Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Dad's Best Brisket Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Dad's Best Brisket

    Average Rating:

    92 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 92

    Sort by:

    • on July 07, 2002

      I made this brisket for a huge family gathering for Father's Day. I followed the recipe exactly and the result was rave reviews. I have tried many brisket cooking methods and this is the best. It is an easy recipe that has splendid results. It is now my default recipe for brisket.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2002

      This was the best brisket in the world! Buy a big brisket cause you're gonna want leftovers I promise. Do yourself a favor; buy reynolds foil bags and use kc masterpiece regular flavor. After the 5 hours cooking, scrape off the fat layer and discard. Then pour the sauce on. After the last hour cooking. cool for the 20 min., then cool covered for 30 more min., then slice and pour more kc masterpiece sauce over and reheat in 350 oven just to heat. Perfect. Great sweet bbq sandwiches the next day.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2002

      Wowie!! This is worth way more than 5 stars. So easy and the men in my family said it was the best BBQ brisket they had ever had. Compliments don't get any better. Thanks for this incredible recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2002

      I made this for the Zaar Cookathon week and our 4th of July cookout. This was so easy. The smoked flavor of the brisket was incredible. So tender and juicey. Family and guests all raved about this as they were devouring it. NurseDi, we love your recipes. Thanks :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2002

      This is without reservation the BEST brisket my husband and I have ever put in our mouths. Yes, we were squealing. I couldn't believe how easy this was. The meat was so tender and the smoked flavor was intense. Simply amazing. Thanks again Nurse Di.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2002

      Truly delicious. Didn't change a thing and there are no leftovers. Will definitely make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2011

      I wish I had known how easy it was to make such a wonderful brisket a long time ago! It always seemed like it would be so difficult to me but, with this method its not! I have made it several times and it has come out perfectly every time. The only thing I do different is cut the cooking time in half since I only use 3 lbs of brisket instead of the 5-7 called for in the recipe. Its sooooo YUMMY and EASY, my two favorite things! Thanks for posting! =)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2003

      Wonderful...simply wonderful. I used a 12 lb brisket,dumped everything in together, marinated overnight and put in the oven this morning. Drained off all the fat and sliced most of the fat off the brisket then added KC Masterpiece and finished cooking as directed. We ate half of it today and now have plenty leftover for wonderful yummy BBQ sandwiches next week. Thanks for the great recipe. DAnzy

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2010

      This brisket was incredible. I made the mistake of cooking it in a roaster that lifted off the pan so the meat started to get a bit dry, but added a bottle of beer to the roasting pan and it turned out great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2010

      This was my first brisket, ever! It came was great and my family loved it. I had a smaller cut so I did adjust the time and amount of ingredients. I followed the other suggestions and 1) marinated it fat side down, 2) I used spice powders instead of salt and added a little extra salt, 3) baked on 250, and 4) trimmed the fat after 5 hours. The only change I plan to make next time is to try it in the crockpot. This recipe is a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2010

      This recipe is great!! My brisket was about 10 lbs but was still cooked when I checked it at five hours. Added the barbecue sauce and cooked another hour and it was perfect. Don't skimp on the barbeque sauce or liquid smoke - seemed like a lot to me but I believe that's what makes it so good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2009

      Simply AWESOME! Roasted for 5 hours, removed fat, drained liquid & poured over 1 bottle Sweet Baby Ray's BBQ sauce. Roasted additional 30 minutes uncovered, and then 30 minutes, covered, before pulling and then pouring over another bottle of SBR. Now the only brisket recipe I'll ever use!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2008

      I've been making brisket for years and by far this recipe is the best I've tried so far! Incredibly tender and sooo much flavor! I used the same method of a previous poster of removing the layer of fat before adding the BBQ sauce. I used Stubbs (a matter of preference). It dosen't matter the size of the brisket - adjust the liquid smoke/worcestershire up/down accordingly. Add whatever spices additionally. I added minced garlic and minced onion instead of the salt versions and then a small amount of kosher salt. When done, it has the consistency of pulled pork. The second time I made it, I grilled it after 45 minutes in the Stubbs and the flavor was just terrific. Serve this with some orzo, tomato, basil and feta salad. You won't be disappointed. Thanks for submitting such a good recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2010

      Wow, excellent brisket!! The only changes I made to reduce the salt content were to use garlic salt, onion powder, and celery seed. Also, I've always marinated my briskets in italian dressing, so I added a half bottle to the marinade. I did not use a whole bottle of bbq sauce, because some don't like a lot of sauce. Otherwise, kept everything the same, and the brisket was wonderful. I may try to do this in a slow cooker next time. Thanks for such a simple, yet satisfying recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2009

      This was wonderful! Not as good as my what my dad used to make but really close (considering he used a real meat smoker!!) I prepared as recommended except that I used a crockpot instead of the oven. I turned it on high for about 5 hours for a 3 lb. brisket. My company raved and I even ate the leftover!! Now THAT"s a compliment! Thanks again for a wonderful recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2007

      This is how I learned to do brisket about 20 years ago. I guess it is a southern thing, to do it this way. The only thing I do, which is an extra step, is to marinate overnight with the fat side DOWN, and then flip it over in the morning before tossing it into the oven. I do bake it at 250, and let it go all day. I think I picked that up from Paula Deen a couple of years ago. Other than that, the recipe is identical! Great meal, Di. I always get requests for it when we have visitors. I must shamelessly plug Budweiser BBQ Sauce (Beechwood Smoked flavor) for this, too. It really puts this dish over the top!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2004

      This was very good. I have a really good brisket recipe, but thought I'd try this one. My family really enjoyed it with your corn pudding and your deviled eggs. I didn't have onion salt, so I used onion powder. I didn't marinate as long either, but it was great. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2003

      this is brisket of the gods! tender, juicy and full of flavor. what more could you ask for. oh yeah, easy too. my husband thought he died and went to meat heaven. the best brisket i have ever eaten

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2003

      I made this for an office potluck to resounding cheers from "the gang". Even the senior partner of the firm that shares the floor, a normally reserved chap, slapped his forehead and exclaimed, "It's INCREDIBLE!!!!!"

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2003

      Yipee Skipee, this brisket was very delish. Your directions were easy to follow. The meat was tender enough to cut with a fork. The sauce was some of the best I have ever had. It had a smoked tangy sweet flavor that made us drool. I think you have outdone yourself with this one, Nurse Di. Thanks. Worth at least 10 stars.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Dad's Best Brisket

    Serving Size: 1 (296 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 558.3
     
    Calories from Fat 189
    34%
    Total Fat 21.1 g
    32%
    Saturated Fat 7.3 g
    36%
    Cholesterol 175.7 mg
    58%
    Sodium 987.9 mg
    41%
    Total Carbohydrate 28.8 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 0.4 g
    1%
    Sugars 20.0 g
    80%
    Protein 58.7 g
    117%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    liquid smoke

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites