Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Dad's Lasagna Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Dad's Lasagna

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on September 28, 2013

      its hard to find good lasagna...I never made lasagna before this...this recipe was easy to follow and very good...I added a teaspoon of parsley and I used the ricotta cheese and the parmesan cheese when I made mine...everyone loved it and I will be making it again...thanks for sharing this recipe!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2009

      Made this and it was great! I used 2 cans of fire roasted diced tomatoes, and as simmering the sauce added 2 full can of water, as I never cook my noodles anymore! I also put a ladle of sauce, then start with the noodles to keep the noodles from sticking to the pan. I also used fresh basil and parsley instead of the dried. I baked at 350 for about 45 minutes. It was a hit!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2009

      I've made lasagna a couple of times before this and had issues with it being sloppy, but this turned out super. I made a couple of modifications... For some reason I thought the recipe called for ground beef, so I browned up about a pound. So I used five Italian sausages and about one pound of meat. I also did not have three cups of cottage cheese so I only used two. Anyway - it turned out super good. Probably close to the best lasagna I've ever had. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2009

    • on January 21, 2008

      My first try at homemade lasagna and OMG!!!! Loved loved loved this recipe! I made this last week as written, word for word, for a family gathering(10ppl, including kids) and everyone loved it. I made this again last night, only this time it was only for 4 ppl so I halved the recipe. We didn't have enough lasagna noodles...so I used lasagna for the bottom layer and fettucine for the rest. Also I used about 1 lb or so of homemade tomato spaghetti sauce instead of the tomatoes and tomato paste. The second one, as altered as it was, turned out great too!! But I have to say I loved your original recipe and I will definately be using this recipe again. Plz say thank you to your father and give him a big kiss on the cheek for me!! And thank you Nurbel for posting(:

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2007

      Sauce is very, very good. Next time I make recipe, however, I will use shredded cheese rather than sliced-shredded melts better, especially on top.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2007

      Since I do not eat pork I used ground turkey breast. I used the no boil noodles and they turned out great and saved time. I also used tomatoes in basil & garlic. As such I omitted the whole basil and substituted in some oregano. It turned out WONDERFUL! Using the cheese slices really worked out well as the ricotta mixture was much easier to spread over the noodles. My DH just loved it. It also heated up the next day very well. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2007

      The sauce on this was the best. I made a point to use plum tomatoes, which make the best sauce in my opinion. Also used spicy Italian sausage, and loved that, although my son said that made it too hot. Kudos should go to Miss Diggy for the picture, because that is what caught my eye to try this in the first place.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2006

      Awesome recipe. Kudos to you and your dad for this wonderful and now permentant addition to my household meal roster.. my son who is not a big pasta fan came back for 3 servings of this lasagna and then asked when I was making it again

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2006

      I hadn't made lasagne for years, but I just had a "hankering" for it and chose your recipe and I'm glad I did. I made four layers and topped it all with shredded garlic asiago cheese. Very delicious and quite easy to make. Thanks for submitting this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2006

      I loved this recipe! I found it easy to prepare and the taste was sensational! My DH said it was the best lasagna he had ever had. Thank you for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2006

      Loved it! This was also my first time making homemade lasagna and it came out great! Quite fool proof.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2006

      This was my first time making homemade lasagna & it was wonderful! It was very easy & very tasty, my husband & mother loved it as well. The only changes that I made to the receipe were that I used ground beef instead of sausage & I put all my seasonings & tomatoes into the food chopper to make the sauce smooth instead of chunky. This is definately a dish that I will be making again & again! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2006

      Ok, I'll admit it I needed to make some substitutions and minor changes, yet I don't think they affected the core recipe. I didn't have sausage, I had ground pork so I added 1t. fennel seed, 1t. oregano, 1t. garlic salt and dash pepper while slowly browning the meat. We're the kind of girls who like a saucy lasagne; for the garlic bread of course. I only had one 14.5 oz. can of tomatoes, so I used that, the 2 sm cans of tomato paste, and added a small can of tomato sauce and one 14.5 oz. can water. I let all this simmer with the spices when the recipe indicated to add tomatoes. I layer different than Nurbel's dad, always starting with sauce (so noodles don't stick)and always topping with the mozzarella cheese. This time I added a twist: I discovered this spinach in the refrigerator (fresh leaves) that needed to be used so I added them in a single layer to the center of the lasagne. (You all realize I'm including all this so I can replicate it, right?) I will never go to that fancy restaurant downtown that charges $12.50 for only one piece again, never. This is authentic enough for my Italian friend. My daughter was upset because zaar only goes to 5 stars! Many more stars to you!! Thank you Nurbel, please tell your dad his lasagne ROCKS!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2006

      Made this tonight (with sasauge) and my hubby really liked it. Added fennel seeds and olives to the sauce, and topped a final layer with mozzarella cheese. I put it together this morning and placed it in the fridge. When it was dinner time I popped it in the oven and served it with garlic bread! YUMM-O! If you are looking for a classic lasagna recipe, look no further! Thanks for sharing!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2005

      I made this last weekend for my granddaughter's 2nd birthday party. What a hit - from the little kids to the big kids! I did have to leave this warming in the oven a bit longer than expected and the top got a bit brown but no one complained. Not a scrap left in the pan. My daughter, son-in-law, and the baby are coming here to visit on Saturday. Guess what they've requested? Thanks for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2005

      This was a requested meal by my BIL for his birthday dinner, and boy did he LOVE it, as did his wife, and DH and I. It was super, and the sausage was divine in it. I did add 1/2 cup of water to the sauce because I was using ready to bake noodles, and it turned out JUST PRERFECT! I will definitely be making this again. Thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Dad's Lasagna

    Serving Size: 1 (289 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1000.5
     
    Calories from Fat 527
    52%
    Total Fat 58.6 g
    90%
    Saturated Fat 29.6 g
    148%
    Cholesterol 235.0 mg
    78%
    Sodium 2788.9 mg
    116%
    Total Carbohydrate 59.0 g
    19%
    Dietary Fiber 4.9 g
    19%
    Sugars 11.9 g
    47%
    Protein 59.8 g
    119%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites