Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Dad's Venison Chili Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Dad's Venison Chili

    Average Rating:

    7 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-7 of 7

    Sort by:

    • on September 12, 2008

      Fantastic! I used a green pepper instead of the yellow due to cost and used beer in place of the water. It was perfect. Thank you. Made for Sept 2008 Cooking Challenge: Beyond Burgers. . .Ground Meat!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2014

      Absolutely AMAZING! Made this with small cubed venison, green pepper, Rotel diced Mexican tomatoes with lime juice, red kidney beans, and chicken broth. I omitted the cinnamon and cumin salt. Can't wait for leftovers! Will definitely make this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2014

      This was amazing. I did brown the venison in some olive oil as even with a nonstick pan it sticks. Also hard to saute onions and peppers dry, some oil was definitely needed. I could not find any anasazi beans so I used ready cooked canned red beans. I have a question, were the beans you used dried and soaked overnight? Canned beans would likely have disintigrated had they been cooked for 1.5 hours. I added my canned beans in for the last 30mins. Chili powders are different too depending on their source. I buy my chili powder from a local Indian store. It is VERY strong. 3 tablespoons of that would have made the chili inedible. I started with 0.5 tablespoon and tried it after half an hour of cooking. I ended up using 1 tablespoon in total. This was excellent chili.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2013

      I went on the heavier side (1/2 tsp of cayenne) of spice and it was still weak enough for the kiddos. Like the other reviewers, I had a green pepper and beer instead of water. Delish! I added jalapenos and a little cayenne to my bowl and the kids lapped up their bowls without a complaint about spice. I'd repeat it in a heartbeat. Simple and most ingredients on hand.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2012

      Great recipe, I am not a cook but love to hunt. Found this one & with a few minor alterations my family loves it. Used Green Pepper, 1 Can of beans & replaced the water with beer. I also cooked up 4 strips of bacon & cut them into the chili with kitchen scissors! Thank you very much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2008

      Wow, this was GOOD! I didn't have 3 tbsp of chili powder so I added 1 tbsp ancho powder and one tbsp chipotle (that may have been a mistake!) and I had to cut the cumin to 2 tbsp for the same reason. Also didn't have ground venison, only venison stew meat which I cut into bite sized little chunks and despite the heat I created with the chipotles, this was fabulous!!!! I love the cumin flavor and look forward to this with the correct amounts. I used regular chili beans and that worked out ok. Oh, and I love the addition of the bay leaf, I would have never thought of that! Topped with both cheddar and sour cream, even my picky dd ate this and liked it. This is a new fave!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2007

      Very tasty! No Anasazi beans here, so I used kidney beans.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Deer Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Dad's Venison Chili

    Serving Size: 1 (430 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 292.6
     
    Calories from Fat 92
    31%
    Total Fat 10.3 g
    15%
    Saturated Fat 4.0 g
    20%
    Cholesterol 90.8 mg
    30%
    Sodium 707.0 mg
    29%
    Total Carbohydrate 24.2 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 5.8 g
    23%
    Sugars 10.1 g
    40%
    Protein 29.2 g
    58%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    anasazi beans

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes