Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Dad's Casserole Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Dad's Casserole

    Average Rating:

    104 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 104

    Sort by:

    • on September 16, 2003

      Scrumptious! I love the richness and the spark of flavor from the green onions. I made it for two, so I halved the recipe and I also low-carb'd it (I used 2.5 cups of finely shredded cabbage instead of noodles). Thanks Bekah for posting this wonderful comfort food recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2003

      I made this last night, and I was not dissapointed. I did substitute a grated medium onion for the green onions (didn't have green onions on hand). I also used non-fat sour cream, non-fat cream cheese, and I used light cheese. I had a wonderful taste. Thank you for sharing this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2004

      Bekah, this is a great casserole! I honestly had my doubts because there didn't seem to be enough spice in it for me. I was wrong! I took a spoon and had a bite of the creamy mixture with the sauce and was really surprised at how good the combo was. Now, I did have one issue with this - and this isn't a deal breaker, but I didn't cover the pan and wish I had because my noodles got a little crunchy on top. The next time, I would cover with foil and remove the foil while the cheese is melting. Oh! I also added a little more cheese since we are cheese freaks. My family loved this and the green onion in the cheese/sour cream mixture is so good! I served this up with some garlic bread and a glass of wine and the guys both had two huge servings. This will be another regular, thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2004

      This was so good. I made it exactly as directed and was liked by all. It was so filling and it made so much we had another full meal. It is good the next day too. Thanks.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2003

      Sounded weird but yum yum! Great stuff!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2003

      I made this recipe as is and it was wonderful and rich! Thanks for a great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2014

      Wow this was good. Have had it before with cottage cheese for the cream cheese but I think this way is even better. Excellent- thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2012

      We thought the sour cream/cream cheese combo was a lil too powerful. Not for everyone....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2011

      This was very good! My husband loved it! I read the comments about people halving the cream cheese and sour cream but went for the full amount instead of halving it and it was great for us. The only thing i think i would changes was use spagetti instead...the egg noodles are a little thin for the sauce. Other than that it was great. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2011

      This recipe is a favorite of mine, but the first time I made it there was a bit too much sour cream/cream cheese so now I just cut that part in half and it's perfect! It makes a great family meal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2010

      I have been making this recipe for a while now. I cut the recipe in half but use the full amount of ground beef and tomato sauce. I only use 2 oz. cream cheese, and 1/4 cup sour cream. I mix the noodles with the tomato sauce mixture, put layer of noodle mixture on bottom, spread with cream cheese mixture, add layer of cheddar cheese, more noodle mixture and top with cheddar cheese. Sometimes I add yellow onion to ground beef instead of the green onion. I bake covered for 20 minutes and then uncover and bake for 10 more minutes. Serve with garlic bread.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2010

      I have to agree with others. Making the recipe exactly as written my family thought there was WAY too much sour cream/cream cheese. I might try it again and 1/2 the mixture and see if I can up my rating.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2010

      I tried this recipe to use up some egg noodles I had. I loved this and think it would be great with the addition of a can of corn. I did not use all the cream cheese to try and cut down on the richness other reviewers had mentioned. My hubby and kids did not like it at all but then again they are not fans of egg noodles.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2010

      Waaaayyyy too much sour cream and cream cheese! It is all you taste... Yuck!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2010

      This was so simple, tasty and filling. (And cheap!) Next time I make it, I will experiment with decreasing the cream cheese/sour cream mixture and increasing the amount of tomato sauce, as it was a bit rich for our family. But it was delicious! And great for kids.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2010

      This casserole sure was delicious! Very easy and fast to whip up. It made great leftovers as well! I didnt have enough egg noodles, so I used penne pasta. I did think the tomato mixture needed more seasonings during cooking. So I added in some garlic and onion powder, italian seasoning, a little more sugar, and basil. Also I thought the hamburger mix was a little dry so I added in a thing of diced tomatoes to give it more sauce and texture. Put all together and baked, this was great! I cant wait to make again and have some crusty garlic bread with this. How much easier can this be! Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2010

      ALERT, ALERT casserole snobs - this recipe is real Southern comfort food. Yum! Easy to prepare, easy on the budget and should be served at anyone's table. I used ground turkey, added a little more garlic and was short on quantity of sour crm and crm cheese, so I supplemented Queso Fresca, heated red and white mixtures together, stirred in noodles and topped w/ cheddar. Baked for 20 mins. Thank you for sharing :D

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2010

      I am always looking for new recipes for ground beef, and this one blew me away, I loved it! Even my fussy 7 year old daughter loved it so much. I had no green onions so I added regular instead, and it was fabulous! Thank you for sharing!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2010

      Very good meal. Made this at the last minute after I decided I didn't want leftovers and it came together so fast. I used a 9x9 square dish and it worked great. Definitely a different flavor than I was expecting. My DH loved it! I have a feeling this would freeze really well too. I'm looking forward to having it for lunch tomorrow. It is a little rich, but with a side salad it is a great homecooked dinner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2010

      This is fabulous. Both my husband and my three kids loved it. This was so easy to make and pretty basic ingriedients. I was excpecting a lasagna flavor but it was really different. I didn't have any tomato sausce so I used 1 small can of tomato paste and 1 lg can of diced tomatoes that were pre seasoned with oregno and basil. It gave it a good hearty feel. I am adding more stars!!! This is my husbands absolute favorite meal of all time!!! Thank you, Thank you thank you!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Dad's Casserole

    Serving Size: 1 (304 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 926.7
     
    Calories from Fat 539
    58%
    Total Fat 59.9 g
    92%
    Saturated Fat 30.8 g
    154%
    Cholesterol 247.0 mg
    82%
    Sodium 2256.0 mg
    94%
    Total Carbohydrate 55.3 g
    18%
    Dietary Fiber 4.2 g
    16%
    Sugars 12.5 g
    50%
    Protein 42.7 g
    85%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites