93 Reviews

This was the best brisket in the world! Buy a big brisket cause you're gonna want leftovers I promise. Do yourself a favor; buy reynolds foil bags and use kc masterpiece regular flavor. After the 5 hours cooking, scrape off the fat layer and discard. Then pour the sauce on. After the last hour cooking. cool for the 20 min., then cool covered for 30 more min., then slice and pour more kc masterpiece sauce over and reheat in 350 oven just to heat. Perfect. Great sweet bbq sandwiches the next day.

20 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Scott Keith September 12, 2002

I made this brisket for a huge family gathering for Father's Day. I followed the recipe exactly and the result was rave reviews. I have tried many brisket cooking methods and this is the best. It is an easy recipe that has splendid results. It is now my default recipe for brisket.

19 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AngelicFantasia July 07, 2002

Wowie!! This is worth way more than 5 stars. So easy and the men in my family said it was the best BBQ brisket they had ever had. Compliments don't get any better. Thanks for this incredible recipe.

17 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sunflower May 28, 2002

I made this for the Zaar Cookathon week and our 4th of July cookout. This was so easy. The smoked flavor of the brisket was incredible. So tender and juicey. Family and guests all raved about this as they were devouring it. NurseDi, we love your recipes. Thanks :)

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PixieDust July 04, 2002

This is without reservation the BEST brisket my husband and I have ever put in our mouths. Yes, we were squealing. I couldn't believe how easy this was. The meat was so tender and the smoked flavor was intense. Simply amazing. Thanks again Nurse Di.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gail Blue Eyes August 13, 2002

Truly delicious. Didn't change a thing and there are no leftovers. Will definitely make again.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bogey'sMom June 10, 2002

I wish I had known how easy it was to make such a wonderful brisket a long time ago! It always seemed like it would be so difficult to me but, with this method its not! I have made it several times and it has come out perfectly every time. The only thing I do different is cut the cooking time in half since I only use 3 lbs of brisket instead of the 5-7 called for in the recipe. Its sooooo YUMMY and EASY, my two favorite things! Thanks for posting! =)

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Short Order Queen April 21, 2011

Wonderful...simply wonderful. I used a 12 lb brisket,dumped everything in together, marinated overnight and put in the oven this morning. Drained off all the fat and sliced most of the fat off the brisket then added KC Masterpiece and finished cooking as directed. We ate half of it today and now have plenty leftover for wonderful yummy BBQ sandwiches next week. Thanks for the great recipe. DAnzy

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Danzy May 11, 2003

This brisket was incredible. I made the mistake of cooking it in a roaster that lifted off the pan so the meat started to get a bit dry, but added a bottle of beer to the roasting pan and it turned out great!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ShinyMoustache April 23, 2010

This was my first brisket, ever! It came was great and my family loved it. I had a smaller cut so I did adjust the time and amount of ingredients. I followed the other suggestions and 1) marinated it fat side down, 2) I used spice powders instead of salt and added a little extra salt, 3) baked on 250, and 4) trimmed the fat after 5 hours. The only change I plan to make next time is to try it in the crockpot. This recipe is a keeper.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TeresaD March 08, 2010
Dad's Best Brisket