead of a kaffir leaf. This will become a regular dish at Daydream's abode.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2002

      No Bergy offcourse I don't mind!! I only own a crockpot now for a few weeks and this week I have done the same with this recipe, doubled the recipe, used half for a dinner party and frozen the rest, it worked great, long live the crockpot!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for DAGING BUMBU BALI - Indonesian meat-dish

    Serving Size: 1 (224 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 419.3
     
    Calories from Fat 283
    67%
    Total Fat 31.4 g
    48%
    Saturated Fat 7.5 g
    37%
    Cholesterol 65.7 mg
    21%
    Sodium 68.7 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 9.5 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 1.3 g
    5%
    Sugars 4.1 g
    16%
    Protein 24.8 g
    49%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    sambal oelek

    shrimp paste

    kaffir lime leaves

    ketjap manis

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes