8 Reviews

We don't get shredded wheat in my country anymore (sadly), but I tried this on Weet-bix, using honey as my sweetener and I have to say, I love your Dad's "outside of the box" take on cereal - this was great! A wonderful way to get some extra protein into a quicker-than-quick, hot breakfast. So tasty - a definite winner and a keeper for me. Thank you for posting this recipe - I love it :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shazzie July 16, 2013

I tried this because I like shredded wheat and I like peanut butter, and I am looking for some quick and healthy breakfast solutions before heading out to work. I also love the heart-warming story in its introduction! However, this arrangement doesn't do anything for me, and I won't be making this again for me. I gave this 4 stars because I would definitely try this out on kids! I would think that kids will love it! :) BTW, the first time I made it it exploded in my microwave! Thanks, AmateurPastryChef, for posting! Made for Healthy Choices Tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mersaydees January 01, 2009

Used 2 teaspoons of sugar and the results were suprisingly good. Will certainly do again for a quick, warm breakfast on a cold winter morning. Thanks APC.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MTDavids November 16, 2008

Something different and fun for the kids. I used natural peanut butter, and since it doesn't have sweetener, I added a swirl of chocolate syrup and a few drops of chocolate stevia. The warmth of the milk is great with shredded wheat; I would never have thought of it! Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
annlouise June 07, 2008

love this! had this with weetabix and didn't add any additional sugar since i thought the peanut butter would provide enough sweetness. thanks for a wonderful way to start my day amateurpastrychef!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
grapefruit February 03, 2008

I'll definitely give this five stars...but with reservations. The peanut butter alone gives much more sweetness than our pallates regognize at first tasting. I have tried this today with both one TBSP sugar, and one tsp sugar. I find the 1-2tsp more to my liking. Just enough sweetness to fit the bill. I will also try this with rice/soy combo milk. I generally find that I need/require NO sugar with this milk. Good recipe, and awesomely nutritious! Thanks for sharing. Added to my "Energy/Nutrition" cookbook.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DEEP August 18, 2007

Definitely gets the family vote of approval.Good quick breakfast idea.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Missy Wombat August 17, 2007

Sweet and tasty! And a lovely way to remember your dad.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shellbelle May 25, 2007
Dad's Peanut Butter on Shredded Wheat