Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Dad's Favorite Chicken Enchiladas Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Dad's Favorite Chicken Enchiladas

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on January 11, 2012

      The marinade is fantastic! I use it to make tacos, similar to LuLu's taco shop in Phoenix. I have been searching and trying many different recipes since I have moved to VT. There are zero quality Mexican restraunts here. I was a bit surprised that this great recipe called for canned enchilada sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2011

      This was a huge hit at my house! I cooked the chicken in a pan, and the only thing I changed was that I added some diced onions and a couple dashes of red crushed peppers to the chicken while it was cooking. (I did not use the chicken stock either) I bought 2 lbs of chicken breast and it made exactly 10 enchiladas. This recipe will definitely be added to my list of favorites!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2010

      I used just the chicken part of this recipe and was happy with the flavours. I did, however, add some fried onion and green pepper. It made a great enchilada filler and will now be my go to recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2010

      Really great enchiladas. They were pretty easy to make and tasted great and spicy, without being too hot. I don't own a crock pot, so I did the skillet method and it came out great. They don't sell enchilada sauce here so I made some myself with Mexican Enchilada Sauce (Mexican Enchilada Sauce), which worked perfectly and can be made while the chicken cooks! Other than that I followed the recipe exactly. Your dad is right and thanks for sharing. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2009

      I have made this recipe so many times that I can do it in my sleep. It is absolutely terrific! Simple modifications make it interesting, but the basic plan is just as CraftScout has designed it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2009

      My family, even my two little girls, love these enchiladas. My sister is the one who found the recipe and turned me on to it and I am glad she did. I have made a couple changes to it that we think it quite delicious so I thought maybe I would share those suggestions to see if anyone else would like it. I saute mushrooms and onions and add it to the chcken mixture and I also add some lipton mexican rice to them. I layer all those in the tortilla and my kids and family just eat it up! Thank you for such a good recipe and I hope you get a chance to try mu suggestions. I think you will be pleased. Thank You, Tamarah

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2009

      I really enjoyed this recipe. The meat is very flavorful--much better than the usual "taco mix" flavor. Very easy, marinated in fridge and then to the crockpot. Will make this again (my 17 year old DS even gave me a compliment on it)! Wonder about using beef cubes or pork also? Might try that. So thanks for a great, easy, go to recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2009

      This was very good!! I have been meaning to cook this for a month, but have never got around to it. Boy and I sad I waited. These were wonderful and easy to make. I used the skillet as I didn't have time for the Crockpot, but the meat was still tender and tasty. I may have made it a little too spicy (I may have added a little more pepper *wink* ) but other that that, this was a wonderful dish with so much I can do with it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2009

      These are FANTASTIC!!!!!! Tasted VERY authentic, too! I can see why they are your dad's favorite, and now mine, also!! :) I used 4 breasts and made 10 of them. (I froze the rest of the chicken mixture, about half left.) I added a 14 oz. can chicken broth to the crock pot and it was perfect. I used a 19 oz. can enchilada sauce, and used about 2/3 of it. Saving the rest for another use. I topped them with 2 cups/8 oz. bag Sargento 4 blend mexican cheese ( monterey jack, cheddar, queso quesadilla, and asadero), and served with lettuce, tomato, sour cream and black olives. Guacamole for my hubby and jalapenos for me! What a supper!!!! This will be my go-to recipe! Thanks so much!!! Made for the ZWT5! Oh, and after shredding, I did add 3/4 cup total of spicy juices from the crock pot. DELISH! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2008

      Super! This chicken would also be great straight from the crockpot into soft taco shells. Thanks for posting! Laurah

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2008

      Made this for my family a couple of nights ago and they all loved it! It is very easy to make and has wonderful flavor. My family all agreed that this recipe was a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2008

      this is very easy to make and the taste is just great. also a very pretty dish when you serve add some pico or chunky slasa for additinal color my entire family loved this and have ask for it again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2007

      Your dad is RIGHT! DEEELISH! I started too late so didn't have time to put them in the crock pot. Had to have a taste after I cooked them in the skillet. AWESOME flavor. Won't be ordering these out any more. Thanks CraftScout and Dad!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2007

      I'm a big fan of Mexican food so this one was bound to be a winner - and not only was it delicious but quick and easy to make. I added some kidney beans just to make it go a bit further (as the kids are fans too). Thanks for putting this one in the World Tour!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Dad's Favorite Chicken Enchiladas

    Serving Size: 1 (362 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 629.3
     
    Calories from Fat 241
    38%
    Total Fat 26.8 g
    41%
    Saturated Fat 9.3 g
    46%
    Cholesterol 102.4 mg
    34%
    Sodium 1439.7 mg
    59%
    Total Carbohydrate 55.3 g
    18%
    Dietary Fiber 5.4 g
    21%
    Sugars 6.0 g
    24%
    Protein 40.6 g
    81%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes