Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Dad's Homemade Chocolate Pudding Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Dad's Homemade Chocolate Pudding

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on September 22, 2012

      So easy! For a bit of a different taste, I added a few pinches of cinnamon and cardamom along with the dry ingredients. A hit! Thanks for such a delicious recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2011

      This pudding is awesome! It took just about as much time to make this as it takes to make instant pudding and it was so much better! It was thick and rich and creamy and delicious! My 1 1/2 year old, 3 1/2 year old, husband, and I devoured it! I will never buy pudding mix again! Thanks for a super easy and super great recipe!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2011

      OMG, this is amazing! sooooooo easy an soooo good, i have been diagnosed diabetic about 8mths ago and am struggling with my diet as have a sweet tooth. I stumbled upon this recipe lookin for diabetic puddings, an absolute godsend for me, I changed nothing, its perfect, thank you so much you have no idea how much you have helped me.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2014

      Awesome recipe ! I used coconut palm sugar in place of white sugar or Splenda . Worked perfectly ! I like the " heaping tablespoon " factor since I'm lazy at measuring ! You can use an extra 1/2 cup milk & approx a tsp more cornstarch if you like it less sweet . I tried it both ways ! Fantastic !!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2013

      The pudding was a little thicker than what I was used to, but I was okay with that until I put it in the fridge for later to have for dessert with the kiddos. When I pulled it out of the fridge it was like jello, I couldn't serve this i thought. So instead of chalking this up, I rewarmed it, added some more milk to where I could stir it some, and glopped half of it in my blender, added a little more milk, pureed & then blended it until it was a smooth consistency that it should have been. Then i also did this with the second batch. Then it came out perfect. So just a tip for those who want to refrigerate their pudding for later, and pull out a big jello blob, don't be alarmed. Just follow this simple tip and you'll be just fine.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2013

      I made this as written using sugar but the chocolate flavor was lacking and was a bit overpowered by a strong sugar aftertaste. It was very quick and easy but I won't make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2012

      i used 1 cup of regular milk and 1 cup of coconut milk...it's good!! Definitely a different taste but awesome!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2011

    • on January 03, 2010

      I honestly have never made homemade pudding before, and was surprised how fast it goes from a liqued to pudding consistency! The texture of the pudding is wonderful, but it didn't seem quite sweet enough for me. I used 4 tablespoons splenda and 2 tablespoons sugar. I forgot to put the vanilla in, so maybe that had something to do with it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2009

      Very, very good! 5 stars from my hubby, kids, and ME! My youngest daughter and I are the chocolate lovers of the family. We really enjoyed it. My husband thinks it tastes really rich. He described it as having frosting like richness to it. He was suprised to find out it was lowfat. Thanks for sharing this!!!! We will be making his often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2009

      I agree with Toni-This is SO much better than the instant stuff. I used Herhey's Special Dark cocoa, so it was extra rich. I used 4 tbls. Splenda and 2 Tbls. sugar and nonfat milk. Worked great. This took not much longer to put together than instant, so I think it will be my go-to chocolate pudding fix recipe. I think some orange extract would be good in it also! Made for Spring 2009 PAC.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2009

      Thanks Dad! When you get accustomed to the instant you forget how fantastic homemade pudding really is. I used skim milk and a zero calorie sweetner so this was 2 points per serving. I can see adding instant coffee crystals or peppermint extract for flavor variations. Otherwise wouldn't change a thing. Made for Photo Tag - Share the Love - February 2009.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2009

      This recipe is delicious & so easy. It took me right back to my childhood days. No more buying powder pudding mixes for my kids...this is a winner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2006

    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Dad's Homemade Chocolate Pudding

    Serving Size: 1 (152 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 194.7
     
    Calories from Fat 42
    21%
    Total Fat 4.7 g
    7%
    Saturated Fat 2.7 g
    13%
    Cholesterol 17.0 mg
    5%
    Sodium 99.5 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 33.5 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 0.5 g
    2%
    Sugars 19.0 g
    76%
    Protein 4.5 g
    9%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites