13 Reviews

Going to try this tonight but Im going to substitute the Pork Sausage for turkey, to help reduce the calorie sand as well instead of pasta Im serving it with Cabbage steaks. will let you know how it all comes together, Also I am going to add a few Jalepenos for some Kick!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
phonegirl January 13, 2014

This is a regular in our family. We keep ingredients on hand in the freezer/cupboard for unexpected guest dinners. Our family does prefer jarred roasted red peppers and we use a frozen pepper and onion mix. Goes well to potluck in a crockpot.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
more time momma July 22, 2013

This is a great recipe! I did add some fresh thyme, and used red onion, but the base of this is very flavorful. I will make this again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Eliza G May 24, 2010

I made this for the first time and we absolutely loved it ! My husband and I both said it is a keeper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bertalee46 May 18, 2009

I had pasta for lunch today so I made this dish but with no pasta. We both enjoyed it. I only added some crushed chili peppers and used 1 jar of peppers and fresh orange peppers. As well I sliced the sausages. I kinda think that if I chose to put it with pasta that it wouldn't have enough liquid though. It was very quick to put together and very colorful. Thanks for the recipe post.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FrenchBunny January 13, 2009

This was yummy! I used fresh bell peppers (1 red, 1 green and 1 orange) sliced instead of red peppers in a jar. I used sweet italian sausage (sliced) and also added some marinated artichoke hearts. A filling meal without the heave sauces. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ARathkamp December 13, 2008

We liked it. I like the fact that it's light compared to the typical alfredo dishes that we eat. I only used 1 jar of red peppers and 1 lb of sausage (I just sliced it). But I think I will use 1 1/2 next time. Also, I am going to use a little bit of crushed red pepper to spice it up a bit..

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nate & Noah's Mommy September 06, 2008

Wow! What a nice change from salads It's been in the 90's and over 100 degrees for the last week. We had this with mild Italian sausage and no pasta. I put in a pound of sliced mushrooms. Meat and veggies and a loaf of French bread. This was a lovely light dinner. Thanks for posting, and thanks to Dad.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Countrywife May 22, 2008

Yummmm, I prepared this exactly as written and wouldn't change a thing. It was so good, I could eat it without putting it on pasta. What a great meal and thanks for sharing this keeper, Rockin Robyn.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Merlot December 30, 2007

DH rated this and said he didn't mind it at all.. that's a 4 star rating in anyone elses language becuase he's tough with rating pasta recipes. DH summed it up that it was a nice respectable dish that he liked but that it lacked that special something that would have taken it to another level. That said, he definiately wouldn't mind if I experiment with this recipe to make it perfect for him. To this end he suggested that I add some fresh herbs to make the flavours stronger next time, so that's where we will be headed with this recipe next time it's on the menu. In the meantime this is a brillaint recipe with bucketloads of potential and I'm pleased to have made it. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kiwidutch September 15, 2007
Dads Sausage, Peppers and Onions